We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in New York” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Omni Berkshire Place to your Saves list
Omni Berkshire Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #40 of 454 Hotels in New York City
mississauga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas in New York”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

If you have ever thought of ditching Canada and spending Christmas in New York City - DO IT! I have just returned from a week at the Omni Berkshire which is located in central Manhattan (well, central to all the good stuff !) on 52nd between Fifth and Madison. It is a quaint hotel but with all you need - great beds, a business centre and small but functional exercise room. The Fireside restaurant is getting popular and a couch may be hard to find at cocktail hour! Fireside has a great menu too! The staff is courteous, helpful and always smiling - the doorman asked me if I remembered to pack my phone when I was leaving. The concierges can get you (almost) anything you want - be courteous though, and give them time for rare, strange and odd requests. My tip: join the Select Club - join free online for: free wifi, complimentary coffee and/or juice in the morning and your selection of newspaper. I stayed with my family in a suite which had a separate sitting room with a pull-out couch - everyone had their space. With lots of reasonable places to eat, drink, visit in the neighbourhood - you can enjoy New York without stress or guilt!! You deserve it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas at The Omni Berkshire Place and for leaving a glowing recommendation on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled that you were able to find all that you were looking for in our hotel and we hope to have you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    599
    136
    69
    26
See reviews for
594
633
85
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

The location of this hotel is excellent, just off Madison Ave, less than a block to 5th Ave, a couple of blocks to Rockefeller Center, a short walk to Central Park. Join the Loyalty Program, and get free internet and morning beverages. My room was spacious for NYC, no view, but no city noise either. I had a few small issues (room was hot, and at one point I could hear the people in the next room), but overall, this was a very good stay and I would recommend this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are recently updated and the mattress was very comfortable. I probably had the lowest category of room, but still had a nice desk and chair, and a comfortable chair with footstool. While you are in the perfect location, there are reasonable and good dining options for lunch and breakfast. The Europa Cafe was perfect for a quick healthy lunch. I would definitely stay here again anytime the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at The Omni Berkshire Place. It was a pleasure for us to read about your experience and we will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Second time we stayed there. Wonderful experience. Great exercise room. Quiet convenient location. Be sure to join there members club for extra perks!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for recommending the Omni Berkshire Place on TripAdvisor and sharing the tip for joining Select Guest. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I chose omni in New York because I was at omni Los Angeles and it was a great experience.
However what I saw was not what I expected, since the staff in the restaurant were not friendly at all, the food itself wasn't that good, and the room was too cramped, it was the same type of room that I had chosen at Los Angeles.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Please accept our apologies that your recent stay with us fell short of your expectations. There is no excuse for less than friendly service in our restaurant and we will be sure to share your concerns with the General Manager. We also regret that the size of your room was not what you were expecting based off of your stay in LA. Although considered large by New York standards, some of our rooms do have less square footage than you might find in other properties. We do hope this won't prevent you from considering us for your future hotel needs as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I headed to NYC to purchase a few things for my wedding. The Omni Berkshire was a fabulous hotel in regards to typical NYC hotels. If you are a member of their club, you get free coffee or juice every morning that you are there. Luckily I was staying with my mom who is a member and it was a great added perk to our stay. It is also centrally located and easy to walk to multiple locations right from the hotel. We walked down to Bryant Park area and back twice while we were staying there.

They had also made a mistake with our beds upon check-in but were able to correct the situation quickly even though they said they were sold out (we were supposed to have 2 beds and instead they had us down for one king).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at The Omni Berkshire Place on TripAdvisor. Best of luck with your wedding planning and we hope you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Checked-in for Xmas eve/day-very nice staff-Patricia at front desk upgraded us to a suite w/o being asked. The room was large, very clean and nicely done. Can't say enough good things.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy by NY standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
We are thrilled that you enjoyed Christmas and your upgraded suite at The Omni Berkshire Place. Thank you for your review and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

discreet , ideally located, good service & clean rooms.
Out of the 10 hotels we stayed in in NY (all 4 / 5 *) sofar the best.
Concierge(s) & room service: top
- We did not try the local restaurant -
Type of room booked: luxus. But any room above 10th floor would probably be as good.
Location: 3min to Rock. center & Moma & subway
Tip: breakfast on the 53rd (le pain quotidien) with a wide range of high quality products is to recommend rather than a standard but expensive hotel tray.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in New York City
#30 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#54 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Berkshire Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.