We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor internet service and clothing stolen” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #124 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor internet service and clothing stolen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

at this trendy hotel in the East village good luck if you want to download from the internet. They don't allow it. Their Internet service wont even let you on the iTunes Store in case you want to buy music their broadband width can't handle it.
The elevators take for ever to come and God help you is they are having a party on the 2nd floor, they shut off one of the elevators for the paying guests.
To cap this stay i had a pair of Diesel Jeans stolen and manager gave me the usual "you must have not packed them"
I'd never stay there again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    246
    97
    46
    33
See reviews for
119
297
88
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hmmm. Used to be very chic, but losing out on a few maintenance issues. Feels cold in terms of design, and in terms of draughtiness. Staff are not super-friendly. My jacket I put in for dry-cleaning was ruined, and there was not effort to resolve the problem- emails went unanswered. I wouldn't stay here again simply because the Rivington is nearby and has more guest-friendly benefits. The James in Soho is a lot more welcoming, friendly, warm and luxurious than this hotel and is in a similar price range.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights for our first trip to NYC and I would definitely stay here again. the location is good if you don't mind walking (about 40 mins to time square or 10 minute taxi ride) but its a nice walk through the city.
The hotel room was really nice, it had floor to ceiling windows and you can see the financial district and the empire state building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

its nice to stay on the lower east side. the closeness to great restaurants and subway is smashing! great rooms I've stayed here twice, with comfortable bed. Clean and perfect shower. I of course like to stay high in NY to have view of the city and this is the best. Swimmingpool ok. I loved the fitnessroom.! It can be noicy since the rooms are not very well isolated but it mostly depends on the neighbours party mood or not!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As a frequent traveler and as an adult I stayed over the years in many NYC hotels. I the last 3 years years I reserve regularly at the Thompson LES. Why? Because I love the unique positive energy that I find in this hotel. It is in the lobby. It is in the rooms. It is in the comfortable bed. I get it from the professional and helpful young staff. The rooms are always c l e a n! I always feel great there. The location is just great to a person like me who looks for the best of the young energetic NYC. So many great restaurants all over the place. A truly great value!

Room Tip: Great rooms at the 10th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about the location, but the Lower East Side is probably the most happening area in New York right now.
The hotel is gorgeously designed, excellent service, and the room (Studio Suite) was huge!
I loved their new restaurant, Blue Ribbon. Next time I will come in the summer so I can enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has to be one of the best - if not the best - boutique hotel in Manhattan. Our studio king room was HUGE. It was also well appointed and beautifully designed. It was the nicest accommodations we have enjoyed in New York: great style, great service and a wonderful neighborhood. The Lower East Side is Manhattan's most lively and exciting district. The Thompson LES is located directly across the street from a subway station and several neighborhoods - The Bowery, Soho, NoLita, the East Village and Chinatown - are within easy walking distance. There is so much to see and do in the immediate neighborhood - restaurants, clubs and stores - and the streets are thronged with people at all hours of the day. You can't go wrong with the Thompson LES.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#181 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#69 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#148 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#84 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,259 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#185 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
#59 Business Hotel in New York City
#92 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.