We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel in Lower East Side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SIXTY LES

Save Saved
You added SIXTY LES to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SIXTY LES
190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES) (Lower East Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Internet & Upgrade!
Ranked #106 of 449 hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel in Lower East Side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Got a great deal using the Hotel Tonight app. Really enjoyed the property - definitely is an ultra-modern hip hotel. If you only stay at Marriotts or Starwood hotels, you will likely not "get" this place. Likely a bit of a lifestyle shock.

Else, I highly recommend as the customer service was excellent and enjoyed the great location to walk to SoHo in minutes.

Definitely will be back my next time in the Big Apple.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Putt4Doe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our style and find our location to be convenient.

For future visits, you may contact us directly and I can assure you my team will offer you the best rate available while attending to all the details of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thompson LES in the near future and in the interim, please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,

Tania Getzova
General Manager
Thompson LES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    176
    76
    38
    29
See reviews for
82
216
75
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

So we had originally booked a 2 night stay at the thompson lower east sides, but due to unforeseen circumstances, the guests did not check out of the room so they were forced to send us over to Smyth. The way the front office staff handled us was incredible, they gave us money for a cab ride to Smyth, also tells us that we don't need to worry our luggage and just get on with our day, cause they will send it over to Thompson LES the next day. When we checked into Thompson after roaming around the city, our bags were already in our room and we were upgraded to a studio king suite. When we checked out, we only had to pay for a one night stay. Talk about customer service!

Pros: excellent customer service, beautiful view of sunrise, in the soho area - great for partying and shopping

Cons: the lighting is a little bit more on the dark side. wish there was more chairs for tanning by the pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend and the hotel is beautiful and the staff was very friendly. The perfect location for the LES. We had a room on the 12th floor with a huge wrap around balcony. the views of nyc are magnificent. The hotel is extremely clean also. We will def. stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor corner room- the balconies and views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Let me just say from inside and out the Thompson Les is "Perfect". I arrived during the night and was welcomed by the bellman who kindly took my bags without hesitation. Upon check-in I was greeted by the front desk and manager. Check-in process was informative and easy. The room was spacious and beautiful, especially after my room was service. Their bar/lounge was pretty good/loud as well, a bit slow on drink service but good nonetheless. I would defiantly stay here again and highly recommend to those who need astounding service and superb rooms.

Special thanks to Justyna, Miguel, and Michael!! Made my stay memorable!

(Always have 8 1/2 playing at the hotel, should I be expecting a change in movie next visit?)

Room Tip: Away from Above Allen on Friday and Saturday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear William E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We appreciated your comments and I have passed on your kind words to our team members. We continue to strive for excellence and certainly take great pride in the service that we provide to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thompson LES in the near future and in the interim, please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

Sincerely,

Tania Getzova
General Manager
Thompson LES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

Good location, close to soho & lower east side. Definitely aimed at younger crowd.

Room was good, floor to ceiling windows with great wires of lower east side.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Booked 2 rooms - king and king suite. Suite was fantastic, spacious, nice products- regular room was pretty tight but decent. Service was spotty, mostly related to front desk (30 mins to check in and also to check out!) and then valet gave us the wrong car...location is great- overall a positive impression...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tania G, General Manager at SIXTY LES, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Dear Lcsmd,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback as it enables us to establish and maintain the standards Thompson Hotels are most known for. I am so sorry to hear that the arrival and departure process were not swift and welcoming as expected. The issue has been addressed with my front office team and we will make sure that we have adequate staffing to provide personable service in a timely manner.

Dear Lcsmd, we hope that despite those shortcomings we will be able to restore your faith in our service and welcome you back at Thompson LES in the nearest future. Please feel free to contact me directly if I could be of any further assistance.

Sincerely,


Tania Getzova
General Manager
Thompson LES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

LIked everything about the Thompson LES. Do wish they had a coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SIXTY LES? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIXTY LES

Address: 190 Allen Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Formerly Thompson LES)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#162 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This wonderful New York hotel is located less than five minutes from the 2nd Avenue Lower East Side subway station.Featuring modern decor, an outdoor pool, 1,200 square foot fitness and renewal center along with Blue Ribbon’s famous Sushi Izakaya Japanese restaurant, the property is sure-to-please.The modern rooms at SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) start at 325 sq. ft. with many being 550 sq. ft. going up to their beautiful SIXTY Loft at 2,000 sq. ft giving all travelers plenty of room to spread out.All rooms feature floor-to-ceiling windows with black accents. They are equipped with a flat-screen TV and an iPod docking station. A minibar is provided and late-night In Room Dining is available. At Blue Ribbon, guests may enjoy sushi and other Japanese appetizers along with fresh signature dishes such as pork ribs, fried rice and a selection of roasted meats.Business center services are available through the concierge desk. The hotel has valet parking and complimentary coffee in the lobby each morning until 9:30AM for all guests.Above Allen, an exclusive terrace lounge for hotel guests and members only, is located on the 7th floor of the hotel.With the hotel being just a 15-minute walk to Little Italy, 20-minute walk to Greenwich Village and a short subway ride to Times Square, the SIXTY Lower East Side (formerly Thompson LES) is a wonderful option for anyone traveling to New York City.We look forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Loews Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your SIXTY LES reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Les New York City
Thompson Les Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIXTY LES, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.