We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short escape to Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 449 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A short escape to Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We did a two night getaway to Manhattan. Casablanca was the perfect choice . A quite oasis in the middle of the bustle of New York. Service excellent. Amenities great.
Cozy. Ricks Café with snacks always available was a real convenience. Would recommend to all visiting either for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,785
    456
    76
    31
    21
See reviews for
613
1781
117
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My first trip to NYC, celebrating my mother's 90th birthday. We immediately learned why The Casa Blanca was rated # 1 on tripadvisor. We were greeted by the most wonderful staff making certain that we were satisfied in every way possible. I have stayed at top rated hotels across the country and have never had this kind of service, with robes, slippers, and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the room. Casa Blanca is quiet, relaxing,and the staff makes you feel like they are greeting their own family, and the location is right in the middle of Times Squ are!!! The staff is AMAZING in every way. I am looking forward to a return trip to NYC and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Thanks for your outstanding service !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Casablanca Hotel for the first time. The choice was made based on previousr client reviews ,location and small scale familira hotel. . All expectations were met in terms of the perfect location around the corner from Times Square, the service and attention from the reception to the breakfast and cleaning personnel were t it's best. Breakfast was generous and with good standard offering including good expresso, latte and capucino coffe. The evening complimentary offer of cheese and wine was very much appreciated after a long day in town and before dinner. We will strong recommend this hotel to anyone who would ask us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Great location near Times Square but somehow quiet. Regular rooms are small but well taken care of. The main thing about this hotel is its service-they will do ANYTHING to make sure you are comfortable and satisfied! Any complaint about your room, it is instantly looked into and solved or you are moved. The complimentary happy hour and breakfast are both great. While not a five star hotel, they make you feel like a five star guest. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Smaller rooms
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

On our return visit to this beautiful hotel we took a mini vacation with friends. We were once again greeted by your warm, gracious staff. This time we ordered your special package so in addition to cozy robes and slippers there were also rose petals, champagne and strawberries waiting for us in our cozy, well appointed room.
Even the snow showers could not dampen our spirits. As we were handed an umbrella to make our travels more comfortable we just knew that we were in a special place.There was no need to stop and order an espresso after the theatre since we knew Rick's Cafe was waiting for us at the hotel.Rick's is always open and serving complimentary delights. Knowing we could sit by the fireplace, linger over our coffee,and enjoy our conversation without the worry of getting a taxi back to our hotel made for a perfect evening's end.
A delicious breakfast buffet was served until 10:30 and for those of us who wanted to sleep in there was always danish and assorted coffees and teas. No time tables...no stress.
That evening we met at Rick's for a glass of wine and a few refreshments before dinner. Our stay at the Casablanca was all we wished it would be. Rick and Ilsa may always have Paris but thanks to the old world charm of the Casablanca we will always have a tranquil spot in this exciting city to call our own.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A pure delight. At the Casablanca you can tell details are important. From the nicely appointed and clean guest rooms to the consideration to provide guests with umbrellas to deal with inclement weather when going out for the evening, you can tell that the management cares about the details. This can also be seen in the relaxing and delightful, Ricks Cafe on the second floor. Here refreshments coffee, tea and cookies are available all day long and between 5:00 and 8:00 wine and cheese is provided accompanied by a soothing piano player. All complimentary including a very nice continental breakfast each morning. Add this, plus a very cordial staff to its convenient location to the Broadway theaters and you end up with a great hotel to stay in Manhattan. We will definitely come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I don t know who gave this hotel #1?!And 4?stars!
I would give this hotel 2,5 stars.
There are so many much better hotels in NY,even for this kind of price.
First impression-room where u can freeze to death,at night I slept in 2 sweaters, second impression- bathroom was made for dwarfs or small children,terrible draft from broken window,climate control impaired.
The only advantage of this hotel was its location-Times square was round the corner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdeleGutman, VP Sales, Marketing and Revenue at Casablanca Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Penelopa3000,

I am so sorry for the delay in response. We were testing out a new heating system, to better serve our guests in the most extreme weather conditions when it is clear that in a few rooms the heating system did not function as well as intended. We deeply apologize and we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. I had hoped to say that the test succeeded and we are replacing the unit in all the rooms, but in fact, we are still experimenting with other solutions to ensure we have the best system for our guests. Although this only was an issue on the most extremely cold days, and only in some rooms, please know that our owner, General Manager and entire crew are deeply committed to finding a solution and implementing it as soon as possible. In the meantime, our master carpenter has already gone from room to room working to find any possible draft leaks and design an custom made solution eliminate that issue.

While we cannot change the size of the rooms we do make every effort to describe them very well on our website. Some of the bathrooms are small while others are very generous in size. If anyone would like to experience our hotel but would like to ensure a large bath, please contact us directly when making a reservation and let us know your preference. We will work with you to select and reserve the type of room you want based on your preferences.

Penelopa3000, should you wish to give us another try, and we hope you do, please feel free to contact me personally, so that I can assure you of a room and an experience better suited to your tastes, whether it is here or at one of our sister hotels.

Respectfully,

Adele Gutman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.