We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Close and Yet So Far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 452 hotels in New York City
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So Close and Yet So Far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Casablanca for 6 nights from 20 December.

As widely reviewed, it is a great little hotel with attentive staff and excellent facilities.

It is right at the heart of where you want to be but once inside, you could be a miliion miles away from the bustle of Times Square.

My girlfriend suffered from a heavy cold during the latter part of the stay so my ability to access the orange juice 24/7 was greatly appreciated.

The rooms are small but then it is a base. Apart from sleeping at the hotel, most people won't spend more than a couple of hours a day in their room and they are attractively and comfortably furnished.

A nice touch was from Raymond on the desk who persuaded the hotel manager to purchase "The Grinch" for the CD library so that we could watch it on Christmas Day....an old tradition! It was only a small gesture but typical of the care given to all guests and their needs.

If you want somewhere which is convenient yet intimate and quiet, you should look no further than the Casablanca. It is excellent value for money and an ideal base for Christmas in the Big Apple!

Room Tip: Ask for an internal room to avoid the noise...and the largest one available. They do vary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,837
    459
    76
    32
    21
See reviews for
640
1811
120
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay at Casablanca Hotel. Amenities, free wifi, breakfast, wine and cheese, 24/7 coffee, and gym passes set this hotel apart. Staff is very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with street noise due to new years work in times square. We got moved to a central room and things were very quiet. We appreciate the accommodarion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Husband and I stayed for 5 nights Dec '12. Couldn't fault this hotel. Every single member of staff is courteous and helpful. They have thought of everything to make your stay enjoyable. Comfortable beds and pillows. Very clean. Location great. Some comments I'd read said rooms were small. I was pleasantly surprised with our Queen-size Deluxe room, didn't think it was small at all. Complimentary wine and cheese from 5-7pm was great, also having continental breakfast included is a bonus. Would also recommend Tony's Italian next door. But be warned, the portions are family-sized! I have no hesitation at recommending this hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed around Xmas and enjoyed the hotel very much. Service was excellent, and the free breakfast and happy hour were such a plus. Very close to Times Square and subway. Like most NY hotels, room was not very large, but this was not a negative as the bed was very comfortable, and we didn't spend that much time in it. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you need a large room, get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wow we just had the most fantastic 3 day stay at this wonderful hotel. Lovely staff. Lovely clean rooms . Spottless linen and very comfy bed. We stayed here over Xmas and we were treated to an amazing Christmas dinner. Will deffinately stay here again when visiting on buisness in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed four nights from Dec 7th thru Dec 11th, 2012. We arrived very late and were greeted by name as the last check-in of the night. The hotel was very quiet and welcoming, with the breakfast and wine reception wonderful.The staff was friendly and helpful, from the front desk to Rick's Cafe.I would love another trip to New York next year and without a doubt will elect to stay at The Casablanca!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Casablanca again for our annual visit to NYC for our anniversary. We had another perfect visit. The facilities, the location, service and the friendly staff combine to make it feel more like a European Inn than a hotel in New York. The complimentary breakfast and the evening wine and cheese are well done and always enjoyable. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#18 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.