We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bolt hole in Midtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent bolt hole in Midtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this hotel based on it's great reviews on here. We were not disappointed, the service, cleanliness and position in the heart of midtown are all excellent. The front desk were very helpful when we had to track down the now disappeared "Planet Hollywood" to pick up our NY passes, they phoned around for us to find out where we needed to go. Rick's cafe is a great little oasis of calm after time visiting the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: If you happen to get a room on the front of the hotel, take some ear plugs. This is "the city t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,028
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
694
1,934
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The comments we had read on Trip Advisor had raised our expectations but the reality was even better. Whilst the bedrooms are a little small they are well appointed and immaculately clean. Nothing seems too much trouble for the staff and the inclusive breakfast, day long tea/coffee etc and the evening cheese and wine is a fantastic bonus. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I brought my partner on a criss cross of America for her 60th birthday. We experienced many hotels during those 16 days, from total luxury in Las vegas to spectacular views of the bay in San Francisco. However, our experience in the Casablanca was exceptional, and my partner was absolutely thrilled with our room accommodation (I had made all the bookings, sight unseen). It was just beautiful, the decor, the cosy bed, the bathroom and the facilities. We thought Rick's Cafe was fantastic, where we had every conceiveable selection of fruits, cereals, juices and pastries for breakfast, in the most relaxing of spaces. We had cheese & wine in the evening, and beautiful relaxing piano music on Friday. And this was all complementary! And available 24 hrs! Yet, for me, the crowning glory was when I inadvertainly left a scroll of the Golden Gate Bridge in the room after we had checked out. I emailed my situation to the hotel when I got home to Ireland and, wallah! they posted it to my home address. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my close friends.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor at the front and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for 12 nights at The Casablanca this September. It was a fabulous place to stay and perfect location. The service was second to none and although we were 50 meters from Time Square our rooms were so quiet and just a little haven from the buzz and excitement of what was happening outside. Everyone at the hotel was sooooo friendly from the doormen breakfast room girls,reception, bedroom maids, management and other guests. It was a bit like Australia House as there were so many Australians staying there.
The breakfast was excellent a great variety and very healthy. Tea coffee, fruit and biscuits available throughout the day and drinks and nibbles of a night were amazing with such a variety and very healthy choices. The lounge was a very comfortable place to rest and collect your thoughts if you wanted to have a break before taking off again out into the excitement of New York.
The Casablanca was a home away from home just so clean, comfortable, safe and friendly.
We will definitely be going back.
Thank you Casablanca for making our stay in New York a perfect one.

Room Tip: We had the Queen size room which was quite adequate for my husband and I for 12 nights. Th
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hi Casablanca Hotel

I am writing you regarding our stay in your hotel this summer.

We had a deluxe suite and were looking forward to staying in your "oasis of serenity just steps from times square". This quickly turned into a nightmare of no sleep for all 4 of us with trash compactors banging and clanging through the night for our entire 5 day stay. We spoke with the front desk who said we should request a room at the back of the hotel next time as they are quieter. Then we were appeased with a$200 room discount. At this point I did not argue as I had become sick, and had had no sleep for 2 days. This lead to me being sick all though the next week, and made for quite a miserable time... not at all what a holiday in New York should be.

Extremely disappointed in this stay and am having a hard time recommending your hotel or returning again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading some fantastic reviews on Trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It was our first time to New York and the location of the Casablanca could not have been better, right on Times Square and a two minute walk to the subway. Having breakfast included was a bonus and coming "home" to nibbles and wine after some very busy days exploring New York was a great way to catch our breath before heading out again.
The staff were all very helpful & friendly, the rooms were a great size & bathrooms extremely clean. We were lucky to get a room at the back of the hotel which was very quiet, unfortunately our friends we were travelling with got a room at the front of the hotel, which was very noisy and probably the only let down of our whole stay. We are planning on coming back to New York next year and will definitely be staying here again, loved it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Really loved Times Square, walking to Broadway for a show, the bikes in Central Park. A great hotel with super breakfast and wonderful lobby, helpful staff and clean rooms. You have the metro nearby and 5th Avenue and Grand Central Station for a walk. Really worth the trip to the Hotel Casablanca for any first timers to NY.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.