We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lap of Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Room Upgrade Online Offer
Ranked #88 of 451 hotels in New York City
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lap of Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Peninsula Hotel is conveniently located in mid-town Manhatten, at the corner of 5th Ave. and 55th St. -- within walking distance of Central Park, Rockefeller Centre, Times Square, Empire State Bldg. etc. Put on a good pair of walking shoes and walk to your heart's content. You will never run out of things to see and do.
If you want to spoil yourself, this is the place -- gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous! We found all the staff to be extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable. This hotel has the most spectacular Christmas decorations, both inside and out. Our room was extremely elegant -- two queen beds, large flat-screen TV, armchair and ottoman at the foot of each bed, desk, wi-fi, marble bathroom, separate toilet, separate shower, enclosed TV above the bathtub, and the room was very soundproof. What an amazing experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    121
    42
    17
    12
See reviews for
95
188
30
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Amazing hotel in a great location for shopping on Fifth Avenue, Times Square, Theatre District and Central Park. Service was excellent. Spa is definitely worth a visit. Room was very spacious for New York and bed was so comfy. Cannot fault this hotel, very luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

2-night stay in a standard room on 11th floor.

Excellent service. the big plus is a very helpful and knowledgeable concierge team who did all our restaurant bookings and share a few insights with us on the Big Apple. Thanks a lot for making our stay so seamless

The room was extremely comfortable, comfy bed, very large screen, marble bathroom, soundproof, it ticked all the boxes of a luxury hotel. A few let downs though:

- I sent a gift to the hotel prior to our arrival, so that it could be put in our room when arriving and surprised my girlfriend, but things went wrong and gift stayed in the storage room... Needed to proactively ask for it to be delivered when a butler came with the gift in a plastic bag... Not really the high attention to details i was expecting from Peninsula...
- the room was a bit too small. Ok it is NYC, but i think it would be a but uncomfortable to live in this room for a few hours as there is not much space beside the bed and the desk. Always a but frustrating, especially when it's raining for a full day...


Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked a junior suite in July for a 9 night occupancy in November, requesting a room on a high floor. The hotel's website suggests that junior suites have windows on two sides, and are typically (although not always) on higher floors. We were allocated a room on the 7th floor, which had two normal windows on one side, and nothing in the way of a view. I asked to see other rooms but we were told they were full and would have nothing for at least several days (fair enough, this was a few days after Hurricane Sandy). I said that that the website suggested windows on two sides, and was told that a few did not have this feature - so we were unlucky on two counts: not enough windows and a low floor! This was met with a shrug. So we set about moving, and as soon as my cancellation was in place the next day, an alternative room was produced by magic. Too late - we were on our way to the Four Seasons (which I will also review separately).

The room itself was perfectly acceptable, but over priced. It needed all the lights on, all day, even in the sunny weather. For just $55 a night more, we were on the 50th floor of the Four Seasons with extraordinary views on two sides which meant a trip to Top of the Rock was not needed!

And finally, the waiter was just plain rude in their bar. My daughter asked what teas did they serve and his reply was simple and straightforward: "Read the menu".

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Not a bad hotel but highly overpriced. I stayed at many hotels in that region. 4 times more expensive than any other hotel. If you want to impress your friends with your money just stay there but i stayed in better rooms with better service, better view for less money. Also minibar costs a fortune.

Room Tip: Select a room facing the main street. Other rooms are very dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Peninsula New York is a world class hotel with a perfect location on 5th Avenue. The last time I visited the hotel, I was traveling with my family and my daughter who fell in love with the pool on top of the building. I highly recommend having drinks and appetizers under the heat lamps on the roof top at Salon de Ning. The food and service at Fives Restaurant is spectacular--especially the Sunday Brunch. Overall, The Peninsula is a wonderful choice for your next visit to New York City, even with your kids!:)

Room Tip: As is always the case with large metropolitan city hotels, request a high floor to avoid noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a tourist in New York demands that you orchestrates small interludes in your cultural consumption. You need the oasis, or refugees, were you can withdraw into private contemplation over the impressions the Big Apple so generously and constantly are pouring out over your soul.
Such a place is the bar at the Peninsula. It is a haven away from the hefty heartbeat of the city.
The waiters are soothing and attentive in their descretly performed eager to please your needs in any way they have in command. The barkeeper is of course first rate, and the relaxing atmosphere has that informal touch of naturally displayed luxury that goes with everything from Roederer to the Buddenbrooks. You don't sit down at the Peninsula, you immerse your fatigue into a furnitural embrace. And as your body is falling at ease, your urban worries evaporates in perfect harmony with the bubbles in your glass. If you ever should fall for the temptation to touch NY from inside, you won't come closer. This bar is the tenderloin of the town.
And I have not even mentioned the roofterrace. Absolutely top notch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#78 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.