We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thompson LES September stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albany, New York
1 review
“Thompson LES September stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Thompson LES in September for my birthday. It was absolutely perfect. There was a better room than the one I had booked so they offered me a great deal and I took it. It was a corner room, which had a breathtaking view of the city, a view of the pool and some privacy. I went in the pool the next day, which is just an amazing gem to have in the middle of NYC. The staff was so helpful and friendly, it was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had. We hung out at the hotel until we went on a booze cruise out of the South Street Seaport, came back and wound down on the balcony as we looked at the night skyline. Bed was really comfy and the room was very well-kept. There's no place I'd rather have been with my friends to celebrate my 25th birthday. I'll be returning in a few weeks to stay for a night for a concert at Terminal 5 and I can't wait. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    224
    91
    44
    33
See reviews for
104
261
87
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and it was an excellent choice. Friendly and helpful staff! Wonderful view of the LES, the rooms were very elegant and comfortable. we'll be staying here each time we come to the city from now on!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very modern, clean and comfortable room with modern bathroom. Separate shower, toilet and wash areas make it convenient. Fantastic views. The restaurant has excellent food and very good service. Good location in Manhattan and easy access to Chinatown, Little Italy and Lower East Side location. Only negative was the daily $15 fee for internet. It's one of the few places still charging fees for internet.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so it is the type of hotel that you want to be out on the town. Best views are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful experience.

We do offer packages throughout the year that include internet access, so please reach out to us directly for your next reservation, and we’ll let you know if it’s available.

See you soon.

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff exceeded expectations: we had checked into our room but there was an issue, so within minutes Justine placed us in another room (suite upgrade) and made sure all our needs were met. This doesn't happen all the time and it was greatly appreciated. Valets were very helpful, friendly as were the bartenders and waitstaff. Room was large, very cool, and had a great view of lower Manhattan. I look forward very much to coming back and staying at the Thompson LES. Robert

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
That’s so great to hear! Justine is certainly one of our best, and we’re glad she was able to create a wonderful experience for you. We take all concerns from our guests seriously and anytime we learn that something isn’t perfect, we will do whatever it takes to make things right and ensure that our guests do leave here with great memories.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Thompson LES is an excellent hotel for exploring the Lower East Side. The rooms are modern and comfortable, and the staff is friendly. The hotel is close to amazing bars, restaurants, and shopping. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I found Thompson LES to be comparable to other boutique hotels I have tried in most respects, with the notable exception of their service, which greatly exceeded my other experiences.

In particular, our reservation was complicated as we had three rooms booked using booking.com, we changed the names under which the rooms were booked, we cancelled a room, we arrived at different times so the confirming credit cards were not always from the people who were staying the room, etc. This created a few billing issues a the end which I do not attribute to being the fault of Thompson, more to do with the complexity of the transaction(s). They remained professional, cordial and helpful at ALL TIMES during the discussions that I had with various staff, in particular Sebastian at the front desk, with whom I spoke numerous times. In fact, they were helpful on premise, by email and by phone. They also tried to make sure we understood what the next steps were and made recommendations for follow-ups that were beyond normal service requirements. They never made us feel as though we were being unreasonable and apologised numerous times for any adjustments that needed to be made. In other hotels, I could imagine a somewhat less courteous approach would prevail.

In terms of the rooms, etc., they were reasonably sized and decorated for an upscale boutique hotel. The bar service was also excellent.

The gym was slightly cramped, but functional and did not feel so much as if it were in a basement (which it is).

Hats off and a big thank you to them!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, their deluxe double rooms are a more comfortable size. We slept four or five t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We certainly love a challenge here so please never worry about your reservations being to complex. Just as Sebastian and the team did, we will always take as much time as needed with each guest personally to ensure that everything is perfect.

Excellent tip on our double deluxe rooms. With two queen-sized beds, floor to ceiling windows and 400 square feet of living space, they are a great option for families and groups.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thompson LES is in a great little spot which has a very neighbourhood type feel to it. A number of Manhattan's coolest locale's are within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and comfortable if a little on the dark side. Staff are really friendly and helpful ... particularly in the hotels' bar Above Allen which has 2 nice terraces with some impressive views of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Green Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#188 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.