We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, great location - a classic New York hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Berkshire Place to your Saves list
Omni Berkshire Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #61 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ontario
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great staff, great location - a classic New York hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My husband and I came here for my 50th birthday and we had a great time. We checked in early and had a deluxe King room. Room was the best we have stayed in after 6x in New York and the location on the upper east side was great - handy for central park and the main tourist places. The door men are very friendly and the downstairs bar/restaurant is very popular with the locals and we really enjoyed our early evening cocktails there. Our first night we returned to a complimentary cheese and cracker platter and really enjoyed complimentary tea and coffees delivered to your room each morning. We also added some english muffins to our beverages and they were home made and warm when they arrived - very impressed!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and stay in a deluxe room it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    675
    167
    79
    31
See reviews for
690
736
104
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a terrific property to stay at in NYC if you are less concerned about views and more about quiet! My room this last visit (#1127) in April 2014 was only on the 11th floor - it had the worst view imaginable, but was super quiet which is more important if you travel to NYC frequently.

The rooms are nice and large by NYC standards. As with all Omni properties, the wifi is free if you are a member of the frequent stay program and they bring coffee to your room in the mornings as well. Also, there is a terrific little deli acrosss the street called Isadora's that has great breakfast food for super cheap.

The primary reason for four stars is the service in the restaurant / bar. Most of the time we stay at Omni properties the service is top notch. And in most areas here - front desk, the doormen - we got great service as expected. But at the restaurant there were significant wait times, rude staff, purposeful ignoring of customers, mediocre food quality - really everything that a restaurant / bar can do poorly. So go elsewhere - plenty of choices near the property!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We are grateful for the opportunity to read about your experience and are delighted that overall you had a good visit. We are disappointed to read about your experience in Fireside but are happy to report that changes are in the works. Guest feedback such as yours has helped us to understand that this is an area we need to focus on for improvements. Thank you for choosing us for you New York City accommodations and we look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

staying in the Omni for ages now almost every time I came to NY. Quite (not noisy and over crowded like some other fancy hotels) lobby with welcoming staff. very spacesuits rooms that give you a home like feeling

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great experience. Given the very high prices in NYC this one is well worth its price tag. It is a great location with a great staff. This is all I am going to write and I certainly hope I have reached the 200 character minimum!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

From the restaurant to guest services... By far one of the worst stays I've ever had. Had a friend wait and watch everyone eat when we were all done his 50 $ steak came out ... Needless to say he had lost his appetite. ... Hotel staff made us feel extremely uncomfortable. .. Because we were not your typical bunch who stays there they gave us attitude the whole. Time.. Last I checked our money is as green as everyone else... When you pay 500a night you expect to be respected.. We would have had a better stay at the. Howard. Johnson

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
It was disheartening for us to read about your experience at our hotel and we are truly sorry that you were not better taken care of during your time with us. We want every guest to feel respected and we let you down. We will be following up to understand more about what may have occurred and hope for an opportunity to gain your goodwill towards our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

the hotel had no hot water on morning and no heat in the room for a few days and when reported they brought up a little heater which did not work when reported the lady did not understand she was spanish and then i finally called the duty manager

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experience with hot water and heat during your time with us. This is not a regular occurrence and we truly regret that it affected your stay. We hope that the future will give us an opportunity to provide you with stay that meets all of your expectations and our own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great hotel, excellent location, quiet, spacious and comfortable room. Usually stay at the Omni Berkshire when visiting NYC. Close to shopping, theatres, restaurants - and a nice oasis from the hustle of the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Berkshire Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.