We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel In New York City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Online Exclusive Offer
Ranked #59 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel In New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was my second time at the Peninsula New York. I was surprised for the improvements made at the hotel since the last time I was there. The hotel is very well located in the heart of Manhattan and has all you need as a guest. The rooms are clean and very well decorated and service is very good. It also has a nice restaurant and good breakfast. The SPA in the 22nd floor is nice and confortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    157
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
137
254
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed 3 nights with my parents in two connected street view rooms
a little bit disappointed since the high expectation we had. stayed in LA peninsula and Beijing peninsula before.
great location as all other peninsulas, however, the restaurant was a little disappointing compare to the LA one.
just wen my mom went to the swimming pool. she came back in 3 min, and said the size of the pool is like a jacuzzi, too small to hold more than 3 ppl swim in it ...
room are conformable, and stuff are friendly and help. Still a great hotel to stay
good for business and shopping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
133 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

“In Midtown, this is one of my top picks. Spacious, neutrally elegant rooms, that feel miles away from city hustle bustle - the extreme sound-proofing works well. Old New York style meets the Orient: think marble floors, sumptuous rugs, top-notch beds, the latest in-room technology. Front of house and bell staff are 'on it' no matter what the question or need, and concierges are helpful (especially when you tell them exactly what you are seeking). A new-ish addition, is the Peninsula Mini Cooper fleet, available to take guests here or there, with is especially nice when a taxi is no where in sight! One of the city's most impressive spas & gyms with a small pool looking onto prime Fifth Avenue - don't miss time there for post breakfast work-out if possible. Depending on your trip purpose, the location really is as good for business as it is for pleasure.”

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The location is amazing....across from St. Patrick's Cathedral and short walk from Rockefeller Center, Times Square and Broadway...only problem is that there was construction work all night outside of the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at The Peninsula for two nights before and on New Years Eve. I will have to say that the lobby holiday decor was amazing, as was the ambiance upon entering the hotel. However, our suite was a bit disappointing. We were traveling with our two sons, ages 9 and 13, and needed a spacious accommodation. We were disappointed that the living room of our suite was tiny...with the furniture resembling that of an Embassy Suites (very uncomfortable and sparse). The bedroom and bathroom were awesome, however, the two didn't seem to go together at all. We ordered room service breakfast on day two, and it was delivered 1.5 hours later. The hotel did comp. that since the wait to so long. The spa is amazing and extremely relaxing. My husband and I had massages. The relaxation room was unlike any we've ever experienced with individual beds complete with earphones and music. We moved to The Plaza (based upon lack of longer availablity at The Peninsula) on day three, and there is no comparison. If you are going to spend the money to stay at a 5 star hotel, then stay at The Plaza instead of The Peninsula! Our suite at The Plaza was three times larger and much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed two nights on Dec 27-29th for a quick holiday family getaway (myself, husband, two young children and our nanny). It's a lovely hotel - beautifully decorated for Christmas, well-maintained and elegant interior. Small lobby/entrance area - not spacious or grand, but that is to be expected for a large city hotel. We arrived early and our room was not yet ready, which was fine as we were planning to go get something to eat, but at least were able to drop our bags off. We were asked if we would like to upgrade (from a Jr. Exec Suite to an Exec Suite), for the price difference of an additional $1000/night. The only difference between the two rooms is 95 sq ft and the view. We declined.

All the staff we encountered was very nice. Our room had a bedroom and a separate living room area with a pullout couch. The room was very clean and in good condition and they even had two small plates of cute little snacks and candy set up up in the room for our girls. What I found very odd however, was that there were no extra blankets in our room and just one pillow in the closet and no sheets on the pullout bed. We called Housekeeping and they were very pleasant of course and came to make up the pullout bed while we were gone. When we came back that night, we found that they made up the bed but didn't leave any pillows, so we wound up using the one extra pillow in the closet and pulled one of the pillows from the King bed in the bedroom (there were 4 on the bed). Because we had our toddler sleeping in the bed with my husband and I, we needed a 3rd pillow and another blanket. The next day I stopped at the front desk on our way out to ask for two extra blankets and an extra pillow (it's just much easier if the kiddos can have their own blankets when we're at a hotel & sharing beds since they move around so much when they sleep). When we got back to our room hours later, they hadn't been delivered. I called Housekeeping to repeat the request and they brought a feather duvet and a sheet instead. I wasn't in the room at the time so they delivered it to my husband who hadn't realized what I requested. After one more call, they finally came back with the blankets. Not a huge deal, but really, why would they not have extra pillows and blankets in the closet (which had plenty of space for it) like most hotels do??!

My husband and I had dinner plans that night, and after we had left for dinner and our nanny and kids were in bed, Housekeeping knocked on the door at 9:20 for turndown service. My nanny had to jump out of bed to open the door to try to keep the kids from waking up. We didn't have the Do Not Disturb sign on, but nonetheless I would never have expected Housekeeping to come that late at night. And, for a hotel of this caliber and at this price, and who knew we were travelling with two young children (we gave their names and ages when we made the reservation), I don't think it is unreasonable to expect that Housekeeping be made aware of this and schedule our room earlier in the evening. Then, after Housekeeping came to clean the room on our second day, they took the half empty bottle of body wash out of the shower, but never replaced it with a new one. Which of course I didn't discover until I got in the shower the next day, which was the morning we were leaving. These things were not huge deals, but something I would absolutely not expect at a hotel that charges $1100/night for the room we stayed in. We found a deal on Jetsetter and paid half-price, but I would have felt very annoyed, to say the least, if had we paid the full price. Again, nothing major and if we were at a Hilton or Marriott, I wouldn't give it much thought, but for the prices they are charging, those small details are completely unacceptable. We often stay in Four Seasons or Ritz Carltons in other cities and never have any issues like that. During our last visit to NYC, we booked two rooms at The Palace on the Concierge level, for about the same price (and had no issues. In our experience, that was a much better value for the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaNY, General Manager at The Peninsula New York, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear AlexL40,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula New York and for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay. I am disappointed to learn that the level of service you received did not live up to your expectations or the high standards we strive to achieve on a daily basis. I would personally welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you, and invite you to contact me directly at jcrook@peninsula.com.

I do hope that you and your family were still able to enjoy your visit to New York and that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Peninsula New York.

Yours sincerely,
Jonathan H. Crook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, with extremely friendly and courteous staff. I took my girlfriend for her birthday and it tied in with New Year. The hotel is excellently located and easy walking distance of Central Park and all the best shops. We used the swimming pool and the gym which were both excellent. little plates of treats arrived in the room on occasions like New Year. Free Wifi allowed for good internet usage. The roof top Bar was very cool, with views down fifth avenue. The room was very big for New York and was always in first class order. The view called internal courtyard, was not really view at all, but we knew this before we went! A late check out was arranged and enabled us not to have to rush prior to flying out. everything was five star all the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#51 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#89 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#117 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#29 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#75 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.