We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Guaranteed Room Upgrade
Ranked #75 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Pefect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for our 5 night stay. It was in the perfect location - a 30 second walk from the renowned 5th Avenue and close enough to other attractions such as the MOMA, Rockerfeller building and Central Park. A beautiful hotel, stunning suites and friendly and efficient staff. Everything there was top-class, including the breakfastt which was wonderful too- plenty of choice and everything freshly made to order. We spend our late afternoons relaxing in the spa and swimming in the glass enclosed pool. A high class, elegant hotel. A wonderful stay at The Peninsula!

Room Tip: Go for the suites as the rooms are a little on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    134
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
111
205
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
iceland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed for four nights at this beautiful hotel with my wife and couldn't have loved it more.

The check in was a breeze and since I'm a light sleeper I asked for a quiet room. That was no problem and our room on the 10th floor was dead silent. We did not have any view other then from the wall in front of us but I prefer sleep over view.

We had a standard room and it was relatively big. The bed was very comfortable and as were the pillows. The bathroom had a huge tub and everything looked fresh.

The hotel has complementary water bottles in your room that are replaced everyday which is a very nice touch. You can buy water at the minibar but obviously not necessary. The hotel also has a complementary WiFi and there was no problem connecting three devices (laptop and two phones). The bathroom amenities are also great.

The housekeeping did an excellent job and the room was always very clean.

The SPA is something I would recommend and the pool is very nice. The temperature of the pool is a bit high so doing many laps is more "difficult" than if the pool was cooler.

I had sent few packages to the hotel which was no trouble and there was no charge for that which was nice. Many hotel I have used charge up to $10 for each package.

The rooftop bar is excellent. Good cocktails, nice vibe, great bartenders and great views. It is a bit pricey though and both time we went there it was very busy (at 6 pm and 10 pm).

The breakfast was excellent. They just opened the restaurant the day after we arrived and the three egg omelet was amazing.

We had a 5 pm pickup with Dial 7 before heading to the airport and asked the day before if late check out was possible. The receptionist gave us a complementary late check out until 5 pm which was great. The day we left there was a parade going on on 5th avenue which closed the 55th street to our hotel. We contacted our driver and asked for a pickup at 55th and Madison. The bellboys walked us to Madison with our bags which was of great help.

Overall by far the best hotel I've stayed at in Manhattan and I can't recommend it highly enough. Will without a doubt book my next stay in Manhattan at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clutton
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The rooftop bar, floor 23, is worth a visit for an after dinner drink..lovely atmosphere, watch the lights from traffic and buildings....romantic and stylish and away from the noise and bustle that never seems to stop in New York!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I had a certificate from American Express inviting me to try out a Peninsula hotel so I chose this one on one of my trips to New York.

In general hotel rooms in this city can be a bit shabby because of high traffic.

Location of this hotel is right, on 5th near the park. I had some errands to do, was a 7 minute walk from Fedex Kinko's and got things done I needed to do. Room was posh and quiet. Room service fast and tasty.

Checkin was efficient, though I came in at the end of a long trip looking a bit worse for wear they didn't bat an eye.

They are an Amex FHR partner. Treated me like gold.

Definitely have brought my attention to the chain and will give them more business in the future.

This is easily one of the best stays I've had in a New York hotel room. Had all kinds of problems just trying to book and pay for a room with the St. Regis which is just nearby and would never consider St. Regis even though I am SPG Platinum now that I had this experience with Peninsula.

So, A+ job, it's a feather in your cap when you are side by side with your competition and your competition's "most valued" customers choose you instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Peninsula has a great location midtown on 5th avenue near Central Park. The lobby is set off from the street entrance allowing the hotel to offer privacy to its guests. The staff at the hotel look for ways to personalize your trip providing CDs of musicals that you go to see and offer every service needed for the business traveler including in room fax machines

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Booked here for our 20th anniversary. The door and bellmen are the most wonderful and helpful people you would ever want to meet. The room is well appointed, and quiet. We even had bath salts to soak with.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Sadly on here for a couple of days and just passing through, but this is one of those hotels where you could envisage yourself spending an extended period of time, never getting bored of the charm of the staff and the effortless grace with the way in which the carry out their service.

In spite of a minor amount of temporary refurbishment work in the hotel belies its classic style as beneath belies an oasis of coolness and sophistication as evidenced by a fabulous rooftop bar playing cool music and serving amazing cocktails.

The room was great too. Perfectly appointed in every way and a great bathroom as well.

Having stayed a couple of times at the St Regis, the Peninsula is unstuffy, but has all of the bells and whistles you'd expect.

A special mention to Sinead at the front desk. Thank you Peninsula - I will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.