We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel super location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Manhattan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fitzpatrick Manhattan to your Saves list
Fitzpatrick Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   687 Lexington Avenue, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel super location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

It's a quiet hotel and a small one too, but has everything that one requires on a business trip.
It has wifi in the room, very nice spotless rooms with round the clock room service. A small restaurant on the ground floor also serves as bar in the evening.
Because of being on business trip I just was having breakfasts at the restaurant which is Ala carte and not buffet. The staff is very courteous and food was very good, served promptly.

The highlight of the hotel is its location - it is 10 mins walk from Grand central, and also same distance from the Central Park. Major restaurants and coffee houses are close by and very convenient for business visits.

Highly recommended

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    200
    60
    21
    15
See reviews for
154
263
31
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at this hotel three times from February to early April as I was in transition and moving from the city. The first time I stayed there in mid February, New York was in the midst of one of its coldest winters ever. My room was so hot that I had to open the windows. The maintenance staff said they could not fix the heating in that room. The heat was unbearable and made for a tough night of sleep. When i checked out the next morning they did take $50 off my bill and knew that i would be rechecking in in two days. When I checked back in in two days they did give me a suite that had no heating issues. I returned for a stay on April 18, which was one of the warmest days NY has experienced this year with temperatures reaching 80. Once again the room I had was so hot and the heating could not be controlled. This time they brought a fan in for the windows i had to open. I asked them why their airconditioning was not on and they said they don't turn it on until later in the year. I know this is an old hotel,but heating and airconditioning should not be optional! Will not stay here again even though the location is very convenient, place is just too slapdash.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here during Easter break & had a great time.
Staff are all so welcoming & friendly - service very good.
Room was fine & cleaned every day . Food in bar good & breakfast delicious , especially the pancakes - highly recommended by my 9 year old son.
Had a lovely stay here & staff couldnt be friendlier or more helpful.
Will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back of the hotel /a brick wall however I would imagine the rooms over looking Le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mari M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in particular that you found the staff "welcoming and friendly". I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I only stayed one night on business.i don't know the cost as someone else was paying but given the standard of the bedroom, living room and bathroom (it was a suite) I doubt this is a cheap hotel. It was furnished old-fashioned New York City style. Dark woods, comfortable, elegant furniture and everything spotless. As with many midtown hotels no views and not much light through the windows but nevertheless this is a hotel room that anyone wouldn't mind spending some time in. The staff were all helpful. I though this was a particularly well-managed hotel as I had a small issue with the breakfast food and it was sorted out immediately with courtesy and a smile. As the name suggests the hotel markets itself as an Irish hotel and some of the staff were Irish but at the same time as celebrating an Irish heritages the hotel feels cosmopolitan and I think captures the best of both. It's a wonderful location for a NYC break and I think would suit couples very well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Frequentflyer00,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you found the hotel's location great.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ä true gem of a hotel. Lovely, spacious rooms with sleek, Euro styling. Comfortable bed and pillows and small size amenities that are high-quality. Extra plus----so quiet! Staff was accommodating and every request was fulfilled in a very timely manner. True hospitality was provided with lovely Irish charm. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Dra1111doggys,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found the "staff accommodating". I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Plus points; helpful and accommodating staff, very comfortable bed, quiet room, wonderful powerful shower, good quality toiletries, location convenient for sights, park and shopping.

Minus points; dark room (had to have the light on all day), room on the small side (but maybe normal by NY standards), furniture poor quality with some handles missing, only one bathrobe per room, curtain poles did not meet by about a foot so impossible to close the curtains completely, no bath which would have been nice to have a soak after all the walking and expensive room wifi but free in public areas.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kim H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the constructive comments. The team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments in relation to them.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambelside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived and given an upgrades as it was our anniversary, nothing was to much trouble, staff good, interpersonal skills front of house staff excellent. Room was spacious, comfortable with a high degree of cleanliness.
Location is superb very central which makes it easy to explore without having to resort to to many cabs. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Westvaleowners,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. The team will be thrilled to learn of your kind comments in relation to them.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in New York in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan

Address: 687 Lexington Avenue, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#89 Family Hotel in New York City
#126 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style Boutique hotel with Irish hospitality, at 57th St - Rooms with beamed ceilings, brass fixtures, rosewood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.