We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone downhill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #111 of 451 hotels in New York City
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Hmmm. Used to be very chic, but losing out on a few maintenance issues. Feels cold in terms of design, and in terms of draughtiness. Staff are not super-friendly. My jacket I put in for dry-cleaning was ruined, and there was not effort to resolve the problem- emails went unanswered. I wouldn't stay here again simply because the Rivington is nearby and has more guest-friendly benefits. The James in Soho is a lot more welcoming, friendly, warm and luxurious than this hotel and is in a similar price range.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    344
    177
    77
    39
    29
See reviews for
84
219
76
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights for our first trip to NYC and I would definitely stay here again. the location is good if you don't mind walking (about 40 mins to time square or 10 minute taxi ride) but its a nice walk through the city.
The hotel room was really nice, it had floor to ceiling windows and you can see the financial district and the empire state building.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

its nice to stay on the lower east side. the closeness to great restaurants and subway is smashing! great rooms I've stayed here twice, with comfortable bed. Clean and perfect shower. I of course like to stay high in NY to have view of the city and this is the best. Swimmingpool ok. I loved the fitnessroom.! It can be noicy since the rooms are not very well isolated but it mostly depends on the neighbours party mood or not!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As a frequent traveler and as an adult I stayed over the years in many NYC hotels. I the last 3 years years I reserve regularly at the Thompson LES. Why? Because I love the unique positive energy that I find in this hotel. It is in the lobby. It is in the rooms. It is in the comfortable bed. I get it from the professional and helpful young staff. The rooms are always c l e a n! I always feel great there. The location is just great to a person like me who looks for the best of the young energetic NYC. So many great restaurants all over the place. A truly great value!

Room Tip: Great rooms at the 10th floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was a bit worried about the location, but the Lower East Side is probably the most happening area in New York right now.
The hotel is gorgeously designed, excellent service, and the room (Studio Suite) was huge!
I loved their new restaurant, Blue Ribbon. Next time I will come in the summer so I can enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This has to be one of the best - if not the best - boutique hotel in Manhattan. Our studio king room was HUGE. It was also well appointed and beautifully designed. It was the nicest accommodations we have enjoyed in New York: great style, great service and a wonderful neighborhood. The Lower East Side is Manhattan's most lively and exciting district. The Thompson LES is located directly across the street from a subway station and several neighborhoods - The Bowery, Soho, NoLita, the East Village and Chinatown - are within easy walking distance. There is so much to see and do in the immediate neighborhood - restaurants, clubs and stores - and the streets are thronged with people at all hours of the day. You can't go wrong with the Thompson LES.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Overall
Highly recommend this hotel for its location and room size -- hotel is expensive in general but moderately-priced as compared to other NYC hotels!

Hotel room
Reasonably-sized hotel room, especially for NYC. Four of us stayed in a regular guest room with a king-sized bed and a pull-out couch, and I never felt like we were stepping all over each other to get from one side of the room to another. The king-sized bed was really hard, so I personally found it hard to get a good night's sleep. The bathroom didn't offer tons of privacy because the shower was made of frosted glass. So, you can see the outline of the person in the shower. The bathroom door also slides closed and is frosted glass, so you can see in from the side. It's ok, if you're staying with friends. Otherwise, the shower is huge and has a great rain shower.

Hotel Location
This hotel is in an awesome location on the Lower East side, right near cute boutiques, great restaurants, and some touristy spots (e.g., Russ and Daughters, Katz deli).

Hotel Service
The hotel service was impeccable. The bellhops are very friendly and accommodating. They allowed us to store our luggage after check out, until we were ready to head to the airport or train station. The hotel was extremely helpful with restaurant and nightlife recommendations. They recommended some really cool, below the radar spots.

Hotel Amenities
A perk of the hotel is that it has a roof-top bar and all hotel guests are guaranteed entrance without cover charge. When we went (Sat. night around 11pm), it already was packed, and oddly, the demographics heavily skewed male. It was a very well-heeled and trendy crowd.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#125 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon's famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side start at 325 sq. Ft. With many being 550 sq. Ft. Going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. Ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Loews Hotels, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.