We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Apple's Greatest Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Big Apple's Greatest Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After having lived in NY for 12 years, I'm still not used to staying in hotels when I return to town. I was back for a work conference and unfortunately had to stay in Times Square. I decided to stay a few extra nights and picked the Thompson LES for a few reasons. #1. The location is really where you want to be. If you want to be close to restaurants, bars, lounges, this is the area. #2. The hotel itself. The website really doesn't do it justice - the rooms and hotel are spectacular - new, modern and top quality. #3. I thought it was a good sign that the manager responds to both positive and negative feedback on trip advisor. Surely a sign that they care about there customers. Well, I was not wrong. Upon check in, the staff was super friendly and courteous! Also, when I bemoaned my experience in times square, the manager was kind enough to upgrade me to a suite. I travel to back to NY frequently and have found me hotel of choice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
What a great review!

Thank you so much for taking the time and for your kind words. Our team really does care a lot about delivering an amazing experience and creating wonderful memories. It’s great to hear we were able to do so for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    202
    82
    42
    31
See reviews for
93
236
79
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The day before my arrival, I was able to upgrade to a king room, and upon arrival they gave me a corner king with fabulous views of New York City both uptown and downtown. The room was spacious and modern with a high ceiling, and balcony over Allen St. The staff were numerous and helpful, as well as immediately responsive to any requests - just as you would expect a hotel at this level to be.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! Please let us know when you’ll be returning, as we would love to set you up for another wonderful experience.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Booked a queen sized room using the hotel's website. I reached out to the hotel directly to explain it was a special occasion, (22 year anniversary), and I was upgraded to a king room on a high floor with a stellar view.

Check in was smooth and efficient.

The hotel's doormen are friendly, always smiling and they greet you - making eye contact.

Housekeeping is top notch. Loved the turn down service every night, complete with a fresh bucket of ice and chocolates on the pillows!

When staying on the LES, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Happy Anniversary!

We’re so glad that you chose to spend such a great milestone with us and thank you very much for the great review.

Next time you come to New York, please let us know and we’ll be sure to show you another great time.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

My stay at Thompson LES was just perfect. The service was flawless, the room very spacious and clean and all this, in a great location. The atmoshere at all times is very welcoming and the staff always at our service. The concierge advice was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our team here is so glad you had a great time.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A very hip hotel located just East of Bowery and Soho.
We had decided to venture outside Soho and found this very modern hotel at what is a very reasonable price for NYC. The room, although smallish, did not feel cramped and was well equipped with (nearly everything - missed ironing board) that we would nned. The queen size bed was comfortable, and the view of the dynamic area was great from the 16th floor. All the personnel from the doorman, through the front desk, room maids, etc were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review! We’re so glad we were able to make your experience a memorable one.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Loses two stars for atrociously slow internet service the entire week I was here. Same wired and wireless. Four and Five star hotels that charge $300/nt but skimp on paying for a wide internet pipe to come into their hotel need to be held accountable. I'm here for pleasure, but I have business to attend to, too .. The fact that I am having to do it on my smartphone using cellular data is pathetic.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Mr. Grunnah,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback online. I am sorry that you are experiencing trouble with your Internet connection. It is rare that we receive this feedback, so we believe it to be an isolated occurrence. Since many factors can contribute to the speed of a connection, our team would need to troubleshoot directly on your computer. Additionally, I have checked your account and you may rest assured knowing that you are not being charged for Internet access.

We are very sorry that you are experiencing trouble and we hope that you will consider us again when your travel plans bring you back to the Lower East Side.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in February and had a wonderful time at the Thompson LES. Its incredibly central and so much is walkable from here. i would 100% disagree with any review that says the hotel is noisey. I stayed on the 8th floor (apparently the bar/club is on the 7th) and i didnt hear anything for the entire time. Nor did i hear anything from the restaurant. The hotel never felt busy or crowded and was always spotlessly clean with very friendly staff. I asked for a late check out and it was obliged, we also arrived early and our room wasnt ready but another one was found straight away as we were keen to get in after a long flight. Everything about the room (a junior studio suite) was perfect - great shower, great bed and lighting and fab TV plus great views. Best hotel ive stayed in in NYC.

Room Tip: Room 813 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review!

We’re so glad we were able to make your experience a memorable one. Above Allen is located on the 7th floor of the hotel, so we do recommend that if you are looking to retire for the evening early on Friday or Saturday, you just let us know in advance, and we’ll make sure we get you a room in a quiet area.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Green Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#87 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#137 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.