We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W New York to your Saves list
W New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #330 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Small renovated rooms. Washroom small and hardly the quality I was expecting. TV hang off a pole signify ho small the room is. There is hardly enough space between the edge of he bed and th wall to allow t wo person to as each other. The bath is small with terrazzo finishes. The toilet wares are old and need a renovation/replacement.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. My apologies for any disappointment in the size of you assigned guestroom. For future reference, W offers many rooms types and sizes ton cater to the needs of all of our guests, and I sincerely regret if you were not informed of this. Please e-mail me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com if you plan to return, so that we can make your next W experience a better one. Again, thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    867
    584
    343
    283
See reviews for
267
1,007
297
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I arrived from London at 7pm after a full days' travel that included a long drive through the UK and a 7 hour flight. Desperate for my room I lined up with a lobby full of people and luggage only to be told that some sort of 'leak' had meant housekeeping were still making up rooms and there would be a 3 hour wait! This meant I did not get into my room until nearly 10 pm ( or 5am UK time). The room was called a 'spectacular room' although with a view of the interior walls of the hotel, there was little that was spectacular about it. Air conditioning was noisy, the bathroom very small and although the beds were very comfortable, I just did not warm to this hotel. Concerned about more problems, I cut short my 4 day booking and moved a few blocks to the Westin, part of the same hotel group. When checking out, I had a really exceptional staff member apologise for the problems - her great customer service helped salvage things and I would be willing to give the W another chance on a future visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing on Trip Advisor. My sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced as this is certainly not typical of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and I will be following up with my team immediately. Thank you for bringing this to my attention as we are always looking to improve upon our guests’ experiences. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Once again, I was not disappointed by my stay at a W hotel. The location for a theater weekend was perfect. The staff was helpful and accommodating, as usual. The room was comfortable and up to the quality that we have come to expect from a W hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests enjoy our signature WOW service, and we hope to welcome you back soon. I have already shared your message with the rest of my team, and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com when you plan to return. Thank you again, and we can’t wait to welcome you back! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited NYC from Phoenix, AZ, 1st time from 7/25-7/28/13. Stayed at W on Lexington ave. Incredible location next to subway which is key to getting around to any part of city within 20 minutes. The room was excellent, the guests are all super-friendly, and the staff was always there to help us. The gym facility has top of the line equipment associated with a spa and sauna. I was especially impressed with Robert from the W who personally escorted us to our room and insisted we let him know if he could do anything for us. I was amazed with the hospitality the W on Lex provided. Thank you, Robert, and the W for an amazing experience!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your post. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your W experience, and took advantage of our Bliss Spa and Sweat. I will certainly share your kind words with Robert and the rest of the W team as a reminder of what we do best. Again, thank you, and please let me know when you are returning by contacting me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We did not think twice to read the reviews for this "W" property (big mistake) thinking, what could go wrong in “whatever, whenever world”? The room was filthy: walls stained with drippings of an unknown substance, huge rug stains throughout room and entrance wall either nicked or stained too. We decided enough is enough when the loud, city traffic (our room faced Lexington) penetrated into our room all the way up to the fifteenth floor. When we called downstairs to request a room change amid all the imperfections, we were casually told that they were experiencing a “linen emergency”. I still, to this moment, do not understand what the “linen emergency” had to do with the filthy upkeep of the room and the loud street traffic. After offering to bring our linens to the “better” room, she responded that a manager would be contacting us shortly. That of course never happened. Instead, a letter was later slipped under our door the next morning to advise us further of the “linen emergency” also included a “staffing shortage” therefore our room would not be made up that day. We did find it strange to see, amidst such shortages, the multiple linen carts spread out throughout the fifteenth floor well stocked.
We are smart travelers and understand perfection is not always constant for everyone. One day things can be great and the next, terrible. I hope this “W” property gets their act together but I am not too hopeful after reading previous reviews from other guests. We have learned my lesson and will make it a habit reading reviews close to my booking date.
Our concierge, Patrick, was the diamond in the ruff. Thank you for all your kind help and guidance. Because of you, we give them one Star.

Room Tip: The rooms are not sound proof. If you can't sleep with ear plugs, ask for a room that does not f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with our online community. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your time spent with us. Our guest feedback is important to us as often times it may pinpoint an area of needed focus and attention. At W, we do strive to uphold the highest level of service and to hear we have fallen short of that goal is something we take very seriously. Again, we appreciate your feedback. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were pleased when this hotel won our priceline bid. It has a great location and modern decor. the lounge area was inviting . The decor of the room was very modern. I thought the room was actually a good size for NYC. Great use of space. We would return.
Apples and lemon water were complimentary in the lounge. coffee was in the lounge in the morning. It felt very safe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your kind and gracious words from your recent experience at W New York. I have shared your message with the entire WHATEVER WHENEVER team as a great reminder of what we do best! We hope to welcome you back soon! – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel housekeeping work issue which prevented rooms from being available was ongoing but unfortunately management would not tell guests checking in that was the problem. Had to find that out from one of the bellman Had to wait until after 7pm to check in!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMAnnaM, General Manager at W New York, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your recent W New York experience. We cannot even begin to explain how disappointed we were to read your review detailing the dissatisfaction you experienced. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and do not hesitate to contact me at GMAnna.MacDiarmid@whotels.com so that we can rectify your concerns immediately. – Anna M., General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to New York City hotels with style and sophistication, W New York continues to rewrite the book. Passionate and provocative, W New York is a vibrant retreat where fashion, food, music, and art excite your soul. Set in midtown Manhattan, the iconic W New York offers travelers a soulful sanctuary on the pulse of New York City. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our New York City hotel is a refreshing mix of high-tech hospitality and glamorous urban living. No matter what inspires you, W New York indulges your passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.