We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Important” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #106 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Birmingham, Michigan
1 review
“Feeling Important”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As a life-long New Yorker - until 2 years ago - I never really stayed in NYC hotels.
Ive been to plenty hotel bars, but never the rooms ;)

However, now that I moved out and come back for work - I finally get to see what I was missing.

The Thompson LES was all - class. Rooms weren't big - but they were sleek, modern and chic. I was definitely digging it.

Plus Blue Ribbon Sushi was in the building. Seriously.
They even honored the "buy-back" which blew my mind.

Now that I come back to NYC for work - there's no where else I'm going to stay. Love this hotel .

Room Tip: Allen Street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. We’re all so glad that you enjoyed your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    176
    76
    38
    29
See reviews for
82
216
75
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Booked quickly for a spontaneous getaway and we had a great time. While the hotel was really cool with mod decor, even with kids, it was a good find! Chinatown, Little Italy and Soho walking distance. Cute little restaurants too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel.

The Lower East Side really is a great area of the city with upscale boutiques and trendy dining establishments along Clinton Street's restaurant row, and our hotel is right in the heart of it. Plus, with us being located directly across the street from the 2nd Avenue stop on the F line and along the M15 bus route, all of Manhattan is easily accessible for our guests.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for a night in February with some friends for a concert. The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. We reserved two rooms and they were able to put us on the same floor. One of the rooms was not ready when we arrived and to compensate they send up a bottle of champagne....such a nice gesture! The rooms were modern, clean and comfortable. We also had a very nice view of the city. Overall we had a wonderful stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. Sounds like you really had a great time!

Our entire team here really strives to provide each guest with a flawless experience and when mistakes happen, we always work quickly to resolve them, and I’m glad to see that your issue was no exception.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to this Hotel with some friends for the weekend and had a great time.The front desk was very helpful and we got some great dining tips in the area from Joe who was also a great helping us navigate around the city. Everybody who worked there were very pleasant and friendly making it a very comfortable stay. When i return i will defiantly be staying here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you had an amazing time!

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Helpful and polite staff (bellboys, cleaning crew, concierge, front desk etc).
The room was pretty great. Well furnished, good size considering other hotels in New York. Great View. At first, when reading the other reviews at trip advisor I was worried regarding noises at night. I simply asked for a room for from the bar. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

One of the benefits of experiencing the Thompson LES hotel is definitely the room size. With rooms starting at 325 sq. ft, and many at a generous 550 sq. ft., you will always have room to spread out and enjoy the time you spend inside your room, as well as outside in the city.

Requests are always welcome and encouraged. If there is something important to you, like being in a quiet area of the hotel, please do not hesitate to reach out to us in advance. The more we know about you, the more prepared we will be to exceed all your expectations.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed at the Thompson LES in February 2013 for 2 nights. On check-in, the front desk staff was extremely friendly and helpful. My room was gorgeous and very comfortable and quite large for the price by NYC standards. The staff was friendly throughout my stay. This is a great location in the LES. Only a few blocks from Starbucks, the Tenement Museum and Clinton Street Bakery. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Great review! Thank you very much for sharing.

In addition to the great sights you mentioned, we are also located right across the street from the 2nd Avenue Subway Station on the F line and along the M15 bus service line making access to anywhere in the city very easy.

See you again soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Staff was very on point, helpful, and happy. Casual yet classy in a good way. Enjoyed every aspect of my stay there, and will definitely return to another Thompson property in the future. Check their facebook/social media channels for special perks & rates!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Excellent tip! We frequently post special offers to our Facebook and Twitter pages. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook, so you won’t miss out.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon’s famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) start at 325 sq. ft. with many being 550 sq. ft. going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.