We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect if you like the personal touch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 451 hotels in New York City
Oxon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect if you like the personal touch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is our second visit to the Casablanca and it was every bit as good as I remember it. Major points have been covered in previous reviews, great location, attentive & friendly service, good breakfast, cheese & wine a lovely way to start an evening, rooms are well appointed but its how they go the extra mile that is worth it.
We had an unexpected bottle of wine in our room for our wedding anniversary.We also travelled on to Atlantic city for a few days, they kept hold of our suitcase at no charge and when we came back to collect let us use the cafe facility until we were ready to get a cab to the airport even though we'd checked out 5 days previous.
I've stayed in other NY hotels but I now can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,800
    457
    76
    31
    21
See reviews for
619
1790
118
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have travelled to New York many times in the last 15 years and personally work in the luxury travel market, and never have I been so impressed with a hotel than with Casablanca. This hotel was recommended to me by my brother who stayed earlier in the year and I'm very pleased it was!

The staff are outstanding, everyone from front desk to the bellmen to housekeeping. They are friendly and go out of their way to help in any way they can.

The rooms are pretty good. Very clean and great value for money. The hotel is a hop and a skip away from Times Square so very convenient.

If this wasn't enough, they host a wine and cheese evening every night which is a real highlight. I was amazed at what was available, everything from popcorn to pastries to many different cheeses. The wine was served chilled by a smiling face. Perfect.

The breakfast is equally as good. Bagels, almond croissants, porridge and fresh fruit are just some of the range available. It was a great way to start a New York morning.

I really want to thank everyone at Casablanca for such a memorable birthday. We will be returning very soon no doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Genuinely great hotel. The rooms were excellent with most comfortable beds - even better than home!! The breakfast had a great range to choose from, the afternoon nibbles were a lovely touch. The tea, coffee and snacks available 24/7 was wonderful - especially when our flight was delayed so we arrived at 3 in the morning.

Staff were all friendly and attentive, was pleased to meet them all. Location was perfect - right on Times Square so lots of places to eat, easy walking distance to lots of major sights, subway and start point of all of the bus tours. Life could not have been easier

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I would like to thank the staff of the Casablanca Hotel for a thoroughly enjoyable stay in New York. The hotel has one of the best locations in New York. You only have to walk 10 yards to enjoy the hustle and bustle of Times Square. A major subway station with links to all of New York is close by. I have not met a friendlier and more helpful staff compared to other New York hotels. The size of the hotel and its very comfortable lounge provides an opportunity to make new friends and natter about theatre shows.

The rooms are clean and quiet and comfortable. When I return to New York, I will have no hesitation in booking the Casablanca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had such great service. Everyone is so nice and helpful from the front desk personnel to Rick's Café' excellent servers. We can't wait to come back. Thank you for such a wonderful experience. It made us love New York all the more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel and looked forward every morning to a .good breakfast and to being served by very pleasant staff . The hotel was so close to Times Square and to many other places that tourists would find interesting. The help in reception was very good and the suggestions for dining places was excellent. I would certainly come back and have already recommended Casablanca to friends and relations

Room Tip: Vi stayed on the fifth floor ( room 510) which considering the fact that the hotel was so close to T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We happened on to this wonderful hotel when we went to purchase tickets at the Theater across the street from their hotel. We decided to take a look inside and viola, that is when our daughter, age 15 at the time, requested that we spend her sixteenth birthday here. So we booked the suite as a surprise for her!What sweet memories were made at the Casablanca for this very special birthday! The CASABLANCA was a "Dream Boutique Hotel" from the moment we arrived. We loved the complimentary continental breakfast with cappuccino it was just perfect to start the day. The afternoon wine hour with light snacks was a great way to relax and enjoy the hotel before going off to the theater and dinner. The Casablanca is located in the heart of Time Square but you feel like you are in another serene world the minute you enter the doors of the Casablanca. Their wonderful mural of Casablanca creates an exotic mood. It is a reprieve in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of NYC. The service is some of the most personal and best we have experienced in any hotel worldwide. I requested that they write "Happy Sweet 16" in rose petals on her bed while we were out to celebrate her 16th birthday dinner cruise on the NYC Harbor! While we were walking back to the hotel she asked me what time she was born. I told her 10:56 pm and at that point it was 10:48pm... As magic would have it, guess what time we ended up walking back to our suite!... 10:56PM (we could not have planned that if we had tried)...for her to find a champagne bucket with Sparkling Apple Cider and three champagne glasses and a beautiful personalized birthday card to our daughter....then she looked into the bedroom to see the beautiful display of rose petals with "Happy Sweet 16" on her bed. I think it is hard to top this magical experience and superb service. The Casablanca has left a very special place in our hearts and memories of this once in a lifetime celebration. Thank you for being the best at what you do. See you again soon! and then again and again!

Room Tip: We loved staying in the Jr Suite. We had a nice area to sit and visit between the bedroom with 2 lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Terri G,

Thank you so much for sharing this story and for sharing this very special time in your lives with us at the Casablanca Hotel. We are deeply touched. Helping our guests build sweet memories with their loved ones and helping make our guests New York City dreams come true is the most thrilling part of our job. It is why we love the hospitality business, so it is we who must thank you for the opportunity and for the joy you brought to us by being our guests. We greatly look forward to welcoming you and your family again and again!

Sincerely,

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.