We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel in the world I really feel home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula New York to your Saves list
The Peninsula New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Online Exclusive Offer
Ranked #57 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The only hotel in the world I really feel home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

The Peninsula NY... A long story... But I'll try to keep it short! (facts facts facts!)
My first encounter with this ideally located hotel was in Dec. 1999, for the Y2K eve with an uncle, aunt and their five sons
Then every year I try to return, either in summer or winter.
Every time I just feel like: "cool, back home!"
There is nothing wrong in this hotel. Everything works smoothly. In your room you will find everything you will find in a Peninsula, but most important: the control panel. A Peninsula signature.
Rooms are huge, and we were lucky to get a room overlooking the 5 Ave. everytime!
Waking up, opening your curtains (control panel you're my friend for this too!), and watching the early traffic on this ave is a great experience in itself. As we are from Europe, we wake up quite early!
Do not miss the rooftop terrace bar. The Ning. In summer, the open terrace is a pretty crowded place, full of beautiful people, and as always, the view!
I can't wait to hear the groom or the receptionist telling me: "welcome back Mr. Bxxxx". I don't know how they can do this. Maybe the taxi asked us a few questions like "where're you coming from...? And then inform the Peninsula. I don't know, but this is among the many wow in the Peninsula NY!
Can't wait to get back!
Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    157
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
138
255
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was treated with true hospitality from the very beginning. Although I arrived to the hotel earlier check in time I was upgraded to better room - just not to keep me waiting while booked room is being prepared. Importantly that was made in the middle of high season! Room was nice and comfortable, all advanced equipment and facilities were organized in a very smart way. Interior is of very good taste - there is no unnecessary tinsel but quality of materials and furniture is perfect. I had Breakfasts in main restaurant facing 5ht Avenue and disciplined waiters served a la carte food very professionally. Spa is great although pool itself is too small and it seems to me water in the pool was not that clean. Lifts are made in old fashion manner which brings kind of chic of 30th of last century. Concierge Victoria is VERY professional and I would like to thank her for great advices and help. Internet was provided as complimentary service. Excellent for business and short vacation in the middle of Manhattan life!

Room Tip: Staff is very helpful, professional and trained I trust that they would advice what to chose
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
312 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,884 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

As always The Peninsula hotels live up to all expectations. Service was great and very helpful concierge. location is fantastic. Our suite was spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Peninsula is one of New York's top hotels. Just lovely. The service was worth the visit alone.
My only grouses would be the $8+ Oj and $58 I managed to drop on breakfast. Disappointing is the pokey little rooftop bar (compared to the deck at the Gansevoort in meat packing or the view from the Mandarin it's disappointing). But definitely a good choice if you get the chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Perfect location, friendly staff, it is very close to central park, and it really deserves ***** level, bathroom is just awesome

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is a small , elegant and comfortable hotel on east side of manhattan. Not far far from theatre district , but still very close to saks & bergdorfs. If good weather , it is a beautiful walk thru central park or down fifth to the metropolitan, frick, and neue gallery, my favorites. Life is good!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. Service, rooms, pool and sundeck were great. I always love The Peninsula - very reliable. However, the lobby needs to be renovated. It is very tired looking and very awkward staircase/ reception/ concierge situation. Location is great for shopping though and very close to Central Park. The sun deck is amazing and the fact there is a pool is a huge bonus (even if it is very small). The concierge was good, but not as good as the LA Peninsula concierge!!! They are definitely the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#88 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#49 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#109 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#29 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula New York

Address: 700 Fifth Avenue at 55th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula New York 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known for its world-renowned service and attention to detail, The Peninsula New York is the prestigious recipient of the Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Awards. This magnificently restored 23-story, 1905 landmark building is ideally located, just steps away from world-class shopping, museums and the magic of Broadway. ACCOMMODATION: Each of the 185 spacious guestrooms and 54 suites at The Peninsula New York meet The Peninsula Hotels standards for luxury, guest comfort and technology. Rooms are designed for maximum comfort, with a good night's rest virtually guaranteed. Each room exudes a sense of tranquility and modernity with crisp bed linens, luxurious goose down duvets, flat screen televisions, marble bathrooms with special mood lighting and signature Peninsula bathtub televisions. For the ultimate convenience, bedside electronic control panels regulate temperature, lighting and entertainment systems. WELLNESS: The Peninsula Spa is a rooftop oasis providing an ideal retreat from the demands of the city. Recently awarded the #1 Hotel Spa in the USA by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, this sanctuary of seclusion and peace offers relaxing body treatments and sublime skin care in an environment of sheer aesthetic bliss. The Spa features a luxurious range of heat experiences including a steam room, sauna, ice fountain and "experience" shower, men's and women's private relaxation lounges and an Asian Tea Lounge. The Private Spa Suite is the ultimate personal spa experience for couples, friends or family wishing to retreat in total privacy. A glass-enclosed pool, wraparound outdoor sun terrace and cutting edge fitness center with daily group fitness classes completes the wellness experience. DINING: The Peninsula New York's dining venues combine the comfort of tradition with modern elegance for guests to experience sophisticated dining at any time of the day. The signature restaurant Clement presents an energetic approach to regionally-sourced cuisine for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Bar at Clement offers thoughtful cocktails, wines by the glass and a light menu. After a day of exploring the vibrant heart of the city, the timeless Gotham Lounge is a welcome setting to rejuvenate over Afternoon Tea, or for an unforgettable end to a New York City day, toast from the spectacular rooftop bar and terrace, Salon de Ning, while gazing over panoramic views of the shimmering Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula New York Hotel New York City
Peninsula New York City
New York City Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.