We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite to Four Seasons Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Hotel New York

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Hotel New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 200 in Hotel Credit
Ranked #108 of 449 hotels in New York City
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Quite to Four Seasons Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Staff inconvienced and vocal about not receiving enough tipping....out of character for property of this magnitude. For someone who enjoys tipping for good service, I don't believe in tipping for presence only.

Ritz Carlton, Central Park, much better option. Little more expensive, but you definitely get what you pay for.

This is a Four Seasons property that doesn't quite live up to the brand standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Russ W,

We appreciate your candid feedback about the service you received with us during your stay. I will discuss your comments with our senior management and if you would like to speak further to our hotel manager, Sam Ioannidis, I can set that up for you. Thank you again for your review.

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    412
    127
    49
    26
    17
See reviews for
126
215
37
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We were due to stay in Soho immediately after hurricane Sandy, but the whole of downtown lost power. Luckily Four Seasons had power. Man, this place has good customer service. Despite the fact they were on a back foot because of the weather they really made us feel at home. $1k a night is expensive, but I noticed the difference when I went back to a $500 a night hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear DavidA_UK,

Thank you for your positive feedback about your stay with us during Hurricane Sandy. We hope that you felt safe and sound while you were here. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel rooms are old and outdate - making this probably the worst Four Seasons of any major city. The rooms are poorly designed and just need a major refresh. The room is really no frills and the hotel is a classic nickel and dime place. This just pales in comparison to the Jumeirah, Mandarin, St. Regis, Pierre, Trump, Loews and most other hotels in the place.

The service is also subpar and frankly borderline rude. Very slow to respond, not helpful.

I'd urge you to avoid this property and stay in any of a number of other top NY hotels for perhaps even a better price. This one just fails to make the cut on service and location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Ind0Traveler,

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was unsatisfactory. We do appreciate your thorough review and will discuss your comments with our senior management. If you would like to discuss further I can set up a phone call with our hotel manager, Sam Ioannidis.

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is simply my favorite hotel in NYC. The property is new, well maintained, luxurious. The service is top notch, and every need of yours in anticipated before it's expressed. The venue is perfect for midtown shopping or dining, and close to Central Park. There isn't a better luxury hotel in NYC

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear SanjayH,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback about your stay with us! I’ll be sure to relay your comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Based on a dozen or so visits over the past decade, this is probably my favorite hotel in the city. It's not necessarily the nicest or most up-to-date (nod to the Mandarin Oriental), but the service is best-in-class, the rooms are large and comfortable, the bar is great, as are the common areas. Too bad they lost Robuchon. Only caveat is beware booking an 'accessible' room. In my experience, this can mean a small, lower floor room outfitted for wheelchair access. I complained the one time I ended up in one, and they didn't hesitate to find a new room for me. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear stevendilley,

Thank you for your constructive feedback about your stay with us. I’m glad that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and the service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I think the title states it all. To enlarge with some details, it was our first stay at this property with wife + 2 kids. The room in the 7th floor was very large, approximately 30 sq. meters (300 sq. feet). We fit 1 bed + 1 crib for our daughter and still had space. The dressoir area very large too with space for luggage + wife clothes (...) and the bathroom superbly appointed with children toys for the tub, as is usual in the FS when you travel with your kids.
Our room was not luxurious in a sense of golden faucets or fancy things, very clean, practical, several phones, etc.
Staff as usual very kind, as an example, there is a little toy store located next to reception. My son, always went there as we arrived to the hotel and the staff greeted him with a gift during 3 of our 5 day stay.
Room service (used it twice) was impeccable in presentation and the quality of food (in our opinion) was superb, albeit pricey, as others have commented.
The location cannot be beaten certainly if you are looking for central park, midtown, museums, FAO Schwarz (3 hours each day 3 days in a row....), etc.
As always, our expectations were "normal" and we got a "first class" experience. Would definetely come back.

Room Tip: 7th floor seems to be the least expensive, rooms that face 57th street are quiet due to good isolati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear dr_zito,

Wow! Thank you for your positive and thorough review about your stay with us! I will be sure to relay your comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Regards,
Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've stayed at the Four Seasons a few times over the past year, most recently in October 2012. Great rooms, quiet, clean, spacious, and well appointed. The restaurant in the lobby is expensive, even for NYC, but the food is very good and the service is excellent. The meeting rooms on the lower level are private, quiet, well-supported (AV) and the catering was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsNewYork, Public Relations Manager at Four Seasons Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Colin S,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments about your stay! We are so glad we can continue to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!!

Regards,

Tiffani Cailor, Director of Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel New York

Address: 57 East 57th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#74 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#106 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel New York 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons New York City
New York City Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Hotel New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.