We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Definitely the place to stay in the Times Square area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 449 hotels in New York City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Definitely the place to stay in the Times Square area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Set just off Times Square, this hotel is a really special place. The Casablanca is quiet, clean and extremely friendly.
The complementary hot drinks, fruit, pastries and biscuits all day were very welcome and the cheese and wine reception on an evening was a lovely touch. The continental breakfast (included) was also very good. The hotel was a safe haven with a homely feel, great to come back to after a day out in the hustle and bustle of New York in full swing for Holiday season. The staff were always welcoming with a warm smile and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was very comfortable with nice touches such as a coffee maker, a fridge and a selection of pillows. The housekeeping staff did an excellent job keeping the rooms and communal areas very clean and tidy. There was also a turndown service on a night.
The hotel has a boutique feel and I'm sure you receive a more personal service than the mass market big name hotels strewn around the area. We could not fault anything about our stay and would not hesitate to recommend The Casablanca to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,787
    457
    76
    31
    21
See reviews for
614
1783
117
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

What a gem! Fantastic stay from the moment I arrived to my departure. The special deal I got directly through the hotel was too good to be true BUT it was true. As others have written, the Casablanca is well worth a visit. Extremely central to Times Square and within easy reach of all major venues. The availability of food throught the day was excellent. The 5-8pm wine and snacks, at Rick's, made it a great venue to catch up with fellow travellers. Room (facing 43rd Street) was clean, comfortable and relatively noise free being in such a busy area. I would definitely recommened it to anyone going to New York. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I booked the Casablanca hotel based on its number 1 rating and reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed!!

There are so many good things to be said about this hotel there's no way you can fit it all into one review but I'll give it ago :-)

Rooms

The rooms were perfect. They were spotlessly clean and cosy. Even though the temperature outside was zero degrees the rooms were always lovely and toasty warm. We had a room facing the street and I am a very light sleeper so we took some ear plugs just incase there was a great deal of noise. We were so tired from all the sight seeing we really needn't have bothered.

Ricks Cafe

Comfy area with a good continental breakfast selection and fresh tea and coffee. We would come in here when we needed a sit down after a busy day and would always be made welcome.

Location

If you are doing the tourist thing or dinner and a show or as we did thanksgiving, you cannot beat the location of this hotel. It is literally 30 meters from Times Square and yet really is a haven of peace and tranquility. You can't beat it!

Service

Where to start?! Every member of staff we met at the Casablanca were fantastic! What a great team they have. Special mention needs to be made to Ray on the front desk. During our stay my partner proposed. It was an absolutely magical day and it couldn't have happened without all of his help. Ray and my fiancé (yes I'm loving writing it) had been in cahoots for months before we arrived arranging everything from the setting of the room, the delivery if the ring, and a wonderful dinner cruise in the evening. It was a pleasure to meet Ray in person and thank him for all his help. A real asset to the hotel!

All in all a fantastic hotel and it well and truly deserves its status as the number 1 hotel in New York.

We hope to return one day and in the meantime we will certainly be recommending you to all our family, friends and pretty much anyone who stands still for long enough for me to tell them about our trip!

Thanks Casablanca for making our trip extra special!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Asaph
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Can't praise the Casablanca enough. Great location 30m from Times Square and the subway so that you can get anywhere else in NYC easily (the E-train connection from the JFK sky-train stops 200m away so simple to get to & from the airport in 40 minutes) but also a peaceful haven away from the hustle of New York. We were upgraded to a king size bed and, quite frankly, my wife and I have never slept so far apart and been in the same room! It may be small by US standards but it is huge to European eyes. The complimentary coffee and fruit available all day in the lounge (Rick's café) and the nightly cheese and wine (17:00-20:00) are great ideas; meaning you can always pop back to recharge your batteries before heading out once more into the throng or off to an evening show. Friday nights feature a pianist as well. The complimentary continental breakfast with fresh fruit salad is more than enough to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful seven night stay at the Casablanca.We first stayed at this gem of an hotel two years ago and could not wait to return.Everything was perfect from the check-in and the bottle of wine in our room as I was celebrating my birthday during my stay to every member of staff.Location is everything and you will not find a better one,just a few steps from the centre of Times Sq.It is very easy to read the reviews of the Casablanca and think no hotel could be this good,trust me it is.I have stayed in hotels all over the world and the Casablanca beats them all.But you do not have to believe me,just give it a try yourself.A big thanks to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We've just returned from four nights at the Casablanca and can safely say this hotel is a real find amongst the lights and noise of Times Square just a few steps away. We stayed in a King room which was quite sizeable by NY standards with a large bathroom. The room was well decorated, clean, tidy and most importantly a comfy bed and pillows! The only small downside is the noise outside during the night even on the 5th floor but we expected this from regarding prior reviews and I guess you have to expect it when considering the location. Talking of locations the hotel is in a great position just off Times Square and in the centre of Midtown Manhattan. Most of the sights are within walking distance and for the more adventurous you can walk the 4 or 5 miles to the southern tip of Manhattan as we did! The staff are all very friendly and helpful and are always their in the background should you need them. Having tea, coffee and pastries available 24 hours a day is a great idea and gives you somewhere to relax after a hard days sight seeing or shopping. Wine and cheese served gratis in the evening is again great and is a nice chance again to rest your feet and relax before an evening out. Overall the Casablanca makes a nice change from the multi national and high rise hotels that populate NYC with a more personal and friendly atmosphere in a top location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have always wanted to visit NYC especially at Christmas time & having never been before we researched lots of hotels & after reading such great reviews we decided to book the Casablanca & we were not disappointed!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, we had an issue with our cab driver charging us too much but the hotel sorted this out for us immediately making our stay worry free! The hotel is warm, friendly, comfortable & a real haven for the hustle & bustle of NY. The Continental breakfast is included & is a lovely start to the day, free wine & cheese nights are a great treat after sightseeing & shopping! The rooms are tastefully decorated, clean & cosy & the quietest room we've ever stayed in which is amazing considering its literally on top of Times Square! The location couldn't be better, turn right, walk a few steps & you are in Times Square. We walked to Maceys, Empire State, grand central, Rockefeller, Madison square gardens & many shops all within an easy 10/15 min walk from the hotel!

The staff are all so friendly & make you feel welcome all the time. The manager Peter is charming & helpful.

All in all if you want to stay in NYC don't hesitate to book the Casablanca! We can not wait to return! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.