We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, stylefull hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #138 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great location, stylefull hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Lower East Side, walking distance from SoHo. Metro on street corner. Everything for a great NY experience. Great service from concierge and front desk. Nice atmosphere, cool pool and bar.
Great views and some rooms with balcony. we had a balcony and had a great view on the east river and Empire State Building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience and pictures!

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    207
    84
    43
    33
See reviews for
95
243
81
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel and were met with a young and attractive crowd in an area that is also filled with young and attractive restaurants. The hotel itself is an art piece and the individual rooms are more decked out in modern decor with floor to ceiling windows that give you a feel of the beautiful SoHo Skyline. The rooms aren't large, but what they lack in size they make up for in incredible design and decoration. I really enjoyed where I stayed. Overall this hotel is pretty amazing, and if you get the chance, you should try to book a room for a couple of nights. I only stayed for two, so I can't say anything for long stays, but the two nights I was here, I loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you had a wonderful time! Thank you very much for trying us out.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll set aside an extra special room for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed at the Thompson LES at the beginning of summer 2012. The hotel is way downtown which is alright I guess as the Lower East Side is pretty cool on weekends and evenings but if your business is uptown it's a bad idea. There is an italian place and a couple a delis right next to the hotel that are worth the try. When I got here my room wasnt ready even though I arrived long after check in time. The guy at the reception was a bit uptight. Not smiling at all and not very welcoming. The room was great and quite big, I was on the 3rd floor so didnt have a nice view but a small terrasse. The bed was comfortable and everything was mostly clean. Not much light coming in from outside. Room service was average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hi fripouille715!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. As it has been just about 12 months since you were last here, I strongly suggest you give us another try. I’m sure you will find that many things have changed and, as can been seen by many of the recent reviews on Trip Advisor, our current team is very passionate about creating wonderful, memorable experiences for all our guests.

With the our relaxing outdoor pool scene, Above Allen exclusive lounge, 24-hour fitness center and Blue Ribbon’s new Beer Garden outdoor terrace, we have plenty of options to keep many travelers entertained.

We do hope you’ll give us another try, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Although we passed a few hours the cancellation time of hotel reservation for the first day, they cancelled it easily. Even better, when we arrived the next day with our college graduate son, they upgraded our room to a fantastic suite. Very nice doormen and concierge and very good location in downtown. We were sorry that the pool was not open yet. We'll definitely go back to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Congratulations on the graduation! Our pool is now open for the season. Let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll try to get you another great upgrade!

See you soon


All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We just came back from a quick weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary and stayed at the Thompson LES which was recommended by a friend who stayed there last year. Thompson LES is a modern boutique style hotel located in the lower east side close to tons of amenities and restaurants -- and very convenient for us.

We stayed in a Queen Superior room and it was cozy and very clean. The only thing I can suggest is that they have more outlets to plug in phone chargers etc. on the desk. We had to plug ours into an outlet close to the floor next to the front door but that was not a big deal.

We were also waiting for a package to be delivered for Saturday but it arrived after we had departed but thankfully, Matt at the Concierge sent me an email notifying me of this package so I made arrangements to have him ship it to another address for us.

Aside from this, we were greeted with courtesy by all staff everyday and was always offered assistance even when we didn't ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Happy Anniversary! We’re glad we were able to make it a memorable one for you and we hope to see you again for the next one!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed a night at the Thompson hotel after my wedding in NYC. After the staff found out that we got married, we received a complimentary upgrade to a fantastic suite, with sweeping views of New York from the balcony.

The room was very well kept, had some lounge chairs on the amazing balcony and was very spacious. Free coffee, nice lounge area and a extremely comfortable bed ensured that we had a great night before embarking on our travels.

The service was flawless, as the check-in was quick and the check-out effortless. Great stay, fantastic location and I would definitely recommend anyone staying here. The only point of critique would be the bar at the hotel. We walked in on a Friday night for a drink after dinner, but it looked more like a drunken frat party than a classy hotel bar.

When we went back to our room we had a nice little hand written card and bottle of champagne from the GM waiting for, so we quickly forgot that little hick-up while sipping champagne on our private balcony!

Difference between a good stay and a fantastic stay is in the little things and they definitely have those right in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We do love to make special occasions as memorable as possible, so please don’t hesitate to let us know if you are celebrating something special.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Really liked this hotel. Found a deal for a good-sized room and was very impressed with the room. Perhaps the biggest plus was the windows were solid that there was a full team of construction workers across the street with crains and other assorted loud equipment and I never heard a peep.

Bathroom and shower was great as were the bed.

The "F" train is right across the street so making it uptown is really easy. The only bad news is that cabs are scarce on Allen Street so you have to walk up to Houston if you want one in most cases, but that's it.

Really nice stay.

Room Tip: Look on deal sites. Get biggest room on your budget, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Our windows definitely do hold back a lot of the street/construction noise that is so common around the city. If a good night’s rest is what you’re seeking, we can certainly accommodate you. We also have some rooms located in the more “lively” areas of the hotel, so please be sure to let us know your preferences when make a reservation, and we’ll make it happen for you.

Excellent tip with cabs, too, but we can always help. Our Door Attendants are fairly skilled at getting cabs, so please don’t hesitate to ask them to help out anytime your in a rush for that morning meeting.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Thompson LES | Commune Hotels & Resorts
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Green Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#161 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.