We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in a very unexpected location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel Times Square to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE!
Ranked #2 of 459 Hotels in New York City
En route
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great boutique hotel in a very unexpected location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

I often stay at sister hotel The Library, but it was full up, and they recommended the Casablanca. Movie-themed hotel right off Times Square? Hmmm... I was dubious. But despite being literally a few feet from the Square the hotel was quiet and more than comfortable, and while the decor was, um, a bit on the tackier side of Sidney Greenstreet, it was very charming. Superb lounge with superb snack food at all hours meant this business traveler could actually get some work down at a convenient table... this was good since the room was a bit cramped for spreading out the papers and the laptop. I will be back, if only to pat the brass panther in the lobby!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,025
    486
    81
    32
    23
See reviews for
693
1,932
128
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portstewart, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

As the previous reviews say, I have to agree. Great location, wine and cheese in the evening was fantastic touch, nice start to evening. Breakfast was simple but good start to day. Room was quite small and no bath but I think that was to be expected in a Manhatten Hotel. really clean room and bed was so comfortable. If anyone is reading this review I have one bit of advice....Please go to Tony's restaurant next door, amazing food!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

A great hotel right on Times Square, close to the Subway and shopping. We had a family room and it was small but very comfortable. The staff were helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Wine and cheese at 5pm was a treat and the breakfast buffet had a good selection. We went for a birthday and arranged with the hotel for champagne and cupcakes- they were delicious! The kids loved the DVD library (free of charge!) and I loved the bath and shower products.
Also try Tony's di Napoli downstairs for a meal- great food and atmosphere!
I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We recently visited New York for the first time from Australia and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The staff were very friendly and were only too willing to help answer any of our questions and deal with anything we asked of them. The room we had was very comfortable and the amenities provided were above and beyond what was expected. We thought the hotel provided good value for money as the guest lounge with breakfast, snacks throughout the day and happy hour included were very much appreciated. Thanks for making our stay in New York so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not street front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Just got home from staying at the Casablanca in NY. Was absolutely charmed by this small boutique hotel right off time square. Wonderful location, especially if you are planning on going to plays. The staff was wonderful. Especially liked the complimentary wine and cheese hours. Breakfast was also perfect. I read previous reviews and everyone said this hotel was a winner. They are right!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I just returned from a long weekend in New York with my mother, aunt and two sisters. Our stay at the Casablanca Hotel made the entire trip worthwhile. Before the trip, I had a long conversation with the concierge who helped me select rooms and book a car service. Upon arrival, we were welcomed in, had our luggage immediately stored (as we were there early to get our vacation started) and directed to their 2nd floor lounge for water, coffee, tea and light snacks. The location is perfect - just off Times Square but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle. After a visit to Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's and MoMA, we returned to the hotel for the 5:00 wine and cheese reception - again incredible. My family was so happy to have this place to rest and relax and the food and drink was very generous. Our rooms were beautiful and immaculate. We had 2 - a 2 bed room and a suite with 2 beds and a pull-out couch. Very generously sized with great amenities. The breakfast the next morning was delicious - especially the wonderful bagels. We were always greeted professionally by the staff and felt completely safe. And, if you are in to the movie "Casablanca," you will love the decor of this place. They pulled it off in numerous touches throughout the hotel in a very tasteful way. I have stayed in the chains in New York but from now on I will be staying at Casablanca Hotel.

Room Tip: Location was great - better than views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowdonia National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed for my birthday with my husband and friends. Our welcome on arrival was warm and our rooms were as expected. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. The brekfasts were very good and the on tap coffee, soft drinks and cakes was excellent, as was the wine and cheese each evening. All the staff go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel special.
Make sure you get a new york pass, not a new york city pass to get you into sights free and to fasttrack you through. The hop on and hop off buses are great but bear in mind each circular route takes about 2-3 hours, with the downtown route being the most useful. If you get a chance to see a show, Sister Act is fantastic!
Would definitely return to the Casablanca if we visit New York again.

Room Tip: The kingsize beds are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casablanca Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel Times Square

Address: 147 West 43rd Street, (Just East of Broadway), New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#2 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casablanca Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of Times Square just steps from our door, and then escape from it all at this oasis of hospitality, The Casablanca Hotel. Guests are welcome to unwind in Rick’s Cafe with complimentary refreshments 24 hours a day, including the Library Hotel Collection’s signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning, wine and cheese receptions each evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit served throughout the day. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and bottled water is provided daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Casablanca Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casablanca Hotel New York City
Casablanca New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel Times Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.