We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fitzpatrick Manhattan

Save Saved
You added Fitzpatrick Manhattan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzpatrick Manhattan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   687 Lexington Avenue, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 451 hotels in New York City
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had an overnight stay in NYC between two long flights, so we took a chance on the Fitzpatrick Hotel after reading other helpful reviews. And, we are so glad that we booked our stay here! From the moment we arrived, the staff was very helpful, check in was smooth, and we were happy to receive a number of late dinner recommendations. Our room was perfect for an overnight - comfy bed, pillows, clean and tidy. The next morning, while we checked out early, we were able to store our backs during the day while we enjoyed a whirlwind tour of NYC.

This is a great location - close to 5th Ave for shopping, Central Park, Radio City Music Hall, etc.

Next time we return to NYC we will definitely consider staying here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Tj6604,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on this site and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful and that your check in was smooth. I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    341
    150
    47
    19
    14
See reviews for
134
205
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay area
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

You can't do better than the price/value equation of this smaller but super-friendly hotel. They took excellent care of an elderly relative of ours visiting from Ireland, making her toast mid-afternoon so she could enjoy some tea and toast before retiring for the day after a very tiring flight. The tea serving was a entire teapot of many cups! My kids loved the Tayto crisps at the bar which they remembered from visits to Ireland and my husband was thrilled -o enjoy a delicious Irish breakfast, perfectly cooked. The rooms are a good size and well appointed with updated and very functional showers, as well as nice touches such as an armchair for sitting and reading, a pants press, an umbrella in the closet, a mini fridge and coffee/tea and a docking station to recharge your phone. The staff is very friendly yet professional and actually helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Trishasfbayarea,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us on this site and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and professional. I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your very kind comments.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for deciding to stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Room selection is key here. Each floor has a budget room (alas, mine) that's about 120sf (excluding small bath and tiny closet). Rooms are well appointed (hardwoods by hickory chair). Bathrooms are tiny, but have marble and nice fixtures. The two biggest problems are: (1) the HVAC system is terribly inadequate and it was impossible to manage the temperature in the room and (2) the mattress was simply awful. Frankly, I've never slept on a mattress that bad. I have no idea if this is a problem throught the hotel, or if it was just bad luck.
Staff is polite and friendly. Location is ideal if you're shopping on Madison avenue, or if you do't mind walking about 3 blocks to the nearest subway stop.

Room Tip: Price and room size are correlated here. Budget priced rooms are small by Hobbit standards. Thre a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Windance,

Thank ytou for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am sorry that you found an issue with the mattress and HVAC system in your room and i will have both of these items checked.

I can assure you that it is rare for us to recieve a negative comment on the comfort of the beds in the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us and when deciding on your next trip to New York please contact me directly. My email is scookman@fitzpaatrickhotels.com.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Hi Guys,

Myself and my wife stayed at your hotel for 5 nights, on our honeymoon. The service there was 10 out of 10!! Rooms are very clean, and well kept. The staff there were very helpful and friendly, special mention to Chris and Aoife you guys are brilliant!! We will be visiting NY again very soon!!

Regards,

Carl & Bernie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Carl P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

On behalf of the hotel thank you for staying with us on your honeymoon and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was an excellent choice for location - it's within comfortable walking distance of some of the big attractions. The welcome and the genuine warmth of the staff was wonderful and many of the other guests had stayed before. The room was very comfortable, and well prepared, and was immediately changed at check in to two beds for us as I was visiting with my young son. The bar was comfortable, friendly and again with excellent staff. There are always staff available to help you, to book a restaurant, to book tickets for an attraction, or just to advise on directions or to give information about the area. We had room service food a couple of times - it was fast, efficient and delicious. There are many places to eat - including in the hotel. The room service menu, the novelty, and the pure joy of being in New York, just proved too much for my son who took the 'initiative' let's say, and ordered! Check in and check out was smooth and again the staff booked our airline seats and checked our transfers for us. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: There are sometimes great offers to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Libby50,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read your comments and i know that the team will be thrilled to learn of same. Thank you for mentioning that you found them to be genuinly warm.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Excellent hotel, staff very helpful and friendly. Had a suite on the 3rd floor (Room 302) facing Lexington Avenue. Even though it was facing the main road had a great nights sleep. Rooms were an excellent size and well furnished.

Prices in the bar very reasonable.

Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ice_dancers,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I am delighted that you found the staff helpful and friendly and I know that they will be thrilled to learn of your kind words.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Fitzpatrick Manhattan is in a great area, really central and it was a joy to see it after tramping around the Manhattan streets! I would agree with other reviewers that the staff are excellent and it is a really good idea that there is a manager on duty at all times. They were extremely efficient and responded immediately to any requests or queries. The hotel is lovely and the Fitz bar was not intimidating at all for a lone female traveller. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane C, General Manager at Fitzpatrick Manhattan, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear BertheMorisot,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and I certainly appreciate you doing so.

I was delighted to read your kind comments and I know that the team will be thrilled to learn of same. In particular I am happy that you found the team helpful and friendly.

On behalf of the hotel, thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to a Fitzpatrick family hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Shane Cookman
Area Manager/General Manager
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fitzpatrick Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzpatrick Manhattan

Address: 687 Lexington Avenue, between 56th & 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#84 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fitzpatrick Manhattan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European-style Boutique hotel with Irish hospitality, at 57th St - Rooms with beamed ceilings, brass fixtures, rosewood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Agoda, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Fitzpatrick Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel New York City
New York Fitzpatrick Hotel
Fitzpatrick New York
Fitzpatrick Manhattan New York City
Fitzpatrick Hotel New York
Fitzpatricks Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fitzpatrick Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.