We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #86 of 446 hotels in New York City
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very modern, clean and comfortable room with modern bathroom. Separate shower, toilet and wash areas make it convenient. Fantastic views. The restaurant has excellent food and very good service. Good location in Manhattan and easy access to Chinatown, Little Italy and Lower East Side location. Only negative was the daily $15 fee for internet. It's one of the few places still charging fees for internet.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so it is the type of hotel that you want to be out on the town. Best views are roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing. It’s great to hear you had a wonderful experience.

We do offer packages throughout the year that include internet access, so please reach out to us directly for your next reservation, and we’ll let you know if it’s available.

See you soon.

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    155
    73
    36
    26
See reviews for
73
194
72
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff exceeded expectations: we had checked into our room but there was an issue, so within minutes Justine placed us in another room (suite upgrade) and made sure all our needs were met. This doesn't happen all the time and it was greatly appreciated. Valets were very helpful, friendly as were the bartenders and waitstaff. Room was large, very cool, and had a great view of lower Manhattan. I look forward very much to coming back and staying at the Thompson LES. Robert

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
That’s so great to hear! Justine is certainly one of our best, and we’re glad she was able to create a wonderful experience for you. We take all concerns from our guests seriously and anytime we learn that something isn’t perfect, we will do whatever it takes to make things right and ensure that our guests do leave here with great memories.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Thompson LES is an excellent hotel for exploring the Lower East Side. The rooms are modern and comfortable, and the staff is friendly. The hotel is close to amazing bars, restaurants, and shopping. We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I found Thompson LES to be comparable to other boutique hotels I have tried in most respects, with the notable exception of their service, which greatly exceeded my other experiences.

In particular, our reservation was complicated as we had three rooms booked using booking.com, we changed the names under which the rooms were booked, we cancelled a room, we arrived at different times so the confirming credit cards were not always from the people who were staying the room, etc. This created a few billing issues a the end which I do not attribute to being the fault of Thompson, more to do with the complexity of the transaction(s). They remained professional, cordial and helpful at ALL TIMES during the discussions that I had with various staff, in particular Sebastian at the front desk, with whom I spoke numerous times. In fact, they were helpful on premise, by email and by phone. They also tried to make sure we understood what the next steps were and made recommendations for follow-ups that were beyond normal service requirements. They never made us feel as though we were being unreasonable and apologised numerous times for any adjustments that needed to be made. In other hotels, I could imagine a somewhat less courteous approach would prevail.

In terms of the rooms, etc., they were reasonably sized and decorated for an upscale boutique hotel. The bar service was also excellent.

The gym was slightly cramped, but functional and did not feel so much as if it were in a basement (which it is).

Hats off and a big thank you to them!

Room Tip: If you can afford it, their deluxe double rooms are a more comfortable size. We slept four or five t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We certainly love a challenge here so please never worry about your reservations being to complex. Just as Sebastian and the team did, we will always take as much time as needed with each guest personally to ensure that everything is perfect.

Excellent tip on our double deluxe rooms. With two queen-sized beds, floor to ceiling windows and 400 square feet of living space, they are a great option for families and groups.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Thompson LES is in a great little spot which has a very neighbourhood type feel to it. A number of Manhattan's coolest locale's are within walking distance. Rooms are spacious and comfortable if a little on the dark side. Staff are really friendly and helpful ... particularly in the hotels' bar Above Allen which has 2 nice terraces with some impressive views of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Thompson LES hotel for a wedding weekend (wedding took place a couple of blocks away at the Angel Orensanz Foundation venue). We could not have afforded to stay here without the discount rate that the bride was able to get for her bridal party, so we feel very lucky to be able to write this review because it was fantastic! We love the LES neighborhood to begin with (Katz Deli right around the corner), and this was comfortable and trendy hotel that made us feel very special. The room service was spot on and also very reasonably priced. The fitness center felt like a spa and had high quality treadmills and weights. We also enjoyed the bar on the 7th floor as well as the sushi restaurant. We really took advantage of everything this hotel had to offer, and we were pleased with it all. The room was super trendy yet spacious with an amazing view and big digital art above the bed that you could change with a remote.

Room Tip: I heard that other wedding guests who stayed on the lower floors (especially the 6th floor) found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Great, detailed review! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with everyone. Excellent tip about the lower floor rooms, as well. Above Allen, one of the most popular bars in the lower east side, is located on the 7th floor of our hotel, so it’s a great idea to request a room away from that area should you have plans on retiring early in the evening on the weekends.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All the best,

Joe
Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I travel on business to New York often. Tried many hotels. The Thompson LES is by far my favorite. The location is great. More of a locals neighborhood. Not touristy. The hotel is clean, modern and cool. Also, the Blue Ribbon sushi restaurant is amazing! The staff are always more than helpful and friendly. Definitely a gem in the lower east side!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
jkavanagh@thompsonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel
Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in New York City
#128 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon’s famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) start at 325 sq. ft. with many being 550 sq. ft. going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Otel, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.