We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
LA
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I recently stayed here for a couple of business trips to NY and had a wonderful experience. Service was great and on my second visit, I was upgraded to a great suit with an unobstructed view of the city.

Room Tip: corner rooms with balconies have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the review! Repeat guests are very important to us and any time we have the ability to do a little something extra, like provide an upgrade, we certainly will.

We all hope to see you back again soon.

Best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    228
    94
    45
    33
See reviews for
108
270
87
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Hi....I flew in from Sydney to visit my daughter for Thanksgiving. It was an excellent Hotel to spend five nights. The service and friendliness of the staff were very much appreciated. My room was extremely comfortable. The only thing I missed was tea/coffee making facility as I had a little jet lag and therefore needed to rely on room service.
I would certainly stay at the Thompson LES again.

Room Tip: I was on one of the higher floors and found it to be nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the Thanksgiving holiday with us last month. Next time your plans bring you this way, please let us know as we would love to set up a coffee maker in advance for you.

See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Memo to all you biz boys and girls: you can stay on the Lower East Side and be at Rock Ctr in 15 mins courtesy of my beloved F train. I mention this because i could have thrown a well-aimed paper airplane from the balcony of my suite at the Thompson LES into the stairwell of the 2d Ave station. The M15 stops put front as well and can whisk you to Wall Street in a jif, too. MEANWHILE, when you aren't working, you can enjoy one of the most exquisitely and unpredictably delightful areas of the city. On a recent stay, I enjoyed the following *all* within strolling distance: splendid Japanese vegan cuisine (Kajitsu: go!), an art film, a Chinese funeral parade with two brass bands, a bespoke crepe experience, Pez Collector Set shopping at Economy Candy, and trying on hats made on site by a lovely young woman who could probably also lecture on Rimbaud. My point is: this hotel is perfectly nice (no snobby/hip attitude and many languages spoken) and you should try it because the LES is heaven and all other stuff you already know is a few stops away.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
What a great review! We're so glad you enjoyed our hotel along with this great neighborhood. We really are close to it all.

See you again soon!

Best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although the location is a bit grimy and off the beaten path I Like this hotel a lot. I have stayed at this hotel several times. Rooms are clean, spacious and well designed. Friendly staff, thorough housekeeping and prompt room service are key. I would recommend this hotel to those searching in downtown Manhattan. It's a nice, friendly, clean, comfortable, hip hotel and location.

Room Tip: The corner suites are large with nice views. The Studio King suites are a nice size and good deal b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your Thompson LES experience. See you again soon!

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Starting with Sebastien the amazing manager to his kind and welcoming crew this hotel is fun and in an really cool neighborhood. Be aware that weekends it has a nightclub on one of the floors so stay clear of these floors. I stayed on the 10 th for a week and slept like a baby!
Room service is a bit expensive but they are very generous with amenities by REN and treats that keep on coming.
It has a great pool in the summers but I'm the winter is closed. I know this because it is my second stay. I know there will be a third!
Big thanks to the staff for making my week in NYC amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Mr. Stanley,

Thank you very much for the great review! Especially the kind words about Sebastian. He is certainly one of our best, and I know he will be thrilled to hear he helped make your experience with us a memorable one.

See you soon!

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at the Thompson LES for a night while in town for business. Overall, I thought the hotel was very nice. The room was clean (I appreciate hardwood floors) and well appointed and the location was pretty good too if you're planning on being downtown. The best part of my experience was the service. Right when I arrived, I was greeted warmly outside the hotel by one of the staff. He offered to take my bag (which is always nice even though it was unnecessary), waited while I checked in, and radioed someone else to hold the elevator for me as I walked from the desk to the elevator banks. When I came back downstairs to leave for my meeting, the same man was in the lobby and he ran out to hail a cab for me. That's what I call service!!! The rest of the staff was just as warm and friendly and even though I was there for less than 24 hours, I certainly appreciated the hospitality. I'll definitely give the hotel another try during my next visit.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to avoid the street noise and construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Wow, what a great review!

Everyone here was so excited to read your review. We’re all really passionate about creating wonderful experiences and memories and it is so nice to see we were able to do so for you.

We all hope you had a safe trip home, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Joe

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

good location, trendy looking bar area. Downsides , the rooms are starting to look tatty.The corridors look like those in a gruby hostel. The room i was in had issues with pipes and i was up all night.

There is a lot of design over substance.

The reception staff were frankly rude.Wont be staying here again. For 500 us a night i can do better.

Room Tip: i didnt have a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeKavanagh, Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hello, DogDuckCow-

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We always welcome constructive criticism and yours is no exception. I’m very sorry that our design wasn’t completely to your liking. We do tend to receive a good number of positive comments regarding our property, and I’m sure the design of our hallways and rooms will be well received by most travelers.

Our reception staff does pride themselves on being one of the most welcoming and friendly in the city with them often having fun “competitions” to see who can get the most positive comments from our guests, so I’m very sorry to see that we missed on exceeding your expectations. Whatever happened was surely a one-off, and I am confident that, given a second opportunity, you would have a wonderful experience at Thompson LES.

We believe that no guest should leave here unsatisfied, so I will be reaching out to you via a private message to see if I can assist you further.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

All the best,

Joe Kavanagh
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#99 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.