We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Save Saved
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #1 of 451 hotels in New York City
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location for Times Square and the staff are very pleasant and friendly. Rick's Café on the second floor is fantastic for breakfast, with snacks and drinks throughout the day. Wine and cheese was served every evening between 5pm and 8pm with a pianist on the Friday night who played extremely well. The suite room I had was clean and tidiy and was cleaned every day with a turn down service. The only criticism I have was the noise level through the windows, I was on the 5th floor facing 43rd street and could hear most the traffic and people. This seemed to be due to air con units fitted into the windows, leaving one pane of glass to block noise and possibly gaps in the seals. I was still able to sleep fairly well though. All in all I can highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in New York.

Room Tip: Consider a room away from 43rd street for a quieter night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,804
    453
    76
    32
    21
See reviews for
623
1793
119
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This is a great little find near Times Square. The staff is wonderful, accommodations just great--very quiet. Every comfort has been included. I can only say good things and will be back as soon as I can plan another trip. I have stayed at very upscale hotels all over the place, and this one is right up there with the best. Thanks for a great experience, Casablanca!

Room Tip: I did not ask for a specific room--it was the beds, but I don't think there could be a bad room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

No complaints from us. The staff was friendly, our room was cozy and very quiet with a very comfortable bed, the amenities were very good, the lounge where breakfast and afternoon wine and cheese are served is soothing and spacious. We will definitely return if all these good reviews don't make it impossible to get a room here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Casablanca lived up to its #1 ranking among NYC hotels. I spent three nights in February, 2012 on a business trip and stayed at the Casablanca. Twenty-four hour coffee, tea, fresh fruit and cookies soothed a late night arrival. Front desk outstanding, e.g. upgraded me to a King with no request. Well appointed quiet room with all you need. It's hard to believe you are only yards from Times Square while staying at this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

One of the finest hotel experiences we have ever had! The Casablanca Hotel is a charming oasis with wonderful service and lovely amenities. The staff recommended Benjamin's Steak House on 41st and we had a great birthday celebration. The room was extremely comfortable with very nice linens and an inviting ambiance. The wine and cheese offering was nice to come back to after a busy shopping excursion. Also, the breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and caffe au lait. We plan on returning on our next visit to New York-it is a definite treasure and we highly recommend it! It is a perfect location for any theatre goer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

My husband and I spent nearly a week in NYC with our 7 month old son. Raymond organised a crib for our room, transportation with a child seat to and from the airport and gave helpful hints for getting around NYC with an infant. The rooms were clean with free wi-fi and the free cheese and wine in the evening was pleasant. The breakfast girls were fabulous with our son, bending over backwards to set up the highchair, bring him cheerios and greeted him eagerly each morning. Our son LOVED the attention. All these things makes travelling with an infant not only easy but pleasurable. Only one flaw which is part of travelling to NYC with accommodation booked in the middle of Times Square...a building next was being demolished all night long with excessive noise/banging/clunking ect. Nothing ear plugs didn't take care of and it really defined NY as the city that never sleeps for us! Thank-you Casablanca.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just got back from 8 nights at the Casablanca in NYC (first time in NYC).
If you are looking for a clean, affordable place in the heart of NYC, this is the one!
Just 50 metres away from Broadway/43rd, the location is incredible, but there is almost no noise in the rooms.
The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The wine and cheese each night is great, and so is the complimentary breakfast.
The rooms are spotlessly clean, and well maintained by the chambermaids each day.
The rooms (ours at least) aren't huge, but I've never really understood people's fascinations with big rooms, you're in NYC get out there and enjoy it!
Would not hesitate to recommend the Casablanca.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.