We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a disappointment...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Hotel New York to your Saves list
Four Seasons Hotel New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
MIAMI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a disappointment...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

Stayed four nights at FSNY June 2008. Check in was quick and we were taken to room by front desk rep. A good start. The room was dated at best. The bedspread needed replacing and we put it away for the rest of our stay. The room furnishings were worn (leather chairs were scratched, etc...) The bathroom had peeling paint on the ceiling and the shower handle fell off and we had to call maintenance which did fix it. The terrace had so much mold on the floor (Room 705) that we could not be outside without shoes on. The terrace table was covered in dirt and unusable. Weeds were growing on the corner of the terrace.

Room service was late every time and did not even include water. At these prices, a dirty tablecloth on the room service tray is not acceptable. Our hallway was full of marks from luggage, etc.. and needed repainting. Housekeeping was good. Bathrooms are dated as is the hotel in general. There is no room in the lobby to sit down unless you are eating in one of the restaurants. Location is great, as is the house car (a silver Phantom) if you are lucky enough to snag it.

This hotel is not in the same league as the Mandarin or St. Regis. The service is not there and the maintenance is not there. The prices are on par with the best New York Hotels, however.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    152
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
174
263
43
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA, Ca.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2008

I stayed at the Four Seasons in New York for 2 nights, and all I can say is....Don't ever stay here. I thought it was the worst Four Seasons and Worst hotel I had ever stayed in. My room was spacious, but dirty, the wood lamp in the room was peeling and cracked, there was a paste substance that I did not know where it came from were in the cracks of the sofa. The management was not any help. They offered a small discount, but for the price I paid, which was $900 a night, was not at the least worth it. The staff were not helpful. All they did was merely apologize and that was it. The lobby was nice and clean and the food was decent, but don't judge a book by it's cover on this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Rude Service, Dirty Room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranho santa fe, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We just returned from a two day stay at the Four Seasons in Manhatton. It was the worst 5 star hotel experience I have ever had. I would not stay there again if the room was free.

Upon arriving to our room, we discovered we did not have the room we reserved. We called the manager, and he said it was a nice room. I told him it was not a nice room and it was certainly not the room we had requested or had been promised. It was a small room (called a suite). The living room, dining room and bedroom were all in one common space. And, that common space was not very big. This room cost $2995 a night.

When we asked for the room we had specifically reserved, we were told the room was not available---it had been given to someone else. However, like a used car salesman, the manager said that we could have a room sort of like we had reserved for an additional $1200 per night. I have never felt so violated in my life. Shame on the Four Seasons.

That was a bad start, but it got much worse. It was about 95 degrees outside. We noticed it was very hot in our room and reported it to the front desk. They said, not problem we will fix it. By bedtime on our first night, it was 88 degress in our room and we did not sleep much at all. The next morning we reported the problem three times before we left for the day, just so there was no confusion about the problem. We returned to our room at 11:30 PM that evening only to find the room was 88 degress again. We called the manager, who said "that was corrected earlier". At that time I asked that he please come to our room to see this for himself. He did, and was appalled about the A/C not working. Somewhere around 1:00 PM, our air conditioner was working. We had a 9 AM filght the next day, so this was not much fun. Aslo, by this time, we also discovered that housekeeping had not cleaned our coffee pot (day old filter and coffee were still in the coffee maker). And, housekeeping had neglected to leave a single wastecan. Our simple requests for plenty of extra water was ignored each day.

There were several other things wrong, but it would take me a hour to explain the experiece.

I think that since there is new ownership, they are trying to cut corners at the expense of their customers. They also seem to be falling all over themselves to accomodate foreign customers which is fine. I am an American, and will not stay at a hotel that doesn't appreciate domestic travelers.

I will never stay at a Four Seasons again (certainly not in NY). They are very overpriced and don't deliver the service that justifys their price tag.

Gary W.

  • Liked — Not a thing. Ordinary rooms, exhorbitant prices, they don't honor their word and they are unresponsive.
  • Disliked — Samll room ($2995 per night) no air conditioning for two days, rooms not cleaned well, simple request for water ignorded. We got so frustrated, we simply quit making ordinary requests.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
633 helpful votes 633 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

The quintessential NYC experience. We were on the 44th floor with views of this incredible city and, more specifically, Central Park. I simply have not had a bad service experience with four seasons hotels and this was no exception. Nice people, going out of their way to make us feel important and welcome was what we experienced here. Our room was very large and tastefully decorated. The tub filled up in about 50 seconds. The large head shower was like showering in a waterfall.

The location of the hotel is wonderful being a short walk from Central Park on 57th, 5th, Madison and Park Avenues.

The hotel has that buzz of an important place with investment bankers and lawyers more prevalent than lobbyists in DC. The clientele is also a cosmopolitan set from the corners of the world.

There is a swanky bar that serves cool drinks and, while in NYC, one just feels like being cool for a few days.

The only surprise was that upon checking in, we were given $100 towards our breakfast which seemed a deal. When I received our bill, a few eggs and a bowl of fruit for two adults and two little kids came to over $200. My breakfast has become an expensive meal!

Other than that, it was a great stay and we'll be back when we return to NYC.

  • Liked — Views of Central Park and that classy NYC feeling.
  • Disliked — High prices
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

I wish we could stay longer, but living in NYC and staying in hotels is something we do only after we're not in any condition to hail a cab after dinner (hotel's L'Atelier de Joel Robuchon is exceptional) :-D

Everything from the check-in to the room service to a few concierge assignments was flawless. Our room, a corner City View Tower Room, was spacious for one night, but we'd probably prefer something a tad bigger if we were staying an extra few nights. It was spotless and very bright, with UES views from its 37th floor. As always, everything requested during our stay was delivered instantly and I don't have anything negative to add or even anything to suggest to make the place better. I doubt we'll ever get to experience the NYC location for more than one night, that's when it'd be possible to review the property a bit better, but as it stands right now, our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

Just returned from a weekend at the wonderful Four Seasons Hotel, New York City. What's best about this hotel? Fabulous location, beautiful physical property and the incredible staff and service. We truly enjoyed the oversized rooms, amazingly comfortable beds and sheets and glorious bathrooms. The only flaw in our experience was the hotel charge of $8 per page to print our boarding passes...insignificant when considering the bill for our stay, but, irritating nonetheless.

  • Liked — service and location
  • Disliked — ridiculous charge for business services
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamptons/Millbrook
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2008

As usual, we stayed at The Four Seasons on our way back to The Hamptons. Great service as always, but what really made our stay special was that they helped us find a "special protection company" while we were here in NYC to help us get around. The company worked seamlessly with the hotel in catering to our special protective needs.
Since my chauffer / bodyguard was unavailable that weekend due to a family situation. I don't like to travel w/o protection for my family. So, they contacted a company called "Verdad Investigations & Protection, Inc.". Apparently they have used them before, as evidenced by their professional services. We dealt with a wonderful man named Sean Noonan (Executive VP of Verdad). He was attentive to our needs and quite frankly, we would use their services again while we were in NYC. The hotel even worked directly with him and the concierge services. A great experience, as always. --Preston

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel New York

Address: 57 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#66 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel New York 5*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons New York City
New York City Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.