We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the LES!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #132 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Love the LES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the Lower East Side. The rooms are very chic with great design, and the bedding is perfect (not too flimsy, the duvet is the perfect warmth). We stayed in a King Suite (2 adults and 1 child) and our 6-year-old was happy and comfortable sleeping on the sectional sofa. Location to the subway is ideal for our travel needs. Staff is friendly and helpful but not overbearing. If you get a chance, definitely eat at Blue Ribbon Sushi - the meals are incredible and the waitstaff is super knowledgeable and accommodating. This was our second time staying at the Thomson LES and we'll definitely continue booking there when we visit the city!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
What a great review! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

Please do let us know when you are on your way back for the third time and we’ll be sure to make it an extra special experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    212
    85
    44
    33
See reviews for
98
253
83
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is our second stay at Thompson LES within the last several weeks and it was an excellent experience. The rooms are beautiful, clean and quite serene with incredible views. Staff was excellent and somehow even recognized my wife and I from our previous weekend. Staying here made our stay in NYC and have already booked a weekend there next month.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Mr. Gold,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Taking care of and recognizing our frequent guests is a large focus for the team.

Once your reservations are confirmed for next month, please let me know. We’ll set you up for another great experience.

See you soon.

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Love the hotel, staff was courteous, friendly and super helpful--great clean room, deluxe king had plenty of room, good location, convenient to subway and walk anywhere...found a great deal on gilt/jetsetter so a super time overall!!

Room Tip: deluxe king was worth it--for NYC plenty of room to spread out, put clothes, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We’re so glad you had a wonderful time! Please let us know when you’ll be returning, and we’ll make sure you get another one of those nice Deluxe King rooms.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel if u prefer a small neighbourhood vibe rather than obvious Midtown touristville.
Bit too cool for school with a touch of that Lower Eastside attitude, same kind u get in Hoxton, London.
Expensive and small rooms but cool industrial design.
But I loved the vibe and the area so I would and have gone back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
With us being located only six stops on the subway from Times Square, the Lower East Side is definitely a refreshing alternative to the tourist centers of the city. Many of our rooms are over 500 square feet, so if you’re someone who is looking for a little extra space, just let us know, and I’m sure we can find a room type perfect for you.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After having lived in NY for 12 years, I'm still not used to staying in hotels when I return to town. I was back for a work conference and unfortunately had to stay in Times Square. I decided to stay a few extra nights and picked the Thompson LES for a few reasons. #1. The location is really where you want to be. If you want to be close to restaurants, bars, lounges, this is the area. #2. The hotel itself. The website really doesn't do it justice - the rooms and hotel are spectacular - new, modern and top quality. #3. I thought it was a good sign that the manager responds to both positive and negative feedback on trip advisor. Surely a sign that they care about there customers. Well, I was not wrong. Upon check in, the staff was super friendly and courteous! Also, when I bemoaned my experience in times square, the manager was kind enough to upgrade me to a suite. I travel to back to NY frequently and have found me hotel of choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a great review!

Thank you so much for taking the time and for your kind words. Our team really does care a lot about delivering an amazing experience and creating wonderful memories. It’s great to hear we were able to do so for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The day before my arrival, I was able to upgrade to a king room, and upon arrival they gave me a corner king with fabulous views of New York City both uptown and downtown. The room was spacious and modern with a high ceiling, and balcony over Allen St. The staff were numerous and helpful, as well as immediately responsive to any requests - just as you would expect a hotel at this level to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Please let us know when you’ll be returning, as we would love to set you up for another wonderful experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked a queen sized room using the hotel's website. I reached out to the hotel directly to explain it was a special occasion, (22 year anniversary), and I was upgraded to a king room on a high floor with a stellar view.

Check in was smooth and efficient.

The hotel's doormen are friendly, always smiling and they greet you - making eye contact.

Housekeeping is top notch. Loved the turn down service every night, complete with a fresh bucket of ice and chocolates on the pillows!

When staying on the LES, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Happy Anniversary!

We’re so glad that you chose to spend such a great milestone with us and thank you very much for the great review.

Next time you come to New York, please let us know and we’ll be sure to show you another great time.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Green Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.