We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable experience at NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade Online Offer
Ranked #72 of 449 hotels in New York City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A memorable experience at NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

A magnificent palace ideally located at the heart of the most vibrant part of Manhattan the Peninsula Hotel is a unique place to stay at NEw York and feel that you are at home.A place where refined splendours of 19th-century american architecture with the latest in contemporary comfort and elegance meets the silence, sophistication and kindness of Orient culture.
Embebed in the atmosphere of luxury that is the very soul of this establishment are the amazing Spa , the sun terrace the outstanding bars and the Clement restaurant with new culinary concept .All of them combining style and contemporary chic with an impeccable service attentive but not intrusive that makes the experience of the hotel more tha unforgettable, memorable.Because beyond the elegance and glamour of The Peninsula what it is truly remarkable is the personalized care of the guest, the kindness and consideration, the attention to details . Everything reflects a philosophy and a very special art of living .
A pleasure to repeat indeed. We have stayed for a week, we will come back !!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Graciela P,

Thank you for your kind and elegant comments regarding your recent stay at The Peninsula New York. Your description of our property and the service you received was indeed humbling but what we take most pride in is the personal touches and rewarding experience you were left with from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H . Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    119
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
92
188
30
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night and fell in love - wish we had stayed more! The only downside in our entire experience was really getting to the hotel for check-in because 5th Avenue was closed for the Columbus Day Parade and the taxi driver had to stop two blocks away. Lugging our bags in the midst of the crowd was NOT fun. However, that was quickly forgotten once we entered the doors of this hotel. Check-in was smooth, although the room was not ready until after we had returned from our matinee performance of the NYCB at Lincoln Centre. Service all round was top-notch and personal, from the reception who kindly extended our check-out time so that we would not have to endure too long a wait for our pick-up to the airport, to housekeeping who enquired not once but twice on the morning of check-out whether we required interim service, to the porters and bellhops assisting us during departure.

Hotel location was perfect apart from the road closure, and the room was luxurious and very well appointed, without being over-the-top. I liked how simple it was to operate the shower head (not to be taken for granted!), and the plush comforting King-sized bed where you sank in and did not want to get out of. The one quibble I had was the hairdryer in the room, which had a fair amount of lint and hair dust on it and was rather in need of cleaning. Other than that, it was the perfect retreat in the heart of the bustling city. We would stay here again in a heartbeat, and would have no qualms recommending this property to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bertrande80,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit despite your hectic arrival to the hotel during the Columbus Day parade. We are delighted that in spite of these difficulties to get to our hotel, it did not distract from your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the personal touches of our staff played an instrumental role in you having such a wonderful stay. We do hope you have the chance to stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have stayed in NYC many times and this hotel by far was the most wonderful that I have stayed in. The front desk check in was seamless. A wonderful young woman named Marion check us in with ease, warmth and hospitality. We were given a lovely room with a great view. The condition of the room was excellent. Lovely bathroom with a separate shower and deep tub that had a flat screen tv in front of it. The front hallway with closet space was spacious to put your things away in with a banquette to put your shopping bags and stuff. Bed was comfy, clean and bedroom looked and felt fresh and clean.

The mini bar is stocked but it's a bit too expensive. They would sell more if the prices were not so elevated. A very small soda is 9.00. House keeping was always on time and the turn down service was lovely too. Fresh towels for the morning, a clean up again, waters by the bed, slippers by the bed and a cool feature is that the room is completely controlled at your finger tips right next to the bed. It controls, tv, lights, temperature.. etc... The lighting in the room is FABULOUS. You could actually read at the end of the day because the lighting was so well done. It made a huge difference.

The hotel was nice and quiet and it was a busy weekend. I have never stayed at a hotel in NYC that was so quiet at night. You do not hear sirens and honking at all. The hallways are nice and peaceful as well. The staff are all warm and gracious. Always had a greeting and a smile. Marion who checked us in also sent us chocolate dipped strawberries, fresh fruit and a bottle of Champagne. She asked if we were here for a special occasion and we told her an anniversary and this is what she did!

Breakfast at Clements was lovely and beautifully presented. The hotel has a great location and I am going to go back. A new find and a lovely one at that!

Room Tip: Bring a swim suit there is a fun pool! Our room 1216 had a private room off of the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 5 night stay. It was in the perfect location - a 30 second walk from the renowned 5th Avenue and close enough to other attractions such as the MOMA, Rockerfeller building and Central Park. A beautiful hotel, stunning suites and friendly and efficient staff. Everything there was top-class, including the breakfastt which was wonderful too- plenty of choice and everything freshly made to order. We spend our late afternoons relaxing in the spa and swimming in the glass enclosed pool. A high class, elegant hotel. A wonderful stay at The Peninsula!

Room Tip: Go for the suites as the rooms are a little on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iceland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for four nights at this beautiful hotel with my wife and couldn't have loved it more.

The check in was a breeze and since I'm a light sleeper I asked for a quiet room. That was no problem and our room on the 10th floor was dead silent. We did not have any view other then from the wall in front of us but I prefer sleep over view.

We had a standard room and it was relatively big. The bed was very comfortable and as were the pillows. The bathroom had a huge tub and everything looked fresh.

The hotel has complementary water bottles in your room that are replaced everyday which is a very nice touch. You can buy water at the minibar but obviously not necessary. The hotel also has a complementary WiFi and there was no problem connecting three devices (laptop and two phones). The bathroom amenities are also great.

The housekeeping did an excellent job and the room was always very clean.

The SPA is something I would recommend and the pool is very nice. The temperature of the pool is a bit high so doing many laps is more "difficult" than if the pool was cooler.

I had sent few packages to the hotel which was no trouble and there was no charge for that which was nice. Many hotel I have used charge up to $10 for each package.

The rooftop bar is excellent. Good cocktails, nice vibe, great bartenders and great views. It is a bit pricey though and both time we went there it was very busy (at 6 pm and 10 pm).

The breakfast was excellent. They just opened the restaurant the day after we arrived and the three egg omelet was amazing.

We had a 5 pm pickup with Dial 7 before heading to the airport and asked the day before if late check out was possible. The receptionist gave us a complementary late check out until 5 pm which was great. The day we left there was a parade going on on 5th avenue which closed the 55th street to our hotel. We contacted our driver and asked for a pickup at 55th and Madison. The bellboys walked us to Madison with our bags which was of great help.

Overall by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Manhattan and I can't recommend it highly enough. Will without a doubt book my next stay in Manhattan at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooftop bar, floor 23, is worth a visit for an after dinner drink..lovely atmosphere, watch the lights from traffic and buildings....romantic and stylish and away from the noise and bustle that never seems to stop in New York!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had a certificate from American Express inviting me to try out a Peninsula hotel so I chose this one on one of my trips to New York.

In general hotel rooms in this city can be a bit shabby because of high traffic.

Location of this hotel is right, on 5th near the park. I had some errands to do, was a 7 minute walk from Fedex Kinko's and got things done I needed to do. Room was posh and quiet. Room service fast and tasty.

Checkin was efficient, though I came in at the end of a long trip looking a bit worse for wear they didn't bat an eye.

They are an Amex FHR partner. Treated me like gold.

Definitely have brought my attention to the chain and will give them more business in the future.

This is easily one of the best stays I've had in a New York hotel room. Had all kinds of problems just trying to book and pay for a room with the St. Regis which is just nearby and would never consider St. Regis even though I am SPG Platinum now that I had this experience with Peninsula.

So, A+ job, it's a feather in your cap when you are side by side with your competition and your competition's "most valued" customers choose you instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#54 Family Hotel in New York City
#81 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.