We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #109 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tiny room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great location but this is no luxury boutique hotel. Service at the front desk is surly and disinterested. Very grubby communal areas in particular the lounge space above reception and a room so small there was only space for one bedside table as the other side of the bed was right up to the window. We had cupboard the width of a coat hanger that was described as a wardrobe, you can only bring soft luggage as there is nowhere to put a hard suitcase once its unpacked. On the up side the cleanliness of the rooms is good unlike the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    176
    76
    38
    29
See reviews for
82
217
75
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My first impression was terrible! The front desk didn't have my reservation because the person who enters that information had me in for July 30th, then they didn't realize I was all ready charged for the room so the front desk representative tried to charge me again at a higher rate, then because I'm here on business I used my corporate card and reached my max spending the card was declined. But instead of them discreetly telling me this she announced it to the lobby more than twice. By this time I was not of frazzled but now embarrassed. Once the manager came over she realized that the rep was entering the card incorrectly. And the mistakes didn't stop there. They lost my luggage, gave me bad directions, and when my client arrived for our meeting and asked to be connected to my room they gave her the wrong room number. While the location is nice, the staff when checking in on Saturday is mediocre at best. I will never stay here again, and definitely would NOT reccomend this place at ALL!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

LES is our our new go to stay in NYC from here on in. Everything perfect. Location, staff service, room service, beds and on and on!
They were not just helpful to us in so many ways but were also so accommodating to clients of ours who were not staying at their hotel and stored their music equipment for the night.
Fantastic staff!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Thompson LES is Located in a very trendy neighborhood. However, there are too many noises in the room (parties, cars, etc.) and it's very small even for NYC standard (more similar to Paris). If you have problem sleeping with light you will have a problem as well as the curtains doesn’t cover the entire window. Overall, you should ask yourself how much important is the location as you can get much better rooms in midtown at a lower price. As for me I will not go back to the Thompson LES

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at the Thompson LES in June for 5 nights.

If your under 40 and and don't mind things being a bit raw and urban then it is the perfect base for exploring New York and is a short walk or cab ride to some of the cities best cafe's, restaurants, shops, galleries and neighbourhoods.

Our room (a King Studio Suite) was very spacious by New York standards and was clean, very cool and modern. The Khiels bathroom products are great. The pool on level 3 is small but a nice touch and provided a welcome escape from the heat, the fast pace and a hangover.

Only two grumbles and both very minor and petty - the light switches are beyond confusing. Even by the time we checked out we still had no idea what did what. Also, the lifts are slow to arrive and and the rooms keys don't always work in them. That's really splitting hairs though. The hotel is great.

The thing that really sets the LES apart is the staff who are warm, efficient and all go out of their way to help. The porters - there is always one in the lobby - are enthusiastic, chatty and full of local info and willing to help. The real stand out member of staff though was one of the main Concierge girls, Shavali. Our Australian i-Phones were not allowing roaming but we did not need them. Shavali drew us maps, booked us restaurants, gave us advice on where to go and the local knowledge and, on the rare occasion she didn't know something, she found out and told us. Even emailing her friends of hers to help us find a particular hard to locate bar we wanted to visit.

Would definitely recommend the Thompson LES. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff here was more than helpful and very kind. My chief complaint was that the air conditioner in our room was broken so it was a constant 84 degrees. We had the electrician come up and he explained that we had to open the window for the a/c to kick on so we did and it never cooled down in our room. We loved the view on the 10th floor and the room amenities. We stayed in a suite and used the living room area quite a bit. It was a fabulous room but unfortunately for us it was very uncomfortable to stay in it. :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great Staff, great location, and the design orientation is modern without being annoying. Wifi prices are a bit high, but all around the price for what you get is fair. This said, there are some notable areas that could use attention, thus I would not call it a true high-end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#47 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon’s famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) start at 325 sq. ft. with many being 550 sq. ft. going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.