We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Lower Eastside Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #114 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cool Lower Eastside Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great hotel if u prefer a small neighbourhood vibe rather than obvious Midtown touristville.
Bit too cool for school with a touch of that Lower Eastside attitude, same kind u get in Hoxton, London.
Expensive and small rooms but cool industrial design.
But I loved the vibe and the area so I would and have gone back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
With us being located only six stops on the subway from Times Square, the Lower East Side is definitely a refreshing alternative to the tourist centers of the city. Many of our rooms are over 500 square feet, so if you’re someone who is looking for a little extra space, just let us know, and I’m sure we can find a room type perfect for you.

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    345
    177
    77
    39
    30
See reviews for
84
219
76
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After having lived in NY for 12 years, I'm still not used to staying in hotels when I return to town. I was back for a work conference and unfortunately had to stay in Times Square. I decided to stay a few extra nights and picked the Thompson LES for a few reasons. #1. The location is really where you want to be. If you want to be close to restaurants, bars, lounges, this is the area. #2. The hotel itself. The website really doesn't do it justice - the rooms and hotel are spectacular - new, modern and top quality. #3. I thought it was a good sign that the manager responds to both positive and negative feedback on trip advisor. Surely a sign that they care about there customers. Well, I was not wrong. Upon check in, the staff was super friendly and courteous! Also, when I bemoaned my experience in times square, the manager was kind enough to upgrade me to a suite. I travel to back to NY frequently and have found me hotel of choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a great review!

Thank you so much for taking the time and for your kind words. Our team really does care a lot about delivering an amazing experience and creating wonderful memories. It’s great to hear we were able to do so for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The day before my arrival, I was able to upgrade to a king room, and upon arrival they gave me a corner king with fabulous views of New York City both uptown and downtown. The room was spacious and modern with a high ceiling, and balcony over Allen St. The staff were numerous and helpful, as well as immediately responsive to any requests - just as you would expect a hotel at this level to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Please let us know when you’ll be returning, as we would love to set you up for another wonderful experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked a queen sized room using the hotel's website. I reached out to the hotel directly to explain it was a special occasion, (22 year anniversary), and I was upgraded to a king room on a high floor with a stellar view.

Check in was smooth and efficient.

The hotel's doormen are friendly, always smiling and they greet you - making eye contact.

Housekeeping is top notch. Loved the turn down service every night, complete with a fresh bucket of ice and chocolates on the pillows!

When staying on the LES, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Happy Anniversary!

We’re so glad that you chose to spend such a great milestone with us and thank you very much for the great review.

Next time you come to New York, please let us know and we’ll be sure to show you another great time.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My stay at Thompson LES was just perfect. The service was flawless, the room very spacious and clean and all this, in a great location. The atmoshere at all times is very welcoming and the staff always at our service. The concierge advice was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our team here is so glad you had a great time.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A very hip hotel located just East of Bowery and Soho.
We had decided to venture outside Soho and found this very modern hotel at what is a very reasonable price for NYC. The room, although smallish, did not feel cramped and was well equipped with (nearly everything - missed ironing board) that we would nned. The queen size bed was comfortable, and the view of the dynamic area was great from the 16th floor. All the personnel from the doorman, through the front desk, room maids, etc were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review! We’re so glad we were able to make your experience a memorable one.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Loses two stars for atrociously slow internet service the entire week I was here. Same wired and wireless. Four and Five star hotels that charge $300/nt but skimp on paying for a wide internet pipe to come into their hotel need to be held accountable. I'm here for pleasure, but I have business to attend to, too .. The fact that I am having to do it on my smartphone using cellular data is pathetic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Mr. Grunnah,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback online. I am sorry that you are experiencing trouble with your Internet connection. It is rare that we receive this feedback, so we believe it to be an isolated occurrence. Since many factors can contribute to the speed of a connection, our team would need to troubleshoot directly on your computer. Additionally, I have checked your account and you may rest assured knowing that you are not being charged for Internet access.

We are very sorry that you are experiencing trouble and we hope that you will consider us again when your travel plans bring you back to the Lower East Side.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#129 Family Hotel in New York City
#192 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon's famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side start at 325 sq. Ft. With many being 550 sq. Ft. Going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. Ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Tablet Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.