We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Establishment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Berkshire Place to your Saves list
Omni Berkshire Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #61 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
White Lake, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The rooms were exceptionally clean, the staff professional and friendly. I cancelled my initial reservation with the Sheraton Times Square because they would not guaranty connecting rooms which was critical for me as I was traveling with 3 young grandchildren and my daughter. I highly recommend this hotel, it will meet your every need

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation of the Omni Berkshire Place on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    673
    167
    79
    30
See reviews for
689
733
103
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great hotel to be away from TImes Square but within walking distance. The hotel was very nice, the rooms very large (especially for NYC!) and very nice. The service in the bar was slow but the bell and door men made up for it with excellent service. Definitely will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our particular room had issues with the HVAC and hot water (these systems are linked because the building has a chilled water system). We stayed on a particularly hot and sweltering June weekend and the AC would cut out in the middle of the night (not the best time to call for the hotel engineer) and the cold tap wouldn't work in the middle of the night either (you turn on the cold tap and you get really hot water). Also, the AC fan was ridiculously loud for such a small space -- and it was a central AC system, so I don't know what the heck was going on with that either. Suffice to say that we didn't sleep well, despite the bed being pretty comfy.

Also, when you shower, the water will suddenly turn icy cold for a split second then resume normal temperature.

We complained repeatedly to the front desk and had the hotel engineer up 3 times in a 3 night stay, but the problem was not resolved. They comped us an in-room breakfast, which was nice, but it would have been nicer if the hotel actually had building systems that worked!

The room itself was pretty spacious for a NYC hotel room, it had a great location (52nd and 5th), and it was clean. We asked for a quiet room and got one (facing the back, which faces the buildings on 53rd, very very quiet, except for the HVAC noise). Also, I'm a member of the loyalty program and you get free wi-fi in the room that way.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing 53rd St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies that we were unable to address your concerns in a more timely manner and that we were not quicker to move your room after realizing that we were having issues regulating the thermostat on both your water and A/C. We hope you will return and if you do we will ensure that your room is personally inspected by our Director of Engineering prior to your arrival. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Let me start by saying I am probably one of the pickiest people I know when it comes to hotel rooms and cleanliness. I am a member of the Omni rewards program because they keep their properties at high standards. This was not the best property I have stayed at, but it was up to my standards in cleanliness. To add to it, I was given a free upgrade to a Jr. suite, which I'm sure was probably larger than some residents in NYC.

It was our 10th anniversary and my wife's first trip to NYC, so we had a very busy schedule of things we wanted to do and see. The location is all that you could ask for. You are walking distance from 5th Avenue, Time Square, Empire St Building, Central Park, Grand Central Station, etc. We enjoyed a couple of shows. We took a car once, and realized it was just as quick to walk. So the next show, we walked.

When it come to customer service, forget the rumors about New Yorkers being rude. This hotel staff was second to none. I emailed a couple of times prior to my trip to get information and they were very helpful. Once we arrived they were available to meet our every need from taxis, directions, turn down service, complimentary umbrellas,and always very friendly.

I would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Join Omni rewards for free and receive free internet service and other rewards if you plan to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mougins
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with 3 other couples and it was a very pleasant experience,the hotel is so convenient for many places ,we walked everywhere. super bedrooms with all amenities ,although I would have loved tea/coffee-making facilities in the room.Lovely fluffy towels ,spotless bathrooms. nice gym too. hotel staff were very helpful and friendly ,the foyer was very comfortable to sit and wait for friends etc. I would love to stay here again .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castries, St. Lucia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 5 nights here to attend the birthday celebrations of a friend and were surprised by how comfortable and positive our experience was. We were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go as the location was so brilliant. Shopping on 5th Ave, Central Park, Empire State building and much more.
The general manager happened to be outside the front door (checking his external sound system) on the day of our departure and he was so friendly and engaging in a non sycophantic manner. So were the staff. Love the fact that although there was no coffee and tea in the room, you could place a request on your door for free "beverages" at a timed delivery with just a knock on your door and left for you to pick up. Good coffee too. Love the free wifi. We will definitely stay here when we visit NYC again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Excellent location, within walking distance to Central Park 5th Ave shopping, great restaurants. High quality service and accommodations. Very friendly staff. Highly recommend. Only negative issue is that I was on the 5th floor and street noise kept me up.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#49 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Berkshire Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.