We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick New York Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick New York Hotel to your Saves list
Warwick New York Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #80 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the Warwick NY for 6 days. We went for his 40th birthday - the hotel had strawberries and fizz waiting for us in our upgraded room. We felt so spoilt!

Everyone was lovely, and really helped us out with anything we needed, from maps of NY to helping out with my 'ice bucket challenge' - where better to do it than in New York?! (big thanks to William the Doorman for being the person tipping the water over my head!).
The hotel is in a great location for exploring NY, lots of nice restaurants nearby, and handily a few luggage shops as well (we need some extra cases to accommodate all the shopping!)

The only thing to mention is id advise people to be wary of arranging a pick up service. We did this through the concierge before we travelled and we were quoted 127 USD. We were charged 170 USD by the company which we had to pay in cash to the driver (I suspect it would have been more as he had to wait for us for 2 hrs to get through border control at JFK - but he kindly told his control he only waited ten minutes) - so if you do decide to get a pick up service, just make sure you ask about extras /wait time fee's / paying in cash etc, which we didn't do.
Having said that, it was well worth the pick up - the waiting time at JFK for taxi's looked crazy.

The room we had was beautiful - the bedroom was bigger than our one at home! The decor is lovely, no soulless corporate decorations here - its all carefully thought out, and really keeping in style with 'heydey NY'

We had a lovely view of 6th Ave from our room, and some very efficient air conditioning that didn't keep us awake at all.

We ate at the hotel restaurant, both for breakfast (Alex got defeated by the pancakes!) and dinner - food was lovely. We also had room service, which was was beautifully presented, and very prompt.

I couldnt recommend this hotel highly enough - you don't go abroad for the hotel, but in our case staying at the Warwick absolutely helped make our NY adventure one of the best holidays we've ever had - a massive thank you to all.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for sharing your positive feedback. I remember observing you as you were completing the ice bucket challenge and I know that William enjoyed assisting you. Please come and stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to New York.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    918
    236
    84
    54
See reviews for
640
912
109
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

The hotel boasts that Cary Grant took a twelve year residency at the Warwick and its not hard to see why. 1 Block from Radio City Music Hall (for the film premiers in his day) and 2 from Central Park, the hotel is ideally situated (6th and 54th) for exploring Manhattan and is close to Time Square (good for bus tours etc) and very convenient for Broadway.

The hotel has a classy feel of a bygone era about it without being ostentatious or tired. We had a family room which was a good size and pleasant surprise for NYC hotels ( I have stayed in shoe boxes in the New Yorker and Waldorf in past times).

We didn't eat in as there are plenty of Deli's, Diners etc to hand and when you are exploring NYC you just need a comfortable room to sleep in. We spent 6 nights there. My only tip would be to request a room away from the elevator shafts - they are a bit noisy hence my 4 out of 5. Also WIFI was not free.

Everyone was very helpful ( the concierge in particular) but the question of any review should be would i go back? Yes.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for posting your review. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you intend to return in the future. We look forward to seeing you then.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My wife and I spent agate away weekend in NY to celebrate our 10th anniversary.
After carefully searching hotel reviews, we decided to stay at the Warwick.
Arriving there by car we found a parking rightin front of the hotel. Check in took less then two minutes and they already told us congrats for the anniversary. The room was super spacious, it could fit easily 3 king size beds and was super clean (my wife is really picky about it).
The hotel is located 5 min walks from all the attractions: Times Square, broadway, Central Park, all the shopping, etc.so we went down to Times Square right away. We came back from shopping and a champagne on ice with chocolate berries were waiting for us, courtesy of the manager for the anniversary. That was a start for a very romantic weekend.
The room was also super silent no noises from corridor, streets or elevators and we were really close to the elevators. I also had trouble connecting to the free room wifi and a 2 minutes call helped me fix it.
The concierge indicated to us the best cheesecake in NY, carnegies.
We walked 3 blocks to our broadway show and had a great time all around.
I'd definitely go back to it next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much for spending your anniversary get away with us at The Warwick. We were very happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit New York City.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel provides an excellent base for a visit to NYC. Situated between the top end stores on 5th Avenue and Love sculpture on 6th the Avenue, it's is only a couple of blocks walk to Central Park and the Rockefeller Centre. Times Square is also an easy walk away.
The rooms are of a high standard and the establishment has a classy feel and on street presence at a reasonable price.
The food and in particular breakfast is expensive but with plenty of other more reasonable options around including a Prêt just around the block this isn't a problem.
Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay with, your feedback and the fact that you highly recommend us to other travelers. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This is the fourth time I was staying at the Warwick NY for 10 days, I was at 17th floor, with a beautiful view to 6th Av, very good service, our room is large enough with a king bed, closed not steal space, clean bathroom with few amenities but enough, hotel and room needs to be renovated, noisy air conditioning but this does not prevent you feel comfortable there, ask for coffemaker in room, internet service is not included.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent 4th stay at The Warwick and for sharing your feedback. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit soon.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel on the return leg of our trip due to the wonderful staff in the bar. They were so friendly and welcoming. The room we received was spacious and the hotel is so close to Broadway and Central Park. We walked two blocks to see our Broadway show - no cabs. It was great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and for selecting us based on the friendliness of our bar staff. The entire team in the bar was thrilled to hear that they were able to do so. Please come and stay with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Very nice hotel, typical of New York, high end with reasonably large rooms for a family. In terms of location, impossible to make better : 5 minuts walk to be in Broadway, 5th avenue, Central Park... Only negative point : the bathroom is ridiculously small with one small mirror which is really surprising compared to the level of the hotel

Room Tip: Ask for an high floor. the view in general is fantastic in this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Warwick New York Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us recently. We enjoyed reading that you and your family had a good visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warm regards,

Peter Walterspiel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Warwick New York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick New York Hotel

Address: 65 West 54th Street, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
#49 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick New York Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic 426 room Warwick New York Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan. Only steps away from must see attractions including 5th Avenue shopping, the Museum of Modern Art, Broadway, Central Park, Carnegie Hall and Rockefeller Center. The hotel and its staff provide an oasis of quiet luxury for Business and Leisure travellers alike in the heart of the greatest city in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick New York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel New York City
New York City Warwick

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick New York Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.