We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we'd expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #4 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not quite what we'd expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

First, the positives. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean, the bed linens and bathroom giveaways are top quality, with robes and slippers and a choice of pillows. The services and facilities are unparalleled, with a delightful lounge and drinks and snacks always available. Complimentary Breakfast is fresh and delicious. Complimentary bed turn down and towel change each evening. The location is like staying in Leicester Square, bright lights and hordes of people at all hours, central, and exciting. Because Times Square has road works, there was almost no traffic noise.

But for us the negatives outweigh the positives. Our fsecond floor Queen room was tiny, dark and stuffy. Although it was facing a well and not on the street, the noise from our own and hundreds of other buildings' air conditioners was a loud roar day and night. Too hot to sleep with only ceiling fan and ear plugs didn't drown the constant noise from this very old fashioned A/C machine, set into the window of our room. And because it was in the well surrounded by tall buildings, we couldn't see whether it was day or night from our window, so it felt gloomy.

For people just wanting a delightful place to crash after a busy New York day, Casablanca is ideal. But for us seeking a relaxing hotel to rest between functions on our busy schedule, it didn't quite fit the bill. We felt airless and slightly oppressed there whenever we were in our room.

Sorry to disappoint you Casablanca management after you tried so hard to please us, but it really is horses for courses and this one wasn't for us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnTaboadaNYC, General Manager at Casablanca Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear AnneBrenda,

We are deeply appreciative of your positive comments and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay.

We are about halfway finished replacing the A/C units in all of the guestrooms, and your room was recently equipped with a quieter and more energy efficient unit. We are now posting an image of the new window unit on TripAdvisor so everyone can see. We welcome guests to let us know what factors are most important to them when making reservations and try our best to accommodate them. You specifically requested a room with the ability to open the window and a low floor away from the street and we were able to honor those requests. The room you had does face the back, not the street, hence the lack of view. Despite the lack of view, many people like it because it shelters the room from the street noise that you advised us you’d like to be away from. A Queen-bedded room facing the street would have allowed for a sunnier exposure, but would not have met your requests. By the way, for our other readers, all the windows open but since we have the window air conditioning units, guests who want to sleep with the window open usually keep the window in the bathroom open. Of course, this is the city that never sleeps so if you choose to keep the window open, you must understand that there is a trade off that comes with that.

The queen bedded room you were in is about 250 square feet as described on our website. While that is small for some and spacious for others, it is a respectable size in comparison to many other NYC hotel rooms, particularly in Times Square where space is truly at a premium.

If you enjoyed the hotel services but the specific rooms did not suit you, I would love to introduce you to one of our sister hotels. You will find the staff and management to have the same tireless dedication to making guests happy, the same wonderful clubroom concept but a different style and location, as well as a different air conditioning system. I would be delighted to have the pleasure of personally helping you select and reserve one of our sister hotels on your next visit. Please feel free to contact me personally at john@CasablancaHotel.com or 212-201-1150.

Sincerely,

John Taboada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,218
    513
    82
    32
    23
See reviews for
743
2,050
131
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the hotel at the end of July for 4 nights.The hotel is situated in a perfect location, the room was furnished very well and very clean, the staff were courteous and extremely helpful, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I spent a couple of nights here last week. We have been here many times and will not stay anywhere else in NY now. This is literally the best place. The value is amazing when you consider the amenities that are included- generous breakfast every morning, wine, cheese and snacks every evening for 3 hours, and 24 hour beverages, fruit, cookies, etc. available in the cozy living room. Friday nights feature a piano player while you sip your wine. This hotel has the intimacy of a bed & breakfast in the heart of the city.
The staff is so friendly and accommodating,and the location is so perfect, just steps from Times Square. Rooms are clean and well appointed.
Overall, this is definitely the place to stay for a perfect experience in New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife, daughter and myself had a fantastic time at the hotel recently, only problem was it was too short! All of the staff were very friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble for them if we required any help. The hotel itself is in a fantastic location, is very clean and in a fantastic location and they provided a mini fridge (FOC) which was great for keeping drinks cool. The continental breakfast is well maintained and they have nice little extras, such as cookies all day and wine and cheese between a certain period. All in all could not fault it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A fantastic hotel in a marvellous location. This was our first stay at this hotel, which we picked using trip advisor. The location is ideal, just step out the front door and you are in Times Square but don't worry about the noise, inside the hotel is quiet, in fact a complete oasis away from the crowds. The room was ideal and was of a very high standard, great shower and facilities. The staff are kind, caring and an example of how customer care should be. Having coffee and Danishes available 24 hrs was so thoughtful, it was great to come back to the hotel at any time and just know you can have a coffee. The free wine and cheese was great, well presented and a pleasant start to any evening. A special thank you to the girls who looked after us, serving us wine with a smile.
I can not recommend this hotel highly enough, well done casablanca!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel was recommended to my by a good friend as this was a special trip celebrating my wife's birthday. We were not disappointed as we found this a comfortable little haven just about 20 yards away from the madness that Times Square brings and you would never know given the peaceful solitude that the hotel offers. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and gave plenty advice, recommendations and directions and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them. The room was clean and comfortable and well maintained as were the public areas. Breakfast was abundant and the cheese and wine evenings were always a terrific start to the NY evening. This will be top of the list for our next visit to the Big Apple.

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to at least the standard Queen size room to ensure plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our third visit to Casablanca was every bit as enjoyable and satisfying as our first. The courteous and efficient staff went far out of their way to make sure our stay went well. We especially appreciate the breakfast and "happy hour" service because we can eat a large lunch somewhere else, thereby limiting our meals and the expense and bother of restaurants. Also, everything we need is close by: subway, theaters, and Times Square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#6 Family Hotel in New York City
#12 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.