We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast & internet
Ranked #74 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sweet Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Got this place on Priceline and was disappointed at first but once we got there, wow....what a beautiful hotel. From the lobby to the old classic rooms and a terrific location. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    833
    213
    82
    49
See reviews for
562
805
95
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

I have stayed at the Warwick for the last 3 trips to New York and have always found it to be an excellent choice. This view may vary depending on which room you get since they are very varied. This time had room 616/7 which was a suite with a large lounge/dining room and good sized bedroom.

Advantages

- Great location within easy walking distance of Central Park, 5th Avenue, Bloomingdales, Times Square etc.

- Good wifi ($12 per day)

- Nice breakfast buffet and cooked items

- Good bar

- Excellent service

Disadvantages

- Some rooms are very small

- Despite a recent refurb the decor has a period feel which may not be to everyone's taste.

All in all a very good choice and different from the run of the mill chains like the Sheratons and Hiltons which are nearby. This is much more friendly and intimate.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

Went to Manhattan for a weekend getaway. We arrived a couple hours early and were allowed to check immediately - no problem. Not only that, but the friendly guy at the front desk upgraded us from a regular room to a beautiful, spacious corner suite, at no extra charge! Furniture, decorations, TV, and bed were all classy, clean and comfortable. The mid-town location was superb for us. The downstairs lounge is a cozy, comfortable place for a night-cap, and we also discovered a great little grocery/deli just around the corner where you can pick up a sandwich or snack and tote back to your room. When it came time to leave for the airport, the bellman found us a private limo driver who whisked us to LaGuardia in a Mercedes for about $25. Can't wait to go back sometime!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

We stayed at the Warwick after much research online. We booked through priceline.com and paid $205 a night for 6 nights from October 18 to the 24. This is a good price for NY where parking goes for $20 an hour. The water pressure was fine and the room was clean and well appointed. We enjoyed our stay at the Warwick and would recommend it to everyone. Our room was perfect - larger than most hotel rooms in New York. Pressed 100% cotton high thread count sheets and a down duvet made the bed heaven. The most beautiful brown marble modern bath was so luxurious. The location is wonderful; the park is just a few blocks away and the subway/buses stops right at the hotel. 5th Avenue is a block away and on and on it goes. In reading other reviews on the Warwick it would be important to mention that some people’s expectations are unrealistic. Some people complain about numerous issues such as:

- The size of the elevator “3 people can fit into it”. Reality is 6 people can fit into it and yes it would be considered smaller by today’s standard but when the hotel was built that was the standard size of elevator.
- “The hotel itself looks quite small compared to the Hilton across the road and the lobby area is quite small”.
The size of the lobby is smaller compared to the Hilton but so is the entire hotel. Unless you plan on spending your vacation in the lobby what is the problem?
- “Our bathroom was very small- I could only just about squeeze in- there was only a shower, no bath”. Unless you are 500 pounds it was just fine for our use.
- “Staff at the front was young and maybe a little indifferent”. I don’t know where this comment comes from as we didn’t find this ever.

In conclusion we really enjoyed out stay in New York and the Warwick will meet your needs. Reading some of the comments you have to wonder are they ever happy with anything. Have great travels. Mike

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Warwick after much research online. In the end, we booked through hotel.com and got a discount through quidco, a cashback site. We paid approx £600 for 3 nights, which I thought was expensive but after researching hotels for 2 days, I decided it wasn't so bad.
Our room was on the 26th floor- there are 3 lifts and we were fortunate not to have to wait very long for a lift each time we wanted to go up to our room. The hotel itself looks quite small compared to the HIlton across the road and the lobby area is quite small.
We checked in at 12 noon even though they say check in is at 3pm- they had our room ready so that was good. The room was also small- but had everything we needed, a king bed, an lcd tv and a bathroom. Our bathroom was very small- I could only just about squeeze in- there was only a shower, no bath. I wasn't bothered but for those of you who want to have a soak, this room would probably not have suited.
Overall, I think this hotel was in a prime location- midtown so near to everything and there are plenty of subways/ buses if you want to take transport. Bear in mind that everything in New York is pricey so all in all, this was a good deal and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

My husband and I spent three nights at the Warwick and enjoyed our stay. Upon our check-in, we immediately got an upgrade at no extra charge. The rooms are pretty compact but comfortable. I expected the bed to be a little more comfortable than it was. We were also a little disappointed that there were only three very small drawers for clothing. I left most in my suitcase and hung the rest. All in all the hotel was very nice, compact and charming, just not that outstanding. The elevator is big enough for about three people, which added to the charm, actually. For the price I think we'll try another hotel next time. Staff at the front was young and maybe a little indifferent. Good location though.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

We were fortunate to get a corner room which by New York standards was large.The mini-bar fridge came in handy to keep our beverages cool. The location was terrific for traversing midtown. Easy walk to Central Park,Times Square,Rockefeller Center and Broadway theaters.
Our room had a couch, and flat screen well positioned for viewing. The small desk came in handy as a makeup area due to the small size of the bathroom and limited shelf space. An enclosed shower was offered in lue of a tub. The water pressure was fine and room was clean and well appointed. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning was adequate.
The staff addressed are needs quickly professionally.
We enjoyed the Warwick and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#56 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#62 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.