We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Hip hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time staying here in the past 2 weeks, and I cant get over it. There whole staff is extremely friendly and willing to go out of there way for you. The decor is cool and nice and the beds are very comfortable. Thompson LES will now be my to go to hotel if I need to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share this great feedback. Our team is really passionate about creating memorable experiences that keep bringing guests back, and it’s great to see we were able to do so for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    212
    85
    44
    33
See reviews for
98
253
83
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with great views of the city! look to the north and youll have an amazing view of the Empire State Building!! Look southwest and you'll be staring at The beautiful Freedom Tower. The staff was amazing and very accommodating! Upgrading our room to a spectacular Room with a balcony! Room size was really good for NYC we had plenty of room for our 2 adults and 1 child. I would stay here again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We’re so glad you were able to experience the view from our upper floors. It really is great, isn’t it?

We love receiving requests from guests, so if having a great view is something important to you, please let us know in advance so we can’t make it happen.

See you again soon!


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend. The room was superb, very hip vibe. Maybe my favorite shower in a hotel ever. Bed was super comfortable, staff very courteous, and location perfect. Don't miss out on the pool!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aren’t those rain showers great? Thank you very much for sharing.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel has many good things: all rooms are clean and modern (been to a few), the spa is good, you have a small swimming pool on the 3rd floor, and the stuff is friendly and helpful as it gets. The right word to describe the premises would be "COOL" – from the design to its guests to the rooms + once you leave the front door…. you get all the nice bars and restaurants.
Would stay there any time while visiting NY.

Room Tip: If you want silence, get the higher level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review!

See you again soon!


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lower East Side, walking distance from SoHo. Metro on street corner. Everything for a great NY experience. Great service from concierge and front desk. Nice atmosphere, cool pool and bar.
Great views and some rooms with balcony. we had a balcony and had a great view on the east river and Empire State Building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and pictures!

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were met with a young and attractive crowd in an area that is also filled with young and attractive restaurants. The hotel itself is an art piece and the individual rooms are more decked out in modern decor with floor to ceiling windows that give you a feel of the beautiful SoHo Skyline. The rooms aren't large, but what they lack in size they make up for in incredible design and decoration. I really enjoyed where I stayed. Overall this hotel is pretty amazing, and if you get the chance, you should try to book a room for a couple of nights. I only stayed for two, so I can't say anything for long stays, but the two nights I was here, I loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for trying us out.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll set aside an extra special room for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Thompson LES at the beginning of summer 2012. The hotel is way downtown which is alright I guess as the Lower East Side is pretty cool on weekends and evenings but if your business is uptown it's a bad idea. There is an italian place and a couple a delis right next to the hotel that are worth the try. When I got here my room wasnt ready even though I arrived long after check in time. The guy at the reception was a bit uptight. Not smiling at all and not very welcoming. The room was great and quite big, I was on the 3rd floor so didnt have a nice view but a small terrasse. The bed was comfortable and everything was mostly clean. Not much light coming in from outside. Room service was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi fripouille715!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. As it has been just about 12 months since you were last here, I strongly suggest you give us another try. I’m sure you will find that many things have changed and, as can been seen by many of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, our current team is very passionate about creating wonderful, memorable experiences for all our guests.

With the our relaxing outdoor pool scene, Above Allen exclusive lounge, 24-hour fitness center and Blue Ribbon’s new Beer Garden outdoor terrace, we have plenty of options to keep many travelers entertained.

We do hope you’ll give us another try, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.