We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
SIXTY LES
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast for Two
Ranked #126 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hmmm. Used to be very chic, but losing out on a few maintenance issues. Feels cold in terms of design, and in terms of draughtiness. Staff are not super-friendly. My jacket I put in for dry-cleaning was ruined, and there was not effort to resolve the problem- emails went unanswered. I wouldn't stay here again simply because the Rivington is nearby and has more guest-friendly benefits. The James in Soho is a lot more welcoming, friendly, warm and luxurious than this hotel and is in a similar price range.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights for our first trip to NYC and I would definitely stay here again. the location is good if you don't mind walking (about 40 mins to time square or 10 minute taxi ride) but its a nice walk through the city.
The hotel room was really nice, it had floor to ceiling windows and you can see the financial district and the empire state building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

its nice to stay on the lower east side. the closeness to great restaurants and subway is smashing! great rooms I've stayed here twice, with comfortable bed. Clean and perfect shower. I of course like to stay high in NY to have view of the city and this is the best. Swimmingpool ok. I loved the fitnessroom.! It can be noicy since the rooms are not very well isolated but it mostly depends on the neighbours party mood or not!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reselotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As a frequent traveler and as an adult I stayed over the years in many NYC hotels. I the last 3 years years I reserve regularly at the Thompson LES. Why? Because I love the unique positive energy that I find in this hotel. It is in the lobby. It is in the rooms. It is in the comfortable bed. I get it from the professional and helpful young staff. The rooms are always c l e a n! I always feel great there. The location is just great to a person like me who looks for the best of the young energetic NYC. So many great restaurants all over the place. A truly great value!

Room Tip: Great rooms at the 10th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Menachem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about the location, but the Lower East Side is probably the most happening area in New York right now.
The hotel is gorgeously designed, excellent service, and the room (Studio Suite) was huge!
I loved their new restaurant, Blue Ribbon. Next time I will come in the summer so I can enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has to be one of the best - if not the best - boutique hotel in Manhattan. Our studio king room was HUGE. It was also well appointed and beautifully designed. It was the nicest accommodations we have enjoyed in New York: great style, great service and a wonderful neighborhood. The Lower East Side is Manhattan's most lively and exciting district. The Thompson LES is located directly across the street from a subway station and several neighborhoods - The Bowery, Soho, NoLita, the East Village and Chinatown - are within easy walking distance. There is so much to see and do in the immediate neighborhood - restaurants, clubs and stores - and the streets are thronged with people at all hours of the day. You can't go wrong with the Thompson LES.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwrstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Overall
Highly recommend this hotel for its location and room size -- hotel is expensive in general but moderately-priced as compared to other NYC hotels!

Hotel room
Reasonably-sized hotel room, especially for NYC. Four of us stayed in a regular guest room with a king-sized bed and a pull-out couch, and I never felt like we were stepping all over each other to get from one side of the room to another. The king-sized bed was really hard, so I personally found it hard to get a good night's sleep. The bathroom didn't offer tons of privacy because the shower was made of frosted glass. So, you can see the outline of the person in the shower. The bathroom door also slides closed and is frosted glass, so you can see in from the side. It's ok, if you're staying with friends. Otherwise, the shower is huge and has a great rain shower.

Hotel Location
This hotel is in an awesome location on the Lower East side, right near cute boutiques, great restaurants, and some touristy spots (e.g., Russ and Daughters, Katz deli).

Hotel Service
The hotel service was impeccable. The bellhops are very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to store our luggage after check out, until we were ready to head to the airport or train station. The hotel was extremely helpful with restaurant and nightlife recommendations. They recommended some really cool, below the radar spots.

Hotel Amenities
A perk of the hotel is that it has a roof-top bar and all hotel guests are guaranteed entrance without cover charge. When we went (Sat. night around 11pm), it already was packed, and oddly, the demographics heavily skewed male. It was a very well-heeled and trendy crowd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beebechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Hotel on Rivington
Hotel on Rivington
#103 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,038 reviews
Lower East Side
The Ludlow New York City
The Ludlow New York City
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New York
Hotel Indigo Lower East Side New...
#13 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#184 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Green Hotel in New York City
#58 Business Hotel in New York City
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#127 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SIXTY LES 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the epicenter of downtown Manhattan's vibrant New Renaissance in cuisine, galleries, live music clubs, and nightlife spots, the fun-defining SIXTY LES evokes the youthful spirit of its all-hours neighborhood-an indie-vibed district on display from nearly every Jim Walrod-curated suite's floor-to-ceiling windows. Andy Warhol's visage looks up from the scene-and-be-seen swimming pool's bottom, while gritty images by iconic photographer Lee Friedlander illuminate bedroom headboards. Step out into the street life and walk directly into the world-recognized New Museum or countless gastronaut destination spots. But guests need go no further than the vibrant award-winning Blue Ribbon Sushi Izakaya tavern and bar for Japanese cuisine and stellar cocktails, courtesy of foodie deities the Bromberg brothers. SIXTY LES is part of SIXTY Hotels, a new, innovative of luxury inns located in New York, Los Angeles, and debuting in Miami soon-ish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing