We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless hip hotel in fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #111 of 451 hotels in New York City
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Faultless hip hotel in fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've been lucky enough to visit NYC for many years now and have stayed at many lower Manhattan hotels such as The Bowery & The Soho Grand. I'm just back from my 5th stay at the LES & can honestly say, in terms of value, professionalism, location & facilities, it is by far the best hotel.

The rooms are large (esp by NYC standards), very stylish, clean, modern with huge floor to ceiling windows. Bathrooms are clean, well equipped, with great huge showers. All you ever need! The prices are fine too. Don't expect bellboys running around and a glass of champagne upon arrival - this isn't Claridges. However, you're not paying those kind of prices! They'll look after you, if you need it...or leave you alone if you don't!

The location cannot be beaten. The Lower East side is a vibrant, safe, buzzy area. Great boutiques, bars and clubs on Ludlow & surrounding streets. 10 mins walk to any number of other amazing areas - restaurants, shops, bars - you name it....you can walk there, from the LES. If its your first time in NY, don't stay uptown - that's not New York. Stay downtown, and this is the best place.

Our conciege (Matt) was great. Efficiency and charm personified! We had yet another fabulous time and The LES helped to make this happen.

Room Tip: any floor above 10 is great for a quieter nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
5th stay! Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel and your kind words about Matt.

He is certainly one of our best and is very glad to see he helped create a memorable experience for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    177
    77
    38
    29
See reviews for
84
218
76
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Thompson LES isn't just a hotel, it's a lunching pad for some of the hippest parts of the city. Surrounded by great food and and music, and a lovely walk to Williamsburg. The staff is top notch and has gone out of its way to make my stay outstanding, guiding me to the rooms that show off the city. And what views. The public spaces of the hotel are not expansive, but it hardly matters. With all the possibilities just outside the door, not reason to cloister yourself away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
What a great review!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and your kind words about for team. They’re all very passionate about creating wonderful experiences, and it’s nice to see they came through for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights. We loved the location, room ( we had a standard room on the 17th floor) is ok, bed was good and shower comfortable.
When we checked in, staff was very busy looking around and found it difficult therefore to answer our questions. We were informed that there was a restaurant on the second floor and that was it.
Rooms where cleaned every day. They do turn down service: you get a chocolate, ice and fold your duvet and turn on your tv.( when you're out)
As we got married on the wednesday and it was my birthday, friends had champagne and cupcakes and macarons delivered to our room. The hotel did not ask what it was for or leave a note with congratulations or anything which would have been thoughtful.
The staff working front office the beginning of our stay found it very difficult to greet as they were too busy chatting with each other. That came across as quite arrogant. Overall it was ok, but the staff did nothing to exceed expectations.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete the survey on your recent experience with us. I must say that I am so sorry we failed to exceed your expectations.

Our team is very passionate about creating wonderful memories for all our guests and when we miss one, it really hurts.

I know that I can’t change the past; however, I can certainly influence the future. When your travel plans bring you back this way, please reach out to me personally, and I will ensure you are taken care of well.

I hope you had a safe trip home.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel was clean. Front desk, concierge and cleaners were all friendly and helpful! Would definitely stay there again. Hotel is about a 15 minute walk to Soho. No issues with the rooms. Clean and furnished with modern fixtures. Room size was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing. We're all glad you're stay was wonderful, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

First time at the Thompson LES...loved it great location, super central to everything downtown and below. There were some issues with the room booking when I arrived; however, Robert at the front desk was amazing and went above and beyond to ensure that we were inconvenienced as little as possible while throwing in some little extras as well. I travel quite a bit for work and this customer service was the best I've had at any hotel I've stayed at. The doormen were also really friendly, fun and helpful.

Room was really big and spacious and really stylish. Rarely in my room while in NYC, but glad to return to this one each night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We’re so glad Robert was able to quickly make things right for you upon arrival and our Door Attendants really are a great group.

Next time your travel plans bring you this way, please reach out to me personally, and we’ll make sure you have another amazing experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you've stayed at a Thompson before, you already know the deal. The LES is quite in line w/the kickassery Thompson is known for - modern, edgy, low lit, in the interesting parts of town, and most importantly, amazing staff. They give spot-on recommendations for places to eat and things to do, yet won't judge you during check-out when clearly showing evidence of a debaucherous romp through town in which you may or may not have incited a competition of "industry skills" with some dancers of the exotic (and winning, I might add) among other shenanigans.

If you're in the know, you want to stay here.

Room Tip: Room 1500 is a gem, corner suite w/balcony and killer view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Great review!

Definitely brought a smile to the faces of everyone here at the hotel. We’re all really glad you had a great time.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I've stayed at the Thompson LES several times when I visit my son, who lives a few blocks away. I have stayed in other hotels within a short distance and found they don't compare to the Thompson.
The employees are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are amazing. My last room had two solid walls of windows overlooking the city. The bars and restaurant are very stylish. I've also bumped into celebrities. Always have fun there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon's famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side start at 325 sq. Ft. With many being 550 sq. Ft. Going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. Ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.