We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a high price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Guaranteed Room Upgrade
Ranked #75 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Luxury at a high price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel deserves the great reviews, however on the flip side, when a room costs $1,000 and up a night, would one expect anything less than stellar service? Hotels like The London NYC and Omni Berkshire Place offer nice rooms for around $300-$500 a night, so if "five star service" is what you desire, expect to spend a stiff premium for it at the Peninsula.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mike 19782009,

Thank you for your comments and for finding our hotel to be amongst the top hotels in New York City. We are pleased that we met and even exceeded your expectations.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    134
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
111
205
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was in the perfect location, only a short walk away from times square, central park and it is right in the middle of all the shops on Fifth Avenue. Inside the hotel was lovely, with a nice reception and lobby, and the swimming pool and changing spa facilities were great too with the swimming pool having a great view looking down fifth avenue to central park. The room was gorgeous, especially the bathroom which was beautifully decorated. Overall an amazing hotel, would definitely recommend staying there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear charlotteee96,

Thank you for your kind review and for providing such wonderful photos of your stay with us on TripAdvisor. We not only value your patronage but also appreciate your recommendation of our fine property. Please let us know when you will be returning to New York, as we would love to welcome you back as our guest.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had a fantastic stay at the Peninsula Hotel. The building architecture is neo-classical and very beautiful. The Grand Luxe room is very spacious. The bed is very comfortable. The hotel location on 5th Ave is very convenient, and close to the subway and Central Park. Every staff at the front desk is very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast at Clement is fabulous.

We forgot one of our shopping bags in the room after check-out and moving to a different hotel in Manhattan. We contacted the hotel the day after and were glad to know the housekeeping saved it for us. Thank you! This is definitely a five-star experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear SaranR,

Thank you for taking the time to provide a fine review our hotel. We are even more pleased that our staff helped to retrieve your belongings and that they have reinforced your faith in The Peninsula New York. We look forward to the opportunity to having you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Peninsula is a very expensive hotel, but it is quiet and perfectly located if you are coming to New York for business or family pleasure in midtown. I booked the hotel using an internet discount site, yet I was treated like a King. The rooftop bar is awesome, they have a car to take you within 15 blocks, and the room was very nice with an extremely comfortable bed. This was worth the extra money for an extra star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear kidsgotoo,

Thank you for sharing the details of your visit to The Peninsula New York. We pride ourselves on our personalized and superior service, and we are delighted that you were able to experience this first hand.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My favourite NY hotel. Not the tiny, dark and stylish rooms of the newer hip hotels, but good-sized and extremely comfortable. Restaurants and bars are great, staff are as superlative as you'd expect from a place of this caliber.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Ned S.,

Thank you for your kind comments. We do realize there are many fine hotels to choose from and we are delighted you chose The Peninsula New York as your favorite hotel in New York City. We look forward to continuing to provide you superior service and to surpassing your expectations.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent palace ideally located at the heart of the most vibrant part of Manhattan the Peninsula Hotel is a unique place to stay at NEw York and feel that you are at home.A place where refined splendours of 19th-century american architecture with the latest in contemporary comfort and elegance meets the silence, sophistication and kindness of Orient culture.
Embebed in the atmosphere of luxury that is the very soul of this establishment are the amazing Spa , the sun terrace the outstanding bars and the Clement restaurant with new culinary concept .All of them combining style and contemporary chic with an impeccable service attentive but not intrusive that makes the experience of the hotel more tha unforgettable, memorable.Because beyond the elegance and glamour of The Peninsula what it is truly remarkable is the personalized care of the guest, the kindness and consideration, the attention to details . Everything reflects a philosophy and a very special art of living .
A pleasure to repeat indeed. We have stayed for a week, we will come back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Graciela P,

Thank you for your kind and elegant comments regarding your recent stay at The Peninsula New York. Your description of our property and the service you received was indeed humbling but what we take most pride in is the personal touches and rewarding experience you were left with from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H . Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night and fell in love - wish we had stayed more! The only downside in our entire experience was really getting to the hotel for check-in because 5th Avenue was closed for the Columbus Day Parade and the taxi driver had to stop two blocks away. Lugging our bags in the midst of the crowd was NOT fun. However, that was quickly forgotten once we entered the doors of this hotel. Check-in was smooth, although the room was not ready until after we had returned from our matinee performance of the NYCB at Lincoln Centre. Service all round was top-notch and personal, from the reception who kindly extended our check-out time so that we would not have to endure too long a wait for our pick-up to the airport, to housekeeping who enquired not once but twice on the morning of check-out whether we required interim service, to the porters and bellhops assisting us during departure.

Hotel location was perfect apart from the road closure, and the room was luxurious and very well appointed, without being over-the-top. I liked how simple it was to operate the shower head (not to be taken for granted!), and the plush comforting King-sized bed where you sank in and did not want to get out of. The one quibble I had was the hairdryer in the room, which had a fair amount of lint and hair dust on it and was rather in need of cleaning. Other than that, it was the perfect retreat in the heart of the bustling city. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and would have no qualms recommending this property to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bertrande80,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit despite your hectic arrival to the hotel during the Columbus Day parade. We are delighted that in spite of these difficulties to get to our hotel, it did not distract from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful stay. We do hope you have the chance to stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.