We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a FANTASTIC location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Berkshire Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Omni Berkshire Place to your Saves list
Omni Berkshire Place
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Off! Book Now & Save!
Ranked #57 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a FANTASTIC location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel twice so far- one time before the renovation and the second time after room renovation was completed. WOW! What a transformation! They really upgraded rooms, especially bathrooms! Standard rooms are small, but not too small for New York standards. Bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and concierge is there to answer any questions you may have about the city or help with reservations. Check in and check out were both a breeze. One of the most amazing things about this hotel is its location! It is very close to the metro stop, great restaurants (go to Le Pain Quotodien for a traditional French breakfast), and many New York sightseeing spots. It is also right around the corner from 5th avenue with great shopping! I had breakfast at the hotel and while it was good, I could not really justify why it was as expensive as at was.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for your compliments of our recent renovation and for all of your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Omni Berkshire Place and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    638
    159
    75
    30
See reviews for
656
685
96
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Only had one night at the Omni Berkshire and although the room was OK (good size, nice bathroom but overlooking the rear of the hotel...no view unless you are into air con units etc) and the staff were good (pleasant and helpful...good barman now that I remember...he made a mean G&T!), the best thing for me was the fact that the hotel was so well positioned for 5th Ave, central park, Rockefeller Centre etc. Although only in NYC for a few hours before leaving for Connecticut managed to see a lot and get back to hotel easily. Signed up for their member's deal which meant free wifi, paper etc...this is free so recommend you do this when you arrive or before you get there (online).

Room Tip: view from the front is not much better than view from the rear as faces another building across a na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We are glad that our central location allowed you to see many of the New York sites during your quick stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we hope to have you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Situated on corner Madison and 52nd street, the Omni Berkshire is a well appointed hotel. We stayed for 4 nights late July when the weather was hot, the AC worked well. Room, a good size for NYC, has modern decor with large bathroom - although shower was not that fast flowing. The room had a view to the side of the hotel (52nd street) and was very quiet.
Starbucks and other delis/coffee bars were nearby for breakfast coffees etc - hotel restaurant was very expensive.

Overall a good hotel - we would stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
We are glad you had a great stay at The Omni Berkshire Place and are thrilled to hear that you would stay with us again. Thank you for reviewing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4 for 4 days in July. The best thing about this hotel is the location - it is literally a minute from 5th Avenue and really accessible for Broadway etc. The service is good and the staff really go out of their way to help. The Concierge gave us some great recommendations for dinner and the guy on the door was a real character and made us smile! The room was fine - although feeling a little in need of a refurb - particularly the bathroom, but was fine for what we wanted. There are two areas of constructive criticism. One is around the elevators. They are very slow and we often had to wait a while for them. The other aspect was the service in the bar/restaurant. On our first day, we had breakfast there and the waiter got our order wrong. He didn't write it down and really should have. We also thought for what it was - it was a bit pricey. On the basis of both - we went pout for breakfast for the rest of our stay. On the Saturday we went out to see a show and when we got back we went to the bar for a drink. The waiter ignored us for 10 minutes, despite it not being busy and it was disappointing that we had to go up to the bar and asked to be served. Overall, though I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: higher floors are slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Berkshire Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive, regarding your recent stay at The Omni Berkshire Place. We appreciate the chance to understand where our service has opportunity for improvement and assure you that we will be sharing your feedback with the General Manager of our restaurant. Thank you for also sharing the positive aspects of your stay and for recommending our hotel to other TripAdvisor users. We hope you will be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

And the coffee in the lobby in the morning isn't free, which I think is a bit unnecessary at a $300 per night hotel! Still, the wifi is free (if you join the loyalty programme) and the services was very good, so will probably go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa, usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Recently renovated hotel, very convenient location, modern rooms and most of all clean!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

There is a lot of good to be said about this hotel. Stayed in a kind superior room, which was very spacious, and well appointed. All the service staff was very accomodating (thanks for the umbrella loan while it was raining !). Register for the loyalty program to receive free wifi, and papers. You also get a free breakfast drink delivered, but I would much rather have a coffee machine in the room. Sounds silly, but loved the window treatments -- in additional to the tradition blackout curtains , they have blinds with a scrim so that you can have natural light, but still have a bit of privacy. Gym was excellent. If you are travelling with out a computer/ipad etc you will be disapppointed with the business center which charges $6 -7 every 15 minutes for computer use (outrageous).

I was v. unhappy though at being put on the 3rd floor facing 52nd -- so noisey! Requested a room change at 6AM and was told it would be handled, and to pack my things and it would be changed. Surprise surprise. At 2PM it had not been done, and all that was left was a room on the 7th. Better to be sure, but not great.

Also very happy NOT to have the dreaded smart mini-bar that seems to charge you every time you look at it!

Frankly, I think next time I will return to the Parker Meridien and the 21st floor and free breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Omni Berkshire Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Berkshire Place

Address: 21 E 52nd St, at Madison Ave, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in New York City
#42 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#49 Business Hotel in New York City
#56 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Berkshire Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience enviable luxury at the Omni Berkshire Place located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Stay just steps from some of New York City's most notable attractions including Fifth Avenue Shopping, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, Broadway Theatres, and Times Square. Modern Technology and fresh contemporary decor are brought together for accommodations that embrace the look and feel of an Upper East Side residence. Luxury guestrooms combined with the renowned service and amenities make the Omni Berkshire Place an ideal destination for both business or leisure travelers looking to experience the excitement of Midtown Manhattan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Omni Berkshire Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Berkshire Place Hotel New York City
Omni Hotel Berkshire Place
Omni New York City
New York City Omni
Omni Berkshire New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Omni Berkshire Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.