We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME, COOL for those who know” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME, COOL for those who know”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is my third time at the Thompson LES and each time has been better and better.

The single best feature of the hotel is the staff who has been super accommodating from reservation to check out and all in between. The management (Sebastian) bent over backwards to help us when we stayed with our kids to make it a great family experience from playing at the pool to arranging a top notch baby sitters. This time they cultivated a totally romantic environment for my wife and I on a couple get away. With only a couple of stays at the Thompson - they have made us feel like family and have gone the extra step always.
The rooms are always clean, nice and big enough so that you are not bumping into the walls like other NYC chic hotels. We have always had a bath and if an upgrade was avail - they were very willing to help us. And they are beautifully designed - of course great beds.
I have to say that as a New Yorker transplanted in LA - the Thompson is located in a totally cool section of the city. Not the Disneyland NYC of the meat packing district or other fully white washed areas. Feels like the village back in the day and there are great shops, cool bars and hip restaurants. It is also very convenient to walk to all areas of the downtown scene.

The hotel is really suited for those savvy travelers who are hip enough to find what's cool and not really for those looking to check out the Empire State building and Statue of Liberty - but could probably help you out just the same.

Overall a great place to stay if you are looking for the coolest NYC experience you can have.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
What a great review! Thank you so much for sharing!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for the FOURTH visit.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    206
    83
    43
    32
See reviews for
95
241
80
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First, the location (location, location, location!), around the corner from Katz's deli, around the corner from the Meatball Shop, less than a block to get into the subway, awesome Lower East Side sights.

The most important though: the staff of the LES - they are outSTANDING! Always professional and ready to help with whatever is needed. Uber polite, uber suave, excellent

Other highlights - the Eggs Benedict in the restaurant, the night time Sushi restaurant - delicious.

And finally, they play Fellini movies in the elevator. I miss my floor often just to see what is going to happen to Marcello... Ciao Marcello!

Room Tip: Some rooms on the West Side have views to Midtown. Request a room with a balcony if you can (though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Great to hear you were able to experience Katz’s deli and the Meatball Shop during the same visit.
They’re definitely a couple of the Lower East Side’s landmarks to see.

See you again soon and we’ll be sure to keep the movies playing for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I travel to NY often and have experienced a lot of hotels in the city. I have to say that I've never felt more at home than I did at the Thompson LES. I came for a fun getaway with friends and the Thompson definitely started the trip off on the right foot.

Qiara checked us in and made sure that our room was perfect. It was. Our every need was taken care of and we always felt happy to return to the Thomson after our adventures. Ten was very accommodating, helped us set up the reservation originally, and also greeted us when we arrived. Raoul was another stand out as he had great recommendations, clued us in on what was going on in the hotel, and was always friendly and helpful. From the groovy little Macondo restaurant around the corner to the Whole Foods a few blocks away to the shops and restaurants of Nolita, there was lots going on around the hotel. We felt like regulars and did not want to leave. My only consolation is that I know I will return, and I will definitely recommend the Thompson LES to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I’m so glad that you felt right at home. Helping travelers from around the world feel at home, is one of the toughest challenges for a hotel and something that we focus on quite a bit.

Your kind words have been shared with Qiara, Raul and Ten and they couldn’t be happier to hear about your experience.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

On my second visit to New York City , I'm so glad I stayed in this hotel. I opted for the lower east side area. A little away from the madness of midtown. The area is great with great restaurants and even Katz deli literally around the corner.
Decor is chic and modern with a funky twist and the showers are spacious and powerful. Wonderful.
Staff were warm helpful and pleasant. I really can't find fault with the service.
I will return, for sure.. And hopefully before long!!

Thank you so much for a wonderful few days .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. It’s nice to see that you took notice of one of our best features—being away from the madness of midtown, but close enough so you can get there quickly when you need to.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a lady travelling on my own to New York, visiting friends based in Soho, this hotel was perfectly situated within walking distance. After a long flight, I went to the hotel bar to get a hot chocolate before crashing for the night. Although the bar did not have any hot drink facilities, one of the bar staff went out of his way to get me some hot milk from the kitchen and I was made to feel welcome immediately (thank you Ben). i had a room on the 17th floor, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a large shower - all I needed really for a base. In addition, i did not hear traffic at all. The concierge was very helpful with directions, provided a map of the area and some recommendations for restaurants. Although I did not have dinner in the hotel, I had heard that the ribs are great. I did have a continental breakfast at the hotel the first morning, not the best as coffee tepid and toast slightly burnt, but the staff again were friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a great New York welcome. By the way, Century 21, a discount designer outlet in Midtown, is only 10 mins in cab - you may need an extra suitcase!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the detailed review!

It’s so great to hear we were able to make that hot chocolate happen for you and excellent tip about Century 21. It is very close.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, cool 'real' New York location. Close to great bars and restaurants. Rooms were quite standard, modern. Great beds. Will definitely stay here again, though the noise can be an issue at night and on weekends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re so glad to see you had a great time and enjoyed our beds.

We have many rooms that aren’t affected by the weekend noise, so please reach out to me when you make your next reservation, and we’ll be sure to find you a room in a nice location.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

From the moment we entered the groovy lobby we knew we made the right choice in hotels. We were greeted by adorable Chiara who could not have been nicer or more accommodating during our stay. The rooms are very modern and the entire hotel is very hip. The spa and gym are open 24/7. Raoul the bellman is definitely in-the-know about all the best places in the city and we loved that he was there to greet us every morning in the lobby as we ventured out on our adventures. Ten, the General Manager, made sure that we were well taken care of during our stay. We felt sad checking out of this fab hotel.When we returned home and unpacked we realized that we left a lot of our clothing in the hotel. Briana made sure that our stuff was sent out Fedex asap. We LOVE this hotel and we will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Choose a king suite or corner king
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. Your comments about Qiara, Raul, Tenzing and Briana are certainly appreciated. They are all thrilled to see that they were able to help make this experience a memorable one for you.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
#42 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.