We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W New York to your Saves list
W New York
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #329 of 459 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very pleased.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Excellent friendly staff. Super clean. Busy lobby bar and seating area indicates popularity. We did not notice any extraneous noise but we were on the 16th floor. Tiny room but we expected that. Great location too.

Room Tip: 16th floor was great. Fast elevator service. We ordered thru Hotwire so got a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wnewyork541, Guest Services Talent Coach at W New York, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you, Barbara! I will be sharing your feedback with the team, and I hope we can welcome you back soon! Please do not hesitate to contact me at paul.gambardella@whotels.com.

Paul Gambardella
Guest Services Talent Coach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    867
    584
    343
    283
See reviews for
267
1,007
297
769
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As long as you know what to expect when it comes to the room size (very cosy indeed), the W is great. The location was a plus point for us for sightseeing and shopping - there are two subway stations within 2 minutes walk. The staff were very helpful and we even got complimentary internet upon checkin.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Recently stayed at the W on Lexington. I chose this hotel because I had previously had drinks at the Whiskey Lounge and saw that that hotel had a fantastic lobby and bar. The location is fantastic, within walking distance to Times Square, Rockefeller Center and loads of restaurants around the area. The staff were friendly and my room was clean.

My complaint is that the room is tiny for the price paid, possibly the smallest I've ever stayed in and there was absolutely no way to turn off the radiator style heating in the room. I tried to turn on the air conditioning and all that managed to do was blow hot air. Ended up turning the unit completely off and had to open the window to keep the room from sweltering heat. As others have noted, bathroom was also small and there was nowhere to put my shaver, brush, etc. The room doors were heavy and when other patrons returned to their room late into the night, I would be woken up by the loud doors banging shut.

For this kind of money, there are better hotels to stay at in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Chose a room on a high floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A nice mid-town location, good neighborhood. The older-style room was not quite the usual stylish W room. The shower curtain was hung so high that it barely reached the tub and eventually it would extend over the edge if you brushed it and dump the shower water onto the floor. Very little shelf space in the bathroom. No side chair, room too small for that. I had an upgraded corner room with windows on two sides. Nothing special would not do again. Got free internet with my Gold upgrade. Had breakfast twice. Nothing special, sausage was not fully cooked. Go for the cereal. Took the free Acura test ride to the train station. Very good experience. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go high for quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We're staying here at present. Unbelievably, there is norestaurant apart from breakfast, rooms ultra trendy but uncomfortable, whole place starting to look a little tired, like an airport Holiday Inn.
Like other reviewers have major issues with mega loud disco in the lounge area. Girl dj, wearing headphones both nights, presumably so noise doesn't deafen her - unfortunately these are not standard issue for clients - ignoring clientele who are trying to talk through overwhelming techno music.
Room service slow, slow, slow.
Excellent Bliss spa with good staff. That and a couple of good bar staff are partly redeeming features for what is a very below par W hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first stay in a W Hotel. Lobby was very warm and accommodating. We had reserved a room with a queen size bed. We realized that we had a double bed. I immediately returned to the front desk to complain. I was told that the hotel only supplies QUEEN and KING beds. The problem is that their description of a QUEEN is actually a EUROPEAN QUEEN, which is in turn a DOUBLE bed in North American standards. The person at the front desk was very helpful and did not put up an argument and upgraded us to as KING bed. The moral of the story, if you do not mind the DOUBLE vs QUEEN, your OK if not upgrade to the KING.
Either size of bed they are VERY COMFORTABLE. best sleep in a long time.

Room Tip: The rooms are quite small, and we found the KING size was just right. We were on the 5th floor faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend. Great location. Busy lobby. Room was small (like almost impossible to walk around the bed to get to the bathroom, had to climb over the other person). Some furniture a bit worn. Staff was helpful and rate was good for New York.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W New York

Address: 541 Lexington Avenue, Between 49th St and 50th St, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in New York City
#47 Green Hotel in New York City
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W New York 4*
Number of rooms: 693
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to New York City hotels with style and sophistication, W New York continues to rewrite the book. Passionate and provocative, W New York is a vibrant retreat where fashion, food, music, and art excite your soul. Set in midtown Manhattan, the iconic W New York offers travelers a soulful sanctuary on the pulse of New York City. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our New York City hotel is a refreshing mix of high-tech hospitality and glamorous urban living. No matter what inspires you, W New York indulges your passion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York Hotel New York City
w New York City
w Hotel New York City
w Hotel Lexington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.