We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large traditional hotel with personalized boutique style service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Save Saved
You added Omni Berkshire Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni Berkshire Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #35 of 451 hotels in New York City
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Large traditional hotel with personalized boutique style service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We travel to NY quite often because our son goes to NYU.We have stayed everywhere from the Four Seasons to the Hampton Inn. Recently we have been staying at smaller boutique style hotels,but last weekend we stayed at The Omni and it was great! We had stayed there several times in the past,but it had been awhile.While it was always a lovely property,this time we were really impressed. The rooms have all been renovated and our room was beautiful,and a nice size.What really stood out was the service,everyone from the bellman,to the bar tender to the concierge ,all provided excellent and friendly service.It seems they are doing a great job of competeing with all the new trendy boutique hotels in NYC.

The bar had a nice festive scene, with good drinks(NY prices $18.00 for a glass of wine) .Not sure about the food as we did not eat there. The hotel has a small,but functional gym,beautiful lobby,and quick elevators. The location is great for all the regular tourist attractions, but also has good subway access- a quick ride downtown and we were at NYU.

We had drinks and appetizers one evening across the street at "Fig and Olive", and it was good.

One thing, I do wish the rooms had coffee makers,but they dont.I would have loved to have had an nespresso machine in the room!

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend at the Omni and look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your most recent stay at the Omni Berkshire Place and found all of the associates to be friendly and accommodating. We hope that you will continue to use us for your accommodations during future trips to visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,155
    547
    127
    65
    25
See reviews for
548
589
79
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was very happy with my hotel experience at the Omni Berkshire. My husband and I stayed during a trip to NYC. The location is great, and the hotel itself is fabulous. We were warmly greeted when we checked in, and the staff was always willing to answer any questions that we had. Our room was clean with plenty of space. I was a little worried, because I had stayed at a couple other hotels in NYC, and the rooms were much smaller. I asked my husband if he would want to stay there again, and he said, "Most definitely." My sentiments exactly!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted to read that both you and your husband were pleased with your recent stay at the Omni Berkshire Place. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Recently spent 5 nights here and these are my thoughts :-

Location – Spot on, close to all the major attractions, Central Park, The Rock, The shops etc. We like walking and the Omni was a great base in NYC.

Rooms – Initially we had room 902 which over looks Madison Ave, the view was great and the room bigger than normal, but it was a tad too noisy for us. We asked to moved and got room 1435 which was smaller and towards the back of the hotel. This suited us as, though the view wasn’t great, the room itself was quiet.

Food/Bar – Food was not as good as some other places we eat, costs where just the same. We went out for breakfast as this was overpriced we thought and there are cheaper options just outside the hotel. Drinks were fine again costs to match.

Hotel staff – All helpful and pleasant from the reception to bar, bell boys, etc ... no complaints. Concierge came out of the hotel to help us locate a particular shop, that was a nice touch.

Tips – Sign up as a select guest before you go. Free morning tea/coffee and wi-fi.

Summing up – Would go back again and recommend to others. It was my wife’s birthday and she got a nice cake, bottle of fizz and message from the Manager.

Would stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for including us in your wife's birthday getaway. We are glad you had a great stay and we hope you will consider us the next time you visit New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I met his twin brother and wife in NYC to celebrate the guys' 40th birthdays. The Omni was perfect for our stay. We asked for an early check in- got it. We asked to be close to each other- got it! We joined the select program that gives morning beverage service- got it! They even sent a special treat to the room for each birthday boy! So nice. The location was perfect for walking and seeing sights, and the rooms were perfect and really big for Manhattan. So glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted that you received everything you were expecting and more at the Omni Berkshire Place. We are honored that we could host you during your husband's milestone birthday weekend and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I regularly travel to NY for business and when possible stay at the Omni Berkshire Place hotel. The rooms have all been recently refurbished and look modern and well appointed. The rooms are also reasonably spacious by NY standards. The bathrooms are small but perfectly formed - although no separate shower. The location is fantastic for mid-town and getting up to the park for a run. Would recommend joining GuestSelect as this entitles you to free wifi and a free coffee in the mornings. Wild highly recommend this hotel for business.

Room Tip: If you value sleep, and it is a rare commodity in NYC, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. No v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Omni Berkshire Place on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we stayed one night for my daughters birthday and booked the American Girl package. We drove in so our first impression was with the valet staff who were great. Check in went very well and we had a room on the 9th floor. Room was excellent, clean and nicely done although you did hear the street noice but it wasnt bad by the time we went to bed. The hotel brought up cookies and milk for our daughter and when we got back from Radio City Music Hall the beds were turned down...joined the loyalty program as some had suggested which was great since we got coffee delivered free in the morning. The beds are very comforable and breakfast in the Fireside was great (and inlcuded in our package for 2 adults). Everyone was friendly and accomodating. Will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: agree with other posters, get a room higher up. We were on 9 and did have street noice on 52nd Stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Omni Berkshire Place and our American Girl Package. We are glad your family enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently stayed at the Omni Berkshire for 4 days on Business. From the moment our taxi pulls up and the door man greets you there's a feeling of hospitality. The greeting comes from the heart not the handbook.

Registration smooth. Special billing information not yet received by hotel but alternate arrangements quickly made without a lot of discussion.

Room are recently redone in a modern interpretation of this pre-war gem with light woods, lots of mirrors, spacious baths, large windows, in room safes, lighted closets and plenty of light. Quiet.

The room sparkled. No cleaning fluid odor. The amenities meet every normal need. Super sixed towels with a green option for reuse.

As a member of their select guest program one receives a daily and a Sunday paper, a shoe shine, and the pressing of 2 garments. Even on the weekend.

The restaurant is what what one expects in a New York City Hotel. Good food, not cheap, ut this is New York.

The staff is uniformly friendly and knowledgeable.

Time to check out. The special billing arrangement not fully resolved. Clerk, Eduorado, simply overrode the system on my behalf and I was on my way.

HMGT

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet. Rooms facing Madison Avenue have a broader view, but the 52nd street side is fine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are delighted to read that from start to finish your stay at the Omni was a great one. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#25 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#27 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Berkshire Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.