We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and average NYC-sized room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added W New York to your Saves list
W New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #329 of 464 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good location and average NYC-sized room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I have have stayed on three occasions at this hotel, always booking it through one of those "mystery hotel sites". We are not into gold, platinum, or any other precious metal membership status, so cannot talk about those perks or their lack of. Location-wise it is excellent if you want to be in the Midtown-east area. Subway line E is located on Lexington and 59th St, and this line one can take you straight to the JFK Airtrain in Jamaica. A lively bar area, with a DJ on weekends, always packed in the evenings with a nice crowd. Front desk service is prompt and courteous. The rooms are just as small as what you will get in other "boutique-style" hotels in Midtown NYC. Expect rooms with the same "boutique look" as elsewhere: gray on the walls, black and white pictures, etc. Great bathroom amenities, from the hotel's spa brand. We did not try the restaurant, but the prices looked reasonable. We always have a good time here, and can certainly recommend it.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    925
    613
    351
    288
See reviews for
282
1,054
304
813
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Recently stayed here for business. 1 night too many. Checking in early at around 7.30am was a nightmare. I encountered a man on the front desk who was surly and rude. Notwithstanding my assistant had rung in advance to ensure that my platinum spg number was in the system for a block business booking, he insisted that was not the case and therefore I was not entitled to an upgrade. When pushed, he then said the system said I was gold. Finally he conceded I was platinum. I mean, really, why would you treat your customers like this? I normally wouldn't be too fussed about an upgrade or not - but in this hotel, it makes a difference. It means you get a room where you can actually walk around the bed. The cozy and wonderful rooms are tiny. A joke. I ultimately got a "mega" room which was far from it. The bathroom is a size of a wardrobe; the morning shower was tepid at best; and most of the night I was woken up by the old and outdated aircon system which sounds like a 767 taking off. All my colleagues experienced the same problem. When there are so many other better hotels in the vicinity, I certainly won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, don't even think about staying in a room which is smaller than "mega&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your review! Please accept our sincere apologies for the way you were treated at check-in. Although the Starwood Preferred Guest program details that our Platinum guests are eligible for an upgrade based upon availability, we also do our best at securing an upgrade and acknowledging our loyal guests. I apologize if we fell short of this, and I will be sharing this with the rest of the team here.

All the best,

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am a loyal Gold SPG member, and have been staying at this particular W hotel on and off for the last 10 years. I have to say, after this particular stay, I don’t know if I will be coming back. I am not the type that typically complains about my experience, but in this case I just have to pass this on.

First item is really just a frustration. When I checked in and got to my room, first thing I did was set up my laptop on the desk. I could not find a visible power outlet anywhere near the desk. Nothing. In fact, the room had only one visible power source in the far corner underneath the television. The only solution was to physically move the desk away from the wall, so that I could use the one outlet available to get power to my laptop. In a sleek, modern hotel like a W, this is simply not adequate. Moving furniture to get access to power is something one could expect 10 years ago, but not today.
Immediately following this, I went to the workout facility. One of the most important features of any hotel I stay in is the fitness room, and I like the location and the openness of this one. I started on treadmill number 1, but the TV did not have power. I moved to treadmill number 2, and both the TV had no power and the TV controller was broken and hanging by a wire. I moved to treadmill number 3, which functioned properly for about 7 minutes, then lost all power – both treadmill and TV. I moved to treadmill number 4 beside it, and it was equally without power. Running out of options, I moved to an elliptical machine. Machine operated fine, and the TV came on, but offered one station of local television only, with a very fuzzy picture. Sure, I was able to find 1 piece of equipment that functioned, and maybe hoping for TV is just too much. But again, I find this less than adequate in this environment. For the record, I went back the following day, only to find the two treadmills still without power, and the other two still without TV. So it is apparently not just a one day issue. Both frustrating and disappointing.

We all know that it is the little things that keep you loyal and keep you satisfied. In this case, I had enough little things to lead me to say no more to the W in NYC. I genuinely hope that things improve. As it stands, it is well below standards for this level of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for your post, Donald! I cannot begin to describe how disappointed we were when reading your review, and we have shared this feedback with the rest of the management team. I know that we have been in contact you, and I hope we have solved this in the fairest way possible. Please do not hesitate to contact me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com when you plan on returning.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a very central location and is a very cool modern place. The bar, the living room and the restaurant are great. Reception staff were very helpful. If you were here for a holiday the location and modern rooms may be what you are looking for.

However I was travelling on business. Often stay close to the office, usually in the Westin or Hilton. Firstly it is very noisy. I was on 48 and was woken all night with sirens and street noise. Yes this is time square but none of the above hotels suffer the same issue. Secondly I'd asked to be away from the lifts and was told the only rooms left were opposite them. The air con didn't warm up and I froze on one night. The rooms are fancy but not functional. Hair dryer that would not dry a hamster, hanging wardrobe that was full of ironing board etc leaving no hanging space. Good toiletries. Towels that mean you had better not open the curtains, lighting that was so dim you could be mistaken for thinking you were in a night club. Finally $14.95 per device per 24 hours is simply outrageous! I will not be back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastchester, New York
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked using SPG points for a two night getaway. The front desk upgraded us without us asking. Everyone was nice. Very convenient to midtown and shopping. Nice Italian restaurant next door called San Martino. Room size was fine. When in NY who stays in their room !!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your post, Mike! We are thrilled that our hotel was able to deliver you our Whatever/Whenever service. I will be sharing your feedback with the rest of our team. Please reach out to me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com when you are planning to return.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staying in W Hotel at Lexington street for 4 nights, the hotel lobby is fancy, the room is decent in the expensive city. However, staffs are not that friendly in my opinion. Light and air conditioner control is actually broken in my room (surprised to see dusts on the light too). I wouldn't expect much if it is just a budget hotel, but W Hotel should do much more in terms of the high room rate.
In all, the hotel looks good on the outside, but definitely need to improve inside.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of all the action. I stayed there for a convention which took place at the Javits Center and even that was a nice stroll..The rooms are not super spacious but hey this is New York! Staff are friendly especially in the Livingroom Bar. The performance at breakfast was not consistent and overpriced.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#52 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to New York City hotels with style and sophistication, W New York continues to rewrite the book. Passionate and provocative, W New York is a vibrant retreat where fashion, food, music, and art excite your soul. Set in midtown Manhattan, the iconic W New York offers travelers a soulful sanctuary on the pulse of New York City. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our New York City hotel is a refreshing mix of high-tech hospitality and glamorous urban living. No matter what inspires you, W New York indulges your passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.