We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every respect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every respect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

My cousin and I recently enjoyed eight nights at the beautiful Casablance Hotel. From the moment we arrived unitl the moment we left we had the most amazing time. All the staff were friendly, attentive and went above and beyond with helping us get the most out of our visit to New York.

The accommodation is second to none. Rooms were spottlessly clean, shower was great and the beds were very comfortable. As we shared and mini-suite we had ample room for the two of us.

Rick's Cafe is a great spot for breakfast, a warming coffee or wine and cheese. We availed ourselves of all it had to offer and in the process met some very charming other Casablanca guests.

I cannot recommend Casablanca highly enough. I look forward to returning with my husband in the future. Casablanca are to be commended on their wonderful staff. Such a positive experience is never forgotten.

Room Tip: A mini-suite has a little more room for those looking for some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,033
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
695
1,936
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

After the Westin took away a delightful little brekky area (The Atrium Club) my husband and I were on the look out for a new hotel for our third trip to New York City during Thanksgiving week. This small hotel was perfect. With well appointed rooms and a "homey" feel, the Casablanca Team were some of the most caring and professional hotel staff I have come across. The room was quiet (even though we were a stones throw from Times Square where roadworks were taking place) and the breakfast/cheese & wine common area, a welcome luxury after a long day hitting the stores.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat and appreciate all of the lovely employees of this little gem that made our stay comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Recently, my wife and I spent 3 nights at the Casablanca Hotel while in NYC for a conference. The location was great. Literally feet away from Times Square on West 43rd. We were able to walk to almost everything we were interested in (Macy's, Bryant Park, theater, restaurants, Columbus Circle, Radio City Music Hall, Grand Central Station and many more). If we couldn't walk, the subway station was only one block away.
Friendly staff and great service. The breakfast was perfect to start our day but we were too busy to take advantage of the wine and cheese in the evening (we stopped in briefly once and it looked like a nice spread being enjoyed by many of the guests). Our queen room was very comfortable and good sized (for what you would expect for a NYC hotel room). Plenty of amenities in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were fortunate enough to stay three years ago at The Library (Casablanca's sister hotel) and reserved a room here based on that great experience and the rave reviews on TA. Casablanca deserves its accolades.

Examples of the friendly and efficient service? Let me mention three. 1. As we enjoyed wine and piano music on Friday night at Rick's, we asked the concierge to recommend a nearby Italian bistro where we might get last minute reservations. He suggested Trattoria Dopo Teatro and secured a reservation. Thirty minutes later -- after enjoying a second glass of a good wine and a rendition of "As Time Goes By" by the gracious pianist -- we walked five minutes and took our seats for an excellent meal. 2. A lamp bulb was out. We called the desk. Within five minutes, problem solved! 3. When we returned to the hotel to reclaim our bags and depart at 3:30 after spending the day at MoMA, my wife realized she was missing her phone charger. No problem; housekeeping had saved it.

If you are flying out of Newark, consider asking the hotel to reserve a car. Our guy in the spotless Mercedes was at least 15 minutes early on a Sunday afternoon, and the cost was only about $10 more than the price we paid for a cab into town from EWR.

Here's looking at you, Casablanca Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday staying in NY. Hotel was great. Service and staff excellent. Queen room was comfortable and a good size. Location was perfect... a few steps to time square. Breakfast and wine+cheese in evening was a perfect addition. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

As all the previous reviews for this hotel state, this is an excellent location in the heart of Times Square.

Slighty dissapointed with the check in time of 3pm but we were able to store our luggage whilst waiting. Typical for NYC, the bedroom was small however we have stayed in smaller locations in NYC. The bed was very small however there was space for a table and two chairs.The bathroom again was small but filled with every amentitity we needed. The large shower was appreciated and enjoyed.

We stayed here for a Birthday celebration and it was nice to have a bottle of wine left in the room with a card.

The hotel was not what we could consider as being our 'usual style' nevertheless we found it to be quite cosy and comforting, especially with the snow outside and the Christmas decorations in the lounge.

The food and drink available was of resonable quality (perhaps could have been of a higher quality given the room rates) and always available.Staff were freindly and very attentive.

I appreciate that not all rooms can have a view but those not looking onto the street were not attractive and could have been tided and improved!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is the third time we have visited this hotel. We have just returned last week and cannot fault the hotel and service we received. The reception staff are excellent, always helpful, especially Raymond and Jefferey (DR!)

The breakfast staff at Ricks are equally charming and helpful.

I cannot fault this hotel at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.