We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thompson LES A+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #134 of 455 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Thompson LES A+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Thompson LES doesn't disappoint!
Located in Manhattan's Lower East Side(LES) - the Thompson LES is conveniently situated for the city traveller looking for a chic hotel in walking distance to hot spots of downtown NYC. Minutes from the Subway, and steps from amenities such as Starbucks and Whole Foods Market.
Thompson LES has a modest, modern curb appeal which opens up to a sleek contemporary interior which boasts sexy guest suites featuring walk-in showers with rain head showers and large balconies showcasing the NYC skyline.
Staff at the Thompson LES are professional, welcoming and more than happy to assist guests with directions, recommendations, and any personal requests that make your stay more enjoyable.
Having been familiar with the Thompson Hotel - the LES doesn't disappoint.
For your next trip to NYC, treat yourself to the Thompson LES!

(Toronto, Canada)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great, detailed review! We’re so glad we were able to make your experience a memorable one.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    206
    83
    43
    32
See reviews for
95
241
80
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The following is my ammended feedback to a third-party booking service (Hotel Tonight) with whom I had earlier in the week shared a 'sideways' experience at Thompson LES:

Original Message Hey - just want to give a quick shout out to Joe Kavanaugh, director of rooms at the Thompson LES (NYC) for going out of his way to 'make up' for an unfortunate stay a few nights back at an otherwise great property. In response, my wife and I were treated to a King Terrace upgrade last night offered by Joe at the HT Queen Standard advertised rate of $279. This was a serious upgrade from a gent that truly owed us nothing.I also would like to thank the good folks at HT for communicating my review to Joe - totally unexpected, but great to know how invested you are in the quality of your customers' experience.Thanks again to all.

Hopefully, this is taken as a positive review to those considering LES as a place to stay.

You will be taken care of.

T&S

Room Tip: You are choosing a great place in a vibrant, active and hip area so yes, the volume is up at times r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review and your kind words. I’m really glad we were able to show you a great time.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I've stayed at the LES twice and had a great experience both times. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. They are a bit dark but this seems to be the trend for hip hotels. I've never eaten at the restaurant but I'm sure it's good. The location is totally not touristy but still convenient . It's around the corner from a huge Whole Foods, Katz' Deli and of course, the LES. You can also walk to Soho or the East Village. Overall, I think you get good value for your money at the LES.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty.

It’s really great to see guests coming back again and again. Now that you’re a regular and know our hotel well, please reach out to me personally so that I may update your profile with any preferences you might have related to room location, room type and amenities. Anything that will help continue to make the Thompson LES feel like your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back for the third time soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englewood,nj usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

my husband and i were looking for an overnight getaway. we chose the THOMPSON LES, for its reviews and location. what a good decision. we had a wonderful time. the hotel is so sleek and sexy in design. everyone was polite and efficient. at night we dined in their sushi restaurant, and in the morning we walked toured the area and had brunch in a nearby cafe. we felt completely satisfied with this property, and our experience. we will do it again, soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review.

We’re so glad that you chose to stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you very back soon for another wonderful experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wanted to do a little "staycation" so I checked out the app Hotel Tonight, great prices for one night stay in luxury hotels in many cities throughout the US.
I love the Lower East Side, and this hotel makes for a beautifully romantic escape above the busy city streets while still being in the heart of so much action.
Many of the hotel staff recommended the Ribs at the in-hotel restaurant unfortunately they were out, so I guess we'll just have to go back.

Highly-recommend

Room Tip: Ask to be at least 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing us for your staycation and for your nice review.

Hotel Tonight is a definitely a great site, but please don’t forget to check out our own site or phone us directly for same-day discounted rates.

Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll make sure those delicious ribs are available for you.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during April. Upon pulling up outside we were greeted by the bell boys who are extremely friendly and helpful, easily the best staff at the hotel. They said they could either park the car for us which costs $55 per 24 hours or they could let us know where a cheaper garage was.
The room (a double deluxe with two queen beds) was pretty spacious and very clean. The beds were comfy and a good nights sleep was had by all until the morning when we were woken up at 7.30 am by builders working on a site directly opposite our window.
I didn't use the gym (too busy exploring the city!) and the pool wasn't open yet so I can't comment on those.
Every night a woman came around with chocolates to put on the pillows and a bucket of ice, if you were out then she'd also close your curtains for you.
The location is great, Broadway, a cinema, lots of restaurants and multiple subway stations are near by. If you get a chance, visit Links which is next door for amazing sausages!

However there are a few drawbacks; whilst wifi is free on the second floor and in the lobby, if you want it in your room it costs $15 per day! We had breakfast in the restaurant one day and whilst on our booking form it said we could have the cooked breakfast for $15, they said they were only connected to the hotel in a physical sense, not a business sense and said we had to pay $17. We added it to the room bill and when we paid at the end of the stay we had to get them to reduce it to $15.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re all thrilled to see that you enjoyed your experience! The double deluxe room is really one of our most popular room types, especially for families. Two queen-sized beds and 400 square feet of living space gives everyone plenty of room to spread out for an extended stay.

I’m so glad that we were able to fix the issue you had with the breakfast pricing. One thing that our team is pretty passionate about is ensuring everyone leaves here having all their expectations exceeded, so when something doesn’t go quite right, we’ll always do what we can to fix it.

Additionally, I understand your concern about the Internet. While some hotel brands have made the decision to offer, “free” Internet and simply work it into their room rate pricing, we still believe that many travelers like to have the option to purchase this premium service. For those looking for a complimentary option, we do offer it for all hotel guests at no charge in the lobby area of the hotel.

It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family join us for the long weekend, and we’re all looking forward to welcoming you back soon. When that time comes, please reach out to me personally, as I would love to ensure you have another amazing experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was in NYC for a quick overnight trip and I knew that I wanted to stay at the Thompson. I love the location, the neighborhood and the friendly staff at the hotel. I was greeted warmly when I checked in and was given an upgrade to a larger room. A nice touch since I booked the room the day before.

I look forward to my next stay - hopefully for a few nights. I would also like to recommend a great little restaurant that is right down the street -Prima.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
And, we look forward to welcoming you back! Let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll see if we can make that upgrade happen for you again.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Green Hotel in New York City
#61 Business Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#193 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Loews Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.