We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omg don't bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added W New York to your Saves list
W New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #330 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Omg don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in a room smaller than my wardrobe!! There was nothing at all wonderful about the "Wonderful" room we stayed in at all. You could not believe the size of this room. We looked onto a brick wall. The check-in staff member was rude. No one helped us with our bags. Breakfast was actually very nice. Hated this part of New York and only stayed there because we were attending the tree lighting at Rockefeller Center. It cost over $700 it was a joke.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    867
    582
    343
    283
See reviews for
267
1,005
297
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

First of all, I have no bad comment to the staff or the service. Their concieges are very informative and very helpful. However, I have problem with their rooms. I've checked into other W and this reminds me so much of a Japenese hourly rate love hotel and the rooms are tiny. I will not go back as the value of the hotel is really not there. You can get a bigger room in other chain and with less money.

Room Tip: If hotel with hourly rate is your thing. Think that and remember they charge you by the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you want first class service at an affordable price in NYC, stay at the W New York. You will find the staff friendly and courteous, the location unbeatable, the room cozy and the bed very comfortable. Nick, the assistant manager went out of his way to accommodate me when he realized that the airline had lost my suitcase. He upgraded us to a better room and the staff checked with me every day to make sure I had what I needed. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed here a couple of times, and every time I do I say I will never stay here again. I guess its close to where I need to be in NYC and really not too expensive, but seriously this is a pretty poor hotel. Some thoughts:
- Get rid of the purple..that was cool maybe 10 years ago..
- Reduce the volume of the music in the elevators
- Update the rooms - They are cramped and pretty dated. Add more power sockets
- The bathrooms are a joke..very dated + very small
- Give the people who work here a reality check...you do not work at a night club, you work at a hotel..lighten up and stop trying to act like you are someone special who has access to some super cool night club.

Now for the good
- The bar is pretty convenient
- Nice location

Again, all the above are reasons that this place does not work for me, but every time I go there the hotel is packed, so I guess there is a market for this kind of place (single leisure travelers, young couples, people who are into purple and bright neon lights etc.)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location, good bar, functional gym, reasonably priced breakfast and pleasant staff. However, the room is small, bed hard and not very comfortable, noisy outside and some of the other guests were loud on our floor during the night. A coffee machine in the room would be a good addition but coffee can be bought in the lobby.

Room Tip: Get away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in New York for the weekend with my daughter to celebrate her 9th birthday and take her to the New York City Ballet's performance of the Nutcracker. I lived in New York in the past and have travelled extensively and therefore I feel I have enough experience to recognize and truly appreciate a great experience. From the maintenance personnel, concierge, room service and the front desk, everyone was very pleasant and helpful. The staff took it upon themselves to make sure my daughters birthday weekend was one to remember.

I look forward to my next visit to New York and staying at the W.

Room Tip: Let the front desk know your specific likes or needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Scosan,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We were honored to be a part of your daughter’s birthday celebrations, and WOW – I couldn’t be happier to learn about your great experience with us! Our goal is to provide our guests with an enjoyable visit from start to finish, and I’m delighted that my team helped make this an unforgettable weekend! I am looking forward to sharing your comments with them as a reminder of what we do best! You and your family are welcome at W New York anytime. Please reach out to me directly at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you need any assistance with future visits. Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Anna M.,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in a great location with walking distance to pretty much everywhere we needed to go. The room was small but didn't bother us at all, bathroom was lovely although shower tended to spray everywhere! Amenity kit was great. Cleaning staff were so friendly as were the doormen, always there to help with bags, hailing taxis, holding umbrellas, they were great!

The concierge too were absolutely brilliant, always had great places to suggest and booked us into all the restaurants, every suggestion was super!

The lobby area is lovely, albeit very busy with several bars in the lobby area and comfy seating as well as the separate bar attached to the hotel which was lovely of an evening, great cocktails and not too pricey. The reception staff were perhaps the least friendly and helpful of all the staff and could perhaps have been a bit more welcoming. We felt we were trying to be upsold a bigger room, however, it did not detract from a great stay. I also experienced the spa and had a beauty treatment which was great.

I would definitely stay here again, I love the W chain and even though this is one of the originals, it still has that W spark to it that all the hotels in the chain I have had the pleasure of visiting have. Those complaining about it being pricey - we got a great deal and I didn't think it was expensive at all.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Lexington, although noisy, it was nice to look down on the hustle and bust...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello CGrindlay,

Thanks for choosing us to help you celebrate your Thanksgiving holiday. I appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit overall; however, I must apologize for the maintenance challenges you encountered with your showerhead and the unfriendly service you received from the Welcome Office. This is not the experience we want to provide our guests, and I’m sorry that this happened to you. I will be sharing your comments with my management team for immediate follow-up. I appreciate you noting your kind regards for our Style, Door Ambassador, and Concierge teams as well. We’d love to see you back again—you are welcome anytime! Please contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com before your next trip. Thanks again for your review. We look forward to having you back!

All the best,
Anna M.,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to New York City hotels with style and sophistication, W New York continues to rewrite the book. Passionate and provocative, W New York is a vibrant retreat where fashion, food, music, and art excite your soul. Set in midtown Manhattan, the iconic W New York offers travelers a soulful sanctuary on the pulse of New York City. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our New York City hotel is a refreshing mix of high-tech hospitality and glamorous urban living. No matter what inspires you, W New York indulges your passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.