We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Super Bowl Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Spokane, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Super Bowl Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The team members at Casablanca were beyond friendly and helpful. The location was outstanding and because it is small it is very intimate. The 2nd floor library/eating space is wonderful. Great breakfast in morning along with the wine and cheese at night. What set this apart though was the personnel upstairs would took care of us. ALL THE PEOPLE AT CASABLANCA WERE OUTSTANDING....I am not one to write reviews....so this had to be over the top and it was... from start to finish.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,017
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
692
1,926
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're after a hotel in the most central location in New York to start exploring from, look no further than here. Literally 30 seconds walk from the bright lights and buzz of Time Square. You can travel a few blocks North to Central Park or walk South towards Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller etc.

The staff are extremely helpful, leaving a bottle of wine in our room upon our arrival, letting us borrow travel adaptors for our mobile phones, even bringing me a $20 note the next day when they realised I must have over paid! Unlike other hotels we have stayed in, the safe in the room doesn't need to be paid for, also the same with the wi-fi. These are always niggles when staying in a hotel for me.

The rooms are somewhat small but well kitted out and very clean. I would like to see a change the breakfasts with a hot meal option, but other than that I can not complain.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a larger room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The theme doesn't quite work for me, whilst it maybe a novelty in NYC it's reminiscent of an average or budget hotel in North Africa/Spain. We got a suite and it was basic and very small, plus no room temperature control or fridge, both a heater and fridge had to be brought up.

Location is great for Times Square, service is good but not exceptional with a few stand out people and the complimentary wine from 5-8pm a lovely touch, but if they want 5 stars they have to update the rooms, and amenities within them, and just go a little further on being themselves when they look after their guests.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. The staff are always willing to help and never felt like any request was to hard to achieve. The rooms are great really comfy and enough room for a stay in New York when you are most likely to be out than in. The breakfast has loads of choice and could eat enough for the day. The cheese and wine in the evenings is just the thing you need to break up the day between sightseeing and dinner.

The location is right in the heart of New York but the noise is low. I am unsure you could be anywhere without hearing sirens from emergency vehicles. The subway is 5 mins at most and plenty of restaurants on the door step.

Would highly recommend if you are visiting New York, loved it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed here in Jan 2014. This is a great hotel where the little extras make it better than the rest. We have been lucky enough to stay in most of the big chain hotels in and around Times Sq. Whilst they're all very good, they don't offer the little touches that the Casablanca does. Yes the rooms at the Casablanca are a little smaller than some we've stayed in, but we're not in there too much. The little touches in the bathroom are nice, but the best bits are the breakfast and the evening 'happy hour'. You just don't get these in other hotels. Noise sometimes gets mentioned in reviews, but you are in a major city, and the hotel do offer ear plugs, eye masks and white noise machines, amongst other extras.The staff, as usual, are always willing to help and are very friendly. They also left us a card and a bottle of wine as it was my birthday.
We are planning our next trip to NY and we will certainly be booking the Casblanca again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Charming room with nice decor details. Reasonably quiet. Free bottle of wine a plus and it tasted quite nice. Breakfast and afternoon beverage and food availability was surprising for quality and variety. Shocking, really...all free. Kind professional staff with attention to special requests.

Fantastic location which seems almost secondary. Fair pricing. No wonder it is so highly rated on trip advisor. Polar opposite of the Dream Hotel which was a nightmare on our last visit.

Not über-luxe but outstanding in any light. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The floor can creak some so ask for ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Exquisite. Divine. Heavenly accommodations. Kind, friendly, helpful staff. A completely other worldly place to stay. Details that take you back in time, as nothing is as nice as this anymore. I can't think of one thing wrong with The Casablanca. This hotel must be experienced to be believed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#20 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.