We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Service You Can Only Dream Of!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Guaranteed Room Upgrade
Ranked #75 of 459 Hotels in New York City
babylon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Luxury and Service You Can Only Dream Of!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Recently stayed at The Peninsula NY as the guest of a friend. This is a very good friend because I could never afford to stay at a hotel like this. I knew The Pen was one of the top hotel in Manhattan but I was completely blow away with the service and how friendly the staff were. Our room was a Junior Suite and although not very spacious by NYC standards it was comfortable. I loved the turn down service in the evening and the decor of the room was contemporary chic. The hotel itself wreaks of class and money and if you ever eat in the restaurant there you better have both because it was not cheap. However, I would not expect a hotel of it's reputation to be reasonable priced. Of course the clientele was business people, wealthy foreigners, and well heeled americans as well. If you can afford it I highly recommend this hotel however since I am not in the tax bracket of most of their guests it was a very lovely weekend stay I had.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Lacrazia,

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate your feedback, especially the fact that the friendliness of our staff played an instrumental role in your having such a wonderful stay. We do hope you have the chance to stay with us again!

Sincerely,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    134
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
111
205
36
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We just stayed for 4 days but were pampered to make it feel like a week in our private residence.
The location was walking distance to Central Park, where we spent most of our time, and most of our favorite shops and many restaurants including in-house rooftop cocktails. The concierge, private butlers, desk, doorman couldn't have been more helpful. All in all, upon check out the bill was justified by the personal attention provided professionally by the entire staff. They made all the difference. Yes, all other housekeeping, linens, amenities and accessory details were meticulous and appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Johnberndt,

Thank you for your kind feedback! Providing the feeling of a "home away from home" is the best compliment that we could hope to receive, and I'm delighted that we were able to provide such an experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

As we were travelling with two children a pool was a must on our hotel short list. The Peninsula's location and reviews won us over. The pool looks fantastic and being up on the 22nd floor with windows all round it gives you amazing views of the city but it was so unbelievably cold it was impossible to get in!!! I've never heard my children complain of water being too cold for them before (the thermostat said 30degrees and I was tutted at by another guest (old bloke sat by the pool at 5.30am reading his paper) when I asked if the thermostat could be broken and if they had another to retest as you could feel that water was nowhere near 30) also the pool attendant said he constantly gets complaints about the temperature but suggestions to Management about increasing the temp in winter go unheard..says it all!! (Must point out there is a complimentary Nespresso machine at pool side which was VERY welcome at 5.30am when pool opened and kids had been up for an hour!)

Apart from the pool I agree with LuvLuxTravel review..service was VERY slow at times, concierge waited for us to have carried the pram half way up the stairs before offering to help and staff on the roof terrace (Really beautiful setting and a must to visit!!) tried to tell us the outside area was closing (other people were out there) and they didn't want to put a patio heater on for a new table (at 8pm and the bar was open until late) until I suggested I go speak to management about that before they obliged (you don't expect that in a 5* hotel!!) also waited 45mins for breakfast in room as restaurant was closed for refurbishment (no mention of that anywhere when booking!!)

The food is really good though and the beds super comfortable! Rooms were good sizes and well kitted out. I was very happy with the cleanliness and thought the maid did an outstanding job! (Have to say that both the room service and housekeeping staff were extremely nice and friendly)

So if you are looking for a luxury hotel in a fabulous location and you aren't fussed about the pool or slow service then I can't think of a better place to stay!


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Poshtigger,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit, particularly the food and our great location, I am extremely disappointed in the level of service you received from the various departments. We take full responsibility for the experiences and quality of service provided to our guests and I would like the opportunity to discuss the details further with you. I invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York and to restoring your faith in our services.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Finally finding time to submit, hope others find helpful. My daughter and I spent a long weekend in January and I left with mixed feelings. We are HUGE fans of the Peninsula hotels in Chicago and Beverly Hills. I had the same expectations for this one. What we liked: the location, the sound proofing (a nice quiet sleep in mid-town!), the comfort of the bed, and the spacious well appointed bathroom. I was less than impressed with the following: waited over an hour after checking in to be shown to our room, when told it would take 20 min. Was told to enjoy a drink and it would be ready - 45 min later I had to remind the front desk and then another 15 min wait. Meanwhile, the lounge/tea area was empty, service was slow and we had to find someone to pay for our drink - not the way I normally begin a stay at a Peninsula (or other luxury hotel). The room was nice, but not all I would expect. Carpet a bit stained and the walls around the dressing area are scuffed and banged up. The bench area and drawers for luggage (a fav part of a Pen room) was scuffed/dirty. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in Fives one morning and the next the staff was inattentive and a bit rude. Upon checkout a lovely woman a the bell stand offered my daughter a Peninsula teddy bear, which was a sweet touch to depart. Overall more inconsistent than I had hoped for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear LuvLuxTravel_12,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula New York and for being such a loyal guest of The Peninsula Hotels. We appreciate your comments regarding the general condition of your room, as it is always helpful for us to improve the quality of our product. I would like to apologize for your disappointment in the level of service you received from our front desk and dining staff. We work very hard to provide a level of service that Peninsula guests have come to expect and we regret that we did not exceed your expectations. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you and can be contacted directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York soon.

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed in the hotel over President's weekend and it met with all my expectations. They were aware I was in NYC for my birthday and they offered me a room upgrade and sent up a birthday treat. They could not have been nicer. My room was on the fifth floor overlooking Fifth Avenue and it was remarkably quiet--very unusual in the city. Service was impeccable, staff was friendly and helpful, and the environment was first rate. I travel to NYC often both for pleasure and business, and usually stay at the Four Seasons. Decided to try the Peninsula for a change - and was glad I did. I couldn't detect any difference in amenities to recommend FS and its higher room rate over the Peninsula. I liked it so much I opted to stay an extra night. There was some initial confusion over the extended room rate -- but a very competent manager quickly clarified it to my satisfaction. This place wants you to leave happy.
Fabulous shopping location. Gym was great- spa and pool looked lovely but I didn't have a chance to use services. Nice lounge in the lobby. If you're looking for a special place to stay where you'll get pampered, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear LoisH23,

Happy belated birthday! Thank you for choosing The Peninsula New York for your celebratory weekend in New York. I'm delighted that members of our staff played such an instrumental role in your stay and that you were able to utilize our fabulous fitness center. We look forward to celebrating with you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Although it is expensive at $3300 a night the Sevice is outstanding the restaurant ( Lobster) and champagne choices are excellent Spent ten days here and loved it . Everything is close by limo service is great. All my favorite places are right here. Barclay's Antiques Joey and Robert always have my favorites waiting for me. Home away from Home with all the trimmings and Central Park . Love coming home to New York and staying here it's wonderful staff and service are excellent . I will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such kind feedback about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our spacious Executive Suites and Fives restaurant.

We truly appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Fabulous location in the heart of Fifth avenue, beautiful public areas and rooms, vibrant atmosphere, excellent service. Attentive concierge and front desk staff. Nice well equipped gym and spa on 21 st floor overlooking New York City. Close to Lincoln Center and cultural attractions. Perfect for a special celebration/ weekend in NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#57 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Family Hotel in New York City
#94 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.