We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, large room in great location for theatre and MOMA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 455 Hotels in New York City
charlottesville, va
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable, large room in great location for theatre and MOMA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

The Warwick is an elegant, well-appointed old hotel in the middle of everything. Even though it is not that small, it has a smaller, more personal feel than the standard chains. The rooms are surprisingly LARGE, and well furnished with TWO comfortable chairs (we find most hotels only have one plus a desk chair). While the hotel is far from new, is it well maintained, plush, and doesn't feel old or at all gritty. However, there are details that indicate that it is older, such as some peeling paint here and there, so if that bothers you you may want to do the newer route. The fitness room is good sized and well outfitted with the usual machines with attached TV's, etc. The two restaurants are both surprisingly good. We had breakfast at Murals on 54 and it was a generous, high quality buffett in a nice atmosphere at a typical price. We grabbed a late dinner at the bar/lounge called Randolph's, and were delightfully surprised with the quality of the food and the reasonable prices - and it has a nice, old New York atmosphere with live piano music. The staff was helpful getting cabs, etc., and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    826
    208
    78
    48
See reviews for
552
793
94
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We found the Warwick to be in a perfect location, nearly next door to MoMA, a short walk to Central park in one direction and the so many ofmthe city's midtown attraction in the other. With a good rate from TravelZoo we had a terrific room with a good view. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was very helpful both in giving suggestions but in directing us to shops and markets nearby. This is a good place to stay and we hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

The Warwick is in a great location. Close to Central Park, 5th Avenue etc and has everything you could need. I stayed here on two occasions in Dec/Jan, 5 days in Dec and 5 days in Jan, staying on the 16th and 23 floors. Absolutely no noise, which was great and the service was good!. A special mention to the doormen, who were lovely and always helpful. Their knowledge on directions and local eateries etc was fantastic. The decor may be deemed a little dated in terms of 5 star but the overall feel of the hotel is a great one. Definitely a great place to stay. I look forward to going back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

I recently traveled with my husband who was on a business trip to NYC. We are originally from the area and very familiar with the city. On this trip we decided to try a new hotel. Our room was filthy. The light switches and phone were so dirty you did not want to touch them. the floor looked like it had not been vacuumed in weeks. Also, when we asked for fridge to be delivered to the room (for our two year old's milk) they delivered one that was moldy on the interior and then charged us $20 extra on the bill. In addition, we reserved a King room and were given two double beds, too small for our family to sleep in. The receptionist saw that we had a two year old, and yet, placed us ina room next to the elevator shafts so our heads were bouncing all night long with the sounds of the elevators running up and down right at the head of the beds. There is no way this is a four star hotel. No cable on the television and we waited for the valet to come to the curb for ten minutes while he was chatting to another valet just before check in. This was a huge disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Checked in to this hotel and wanted to immediately check out. This is a very old hotel and needs a lot of love. I would not stay here again, nor would I suggest it to a friend. Having said that, I did spend some time in the bar and enjoyed talking to the bartender. The drinks and food were good, the location was great. If you don't really care about the feel of a hotel room then this would be just fine for you.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Walkable distance to Central Park and Times Square
I didn't eat at the restaurant but it was always packed
The rooms resemble the photos but the decoration is off
I stayed over NYE for 375/night, it was a good quality/price deal
Wouldn't pay as much off season

Overall a good hotel I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We actually 'won' the Warwick by purchasing on Priceline- and we are so happy we did! Once the Priceline purchase went through, I called the Warwick to request a king sized bed- which the receptionist said they could not guarantee but would do their best to provide it. Upon check-in there was no hassle and we were given a king room at the end of the hallway-room 715. We were very impressed with the room and feel it was spacious considering what some NY rooms look like! It was very clean and the staff were vey friendly.

The location of the Warwick is probably its #1 feature! We were able to walk to many attractions- with major shopping and dining only 5-10 minutes away. We also decided to catch a Knick's game and Madison Square Garden was only a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Within walking distance are 2 great restaurants- the Havana (between 6th and 7th) and the Redeye (on 7th). We loved the food and the atmosphere! The hotel lobby bar, Randolph's, is great. They had live music and great food/drinks- nice spot to start or end the night.

You will not be disappointed with the Warwick!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#51 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.