We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool room and vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Cool room and vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a junior suite, which was more than enough room. Cool decor, sleek decor, and hip staff. Used the gym in the morning and while a little small, it was well equpped and actually quite busy -- Sixty LES guests like to stay fit and look good!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    203
    82
    42
    31
See reviews for
93
237
79
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

we stayed mid june for 4 nights as ageing wannabe hipsters.
we'd booked a queen room which frankly was way smaller than those clever wide angle lenses professional web photographers use made it look on the site.
we moaned to a receptionist. the hotel was full on that first night but we were told we could upgrade to a king size for the thurs-sat nights for $30/night. fine, lets do that.
very helpful young lady dealt with two somewhat cranky brits, both tired and emotional after long flight, with great aplomb and style. she went beyond our expectations as when we moved to our new room 24 hours later, we found ourselves in a corner king with balcony on the twelfth floor with fantastic views of wtc to the south and uptown and empire state skyline to the north. awesome. bags had been moved so it was all seamless.
so thanks NIKKI (i think)..
take note hoteliers, all reception staff should be as good as this.
attitude of all staff was good especially the guys on the door.
its not a bad hotel this though it's charging uptown prices in a downtown location...though to balance that, the pool was nice to relax by before our flight home and nikki made sure we could have a shower in the spa before our flight at 10pm.
we go to nyc once a year and always stay somewhere different...that may change now.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I actually live in the neighborhood a few blocks away, so I can tell you that this hotel is very well positioned if you want to explore the East Village, Lower East Side, and also various trains are nearby for excursions beyond the region. It's also walking distance to SoHo etc and other things you may be looking for.

I have been using this hotel while having issues with my landlord and apartment. I initially picked this hotel because it had reasonable prices and last minute availability on a Saturday night, a rarity for Manhattan.

But when I needed a hotel room for the same reason I went right back. The service is great and the rooms are comfortable. Highly recommended.

..unless if you want total peace and quiet on the streets, at which point you should not be staying in this area of town anyway!

Room Tip: I found all of the rooms satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Our team strives to make SIXTY LES feel like a home away from home; we are happy to hear that you are comfortable returning to us when this is literally the case. We are very fortunate to be located in such a lively and authentic area of the city, and to have the generous support of locals like you!

Kind Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We had a great stay at Sixty Les: firstly I was assisted by Heidi through my booking for special requests. As I read some reviews saying that some people found the rooms noisy I was a bit worried - need not to be! Heidi made sure we got a lovely large, quiet room (LITERALLY NO NOISE AT ALL!) with good views and were well looked after ...

Sam at reception (check in) was more than helpful and I cannot fault any of the other staff - all very helpful and nice. The gentlemen at the door were wonderful - whether helping with the taxis or bookings or luggage.

We had the most enjoyable stay with some small touches like chocolates in our room each day and fully filled mini fridge were all brilliant.

The facilities were great (new/clean), the décor was very nice (in particular we liked the photo picture above the bed and the wooden floor, nice bathroom, shower etc) and the floor to ceiling windows.

Again, Heidi and the Team thanks for your great care you've taken of us and a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for nice quiet room if you care about street noise etc..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Formerly the Thompson LES, the Sixty LES continued to provide great, personal service. I've been staying at this hotel for several years, and the quality of the hotel (staff turnover appears to be very low) brings me back consistently. With the subway across the road, you can in Midtown in 15-20 minutes. Meanwhile, you're in walking distance of SoHo, NoHo, TriBeCa and Chinatown/Little Italy. I never tire of exploring the Lower East Side!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Joshua F,

Thank you for sharing your SIXTY LES experience on TripAdvisor, and for your continued loyalty. We are delighted to read your recommendation of our property. Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you back again and again!

Warm Regards,
Tania Getzova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great location, nice rooms and a reasonable size for NYC. Only let down by free wifi only available in the lobby and lounge. For USD 450/ night I think wifi in room could be included. Good cocktails too!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here on a girls weekend. The service was great and the rooms were nice but the walls were paper thin. I booked this place because of the pool and bar scene at the hotel. I thought we would spend more time at the hotel and take advantage of it but we ended up not so I don't think the price was worth it for us. The location was good, we wanted to be around a hip area with a lot of bars and restaurants and Orchard St seemed to provide that. It's also a half a block from a subway station. Next time I would book a cheaper hotel, but I did enjoy our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.